Few things get my taste buds dancing like Blackberry crisp. Just wanted to share I used the last of my summer blackberry harvest in a delightful crisp tonight. Who needs sex or chocolate when you got blackberry crisp. Yummmm seventh heaven right now [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Blackberry Crisp
Re: Blackberry Crisp
Originally posted by grandma2:
[qb]rebel weh de recipe deh [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] , wah yu nuh tink we waan knoh wah yu a gwan so ova.....kissteet[/qb]
I'm bad [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
The recipe is in my head not on paper, I'm a crumble girl, been making them since I was knee high to a grasshopper. But I'll try and put my head onto paper here.
Pre heat oven to 350.
you start by filling a deep baking dish with lots of berries about an inch from the top (my dish holds about 3 cups). You can use apples and cranberries (good combo) or peaches or any fruit you would use for a pie.
But for blackberries you have to up the sugar and flour, (if using another fruit i would half the flour and sugar you add to the fruit.)
To your berries add about 4 1/2 tablespoons of flour and 1 cup of sugar. Mix it all up. if using apples and cranberries reduce flour to 2 1/2 to 3 tablespoons and sugar to 3/4 cup sugar (cranberries are tart so you still need quite a bit of sugar) just apples 1/2 cup sugar, also with apples (or apples and cranberries) I like to use a teaspoon of cinnamon a teaspoon of lemon juice a pinch of clove and a little smidge of grated lemon or orange peel.
In a separate bowl take about 1/2 a cup of butter (or 2/3 if you want lots of crumbly topping) half a cup of brown sugar 1 cup of flour, and 1 cup of oats. With your fingers work the butter into the flour oats and sugar until you have a nice crumbly textured mixture with no lumps of butter. If it's too powdery add a little more butter, too sticky add more oats. It should look like bread crumbs. Scatter crumble on top of blackberry mixture in dish pat very gently, you want to make the top solid but if you pack it down to hard it will be tough. the crumble topping should be an inch or so thick.
Place dish in oven and bake at 350 for about 1 hr. with black berries you may want to put a cookie sheet under your dish as they have a habit of bubbling over the edges and spilling into you oven. If your berries are frozen and not totally thawed you may have to leave it in the oven for an extra 30 minutes or so. When it done the berry juice should be bubbling up over the sides of the crumble. If you use apples instead you may wish to use a stick to poke your apples in the center and test to make sure they are tender, some apples take longer to bake tender than others so it may not be quite done after one hour.
Take it out of the oven let cool till warm. Serve in bowls with a drizzle of thick cream (you can sweeten the cream if the berries are a bit tart. and Eat yummmmmmm [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]