Good afternoon to everyone. I was wondering if there is a recipe for turned cornmeal, now that polenta is such a popular dish in the Itlian circle. I know that Jamaica uses cornmeal in much the same way, but I need a recipe to follow. Thank you
turned cornmeal
Re: turned cornmeal
Originally posted by 1stGen:
[qb] Hi all,
I was just thinking that some people call it dog food. I still love it all the same! [/qb]
Next time ask fi polenta recipe an mi woant badda yuh. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
Queen - I had to! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Hi jenjen, got this from A Hamper of Recipes from Jamaica:
Tun Cornmeal
Ingredients:
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 stalks scallion, chopped
1/4 cup green sweet pepper, chopped
1/4 cup red sweet pepper, chopped
1/2 cup tomatoe, chopped
2 tbsp. oil
4 cups coconut milk
2 cups cornmeal
1 scotch bonnet pepper, finely chopped
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. thyme, dried or couple fresh thyme sprigs
Method:
Saute onion, scallion, sweet pepper and tomatoe in the oil. Pour coconut milk into thick bottomed sauce pan. Add cornmeal and sauteed ingredients, hot pepper, salt, pepper and thyme.
Cook slowly over low flame for 30 minutes. When cornmeal is cooked, turn it into a greased mould. Pat down the top firmly. (The base and sides of mould could be decorated with slices of sweet pepper if you like) Turn out and serve hot as a side dish.
Serves 10
Enjoy!
Originally posted by TiffyTaffy:
[qb] Jenjen, di tun cawnmeal weh we used to gi di dawg was nevah dis fancy. Dis a sitten else altogeddah. Mi haffi go try ie. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] [/qb]
Di Italians fancy it up and call it "polenta!" Simmy you should find a fancy name for it too...dat deh recipe sounds too good fi call tun cawnmeal.
Queen an Toffy Boffy, dat recipe soun good fi real, mi did ded fi sey soh, LOL. Mi get dat outta wan recipe book called A Hamper of Recipes Fram Jamaica, an mi a tell yuh, mi wudden mine try dat miself. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Wen yu cook ei mek mi knoh so mi can cum sample ei. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]