last week we went to Jamaica and my son had shepherd's pie and love it and now want me to mek it, but me neva see dis before and no have no idea how fi do it. Anybody have a recipe? Grandma help me please!!!
Sheperd's pie recipe
Re: Sheperd's pie recipe
hi ReggaeEbony, yu knoh dis was mi moms special,maybe because har fada way from Ireland cause some times she mek it wid kidneys to
Sheppard Pie
1 lb ground beef (lean)
1 sm onion chopped
1 stalk escallion chopped
1 clove garlic(crushed)
2 sprigs thyme
2 slices scotch bonnet pepper
1 tablespoon ketchup
1 tablespoon soya sauce
1/2 teaspoon b pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 table spoon cooking oil
1/2 cup mix veg. (optional) blanched
5-6 potatoes boil and mashed with butter and milk.
in a dutch pot add cooking oil and seasoning add ground beef,fry until brown about 10 mins,add salt and pepper and mix vegetables. drain well.
in a greased pan pack ground beef,push down hard. spread mashed potatoes on top,spread some butter on top. bake for about 1/2 an hour at 350 degrees.
you can nice it up with mushrooms or mince chicken or turkey, some people like mince pork too.enjoy
Re: Sheperd's pie recipe
Tnx Grandma. I have never had it before last week, my mada neva made it, even though me foreparents are irish we neva had it. I guess by the time we came along all de irish blood was washed out. Tnx again, I am going to mek it fi me son before him head off fi college next week. It might no taste as good because it will have some eye wata mix in, but me sure him will eat it anyway.