This is not so much about cooking, as it is about Jamaican drinks/juices. Besides ginger beer (which I absolutely love), is there any other drinks/juices that anyone can recommend? I do not tolerate Carrot juice very well [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] .
Jamaican Drinks/Juices...
Re: Jamaican Drinks/Juices...
All well and good, but how do you make them, e.g. corn, cucumber? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]Originally posted by Leonie:
[qb] irish moss and pawpaw
front end lifter
sorsop, tamarind, corn, apple, custard apple, cherry juice, cucumber juice - gauva juice - just to name a few that I have had. [/qb]aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
Here's a recipe for Cucumber Lemonade.
Cucumber Lemonade (Agua de Pepino)
1 cucumber, peeled and cubed
1 lemon
5 c water
Sugar to taste
Add cucumber and water to a blender and puree. Strain. Add juice of lemon and sugar to taste. Serve over ice
very good for lowering blood pressureOriginally posted by VJay:
[qb] Here's a recipe for Cucumber Lemonade.
Cucumber Lemonade (Agua de Pepino)
1 cucumber, peeled and cubed
1 lemon
5 c water
Sugar to taste
Add cucumber and water to a blender and puree. Strain. Add juice of lemon and sugar to taste. Serve over ice [/qb]
I'm looking for a rum punch recipe for my wedding reception [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] I'm doin a pig roast and the owner of the hall that we rented said that their bartenders would make the punch for me as long as I provide a recipe. Anyone have a good one? (I know! They're all good!) [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
G2, do you use the entire can of condensed milk? This sounds yummy, kind of like a spiced pina colada.Originally posted by grandma2:
[qb] here is one of my favorite CEW
1 can pinapplejuice
condense milk
nutmeg
cinnamon
rum (optinal)
sweeten pineapple juice with milk add nutmeg,cinnamon and rum. [/qb]
Goodness, you may have to let me sample this one first [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] . Sweetened pineapple juice [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]Originally posted by grandma2:
[qb] here is one of my favorite CEW
1 can pinapplejuice
condense milk
nutmeg
cinnamon
rum (optinal)
sweeten pineapple juice with milk add nutmeg,cinnamon and rum. [/qb]aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
Thanks VJay. This one I'm going to have to try.Originally posted by VJay:
[qb] Here's a recipe for Cucumber Lemonade.
[/qb]aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
here is a rum punch recipe jazzyjade, the only thing for it to taste right they must use real lime juice not the bottle stuff,and real Jam. white rum not the other white stuff.
i have heard horror stories. why dont you make your own an give dem to serve it
Rum Punch
1 sour----lime
2 sweet---1 sugar 1 syrup
3 strong--rum
4 weak----water
so if yu use 1 cup of lime,den yu need 1 cup sugar and 1 cup syrup,den 3 cups rum an 4 cups water,seen. after yu bottle it yu can put some pimento seed in de bottle dem. try not to use lemon,or the bottle lime juice, it just dont taste the same.use de real lime an juice dem.
Rencently mi find one bottle mi did mek 6 years ago fi mi mother 70th birthday, wonda if it stil goodOriginally posted by grandma2:
[qb] here is a rum punch recipe jazzyjade, the only thing for it to taste right they must use real lime juice not the bottle stuff,and real Jam. white rum not the other white stuff.
i have heard horror stories. why dont you make your own an give dem to serve it
Rum Punch
1 sour----lime
2 sweet---1 sugar 1 syrup
3 strong--rum
4 weak----water
so if yu use 1 cup of lime,den yu need 1 cup sugar and 1 cup syrup,den 3 cups rum an 4 cups water,seen. after yu bottle it yu can put some pimento seed in de bottle dem. try not to use lemon,or the bottle lime juice, it just dont taste the same.use de real lime an juice dem. [/qb]
I'm gonna try it [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] . One I just remembered is Pumpkin Juice. My Mom made that one a couple of times and I absolutely love it.Originally posted by grandma2:
[qb]
CEW i have fooled many a people wid dis drink,trust mi yu would love it its a mock Soursop Juice [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [/qb]
BTW, do you have any idea of punches that can be made without alcohol?aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
Steel Bottom (this will blow out yu pants bottom)
4 1/2 oz Overproof rum
1 pt Red Stripe Beer
Mix together. Blend well. Pour over crushed ice. Garnish with orange and pineapple.
Fruit Punch
2 oz Orange Juice
4 oz Pineapple Juice
2 oz Papaya
2 oz Banana
1/2 oz Strawberry syrup
Blend together with crushed ice
Brown Cow my favourite
4 oz Tia Maria
4 oz Milk (I use soy milk)
Mix together. Server over ice.