Does anyone have a receipe for this? I want to cook this for my newlywed hubby plus give the recepie to his boss.
Brown Stew Chicken
Re: Brown Stew Chicken
Lawd a massy ((((Rasheida))))A tink mi a guh faint wey!! :love:
Wat a way yu stay away!! Girl, I miss yuh! I'm going post my own very special brown stew chicken recipe for you. How you been? Got married? Yaaay!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Congratulations! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Simmy's Own Special Brown Stew Chicken
This recipe should feed 2 people w/3-4 pieces of chicken each if it's wings, legs and thighs, 2 pieces each if using breast parts. Double the recipe for 4 people, etc.
This may seem like a lot of work, but organize it and believe me it's well worth the effort.
Ingredients:
Enough chicken for two people, meaning either 2 breasts w/wings, or enough other parts for two.
Salt, pepper to taste
Garlic, preferably fresh 2 large pieces, minced
Scotch bonnet pepper, I use about a half a pepper, chopped, I don't like the hot, just the taste.
Thyme, fresh or dried, if it's fresh, use a small bunch of sprigs 10-15 sticks?), if dried, use a teaspoon and a half full.
Scallions 3 (cut the roots and some tips off, but use the whole thing except that)
Onions 1 medium to large, sliced or chopped
Tomatoes 2, chopped
Coconut milk ½ can (can leave this out but it's a nice flavoring and thickener, if you leave it out, you will have to use a bit of cornstarch to thicken the gravy)
Water ½ cup or so
Browning (Jamaican) ½ to ¾ tsp.
Flour ½ cup
Cooking oil for frying
Method:
First let's prepare the chicken. Skin the chicken, (not necessary for wings) but for legs thighs or breasts. Remove all skin, wash and remove excess fat. If using breasts, cut each one in half so they cook well and are a better serving size. Now, don't dry the chicken off, cause you're gonna season it, shake off the water and put chicken in bowl.
Lay the cleaned chicken spread out in a large bowl for seasoning. Salt and pepper it to taste, flip it over and season other side same way. You may also sprinkle a bit of dried thyme on it as well. Now, mix it all up making sure all the chicken is covered well with seasoning. Let the chicken sit in the seasoning a while as you prepare to move on and do other stuff here.
Use a frying pan large/deep enuff to hold the chicken and some. Put enuff oil in the pan to brown the chicken, heat the oil. (medium/high heat) While the oil is heating for frying, wash and chop about 3 scallions, 1 onion, sb pepper, 2 ripe tomatoes, thyme (if it's fresh) Lay all this one side. Your oil should be hot by now.
Flour the chicken, you know, put about a half cup of flour in a plastic bag and then add all the chicken to it and shake it. Shake off excess flour and fry the chicken so it can brown. (It doesn't have to be done, just browned nicely) Remove chicken from pan to a dish, pour most of the oil out of the pan leaving the chicken drippings and about 2-3 tablespoons of oil in the pan. Add scallions, onions, garlic, scotch bonnet pepper and thyme, and saute' for about 2-3 minutes, then add the tomatoes, cook for another 2 minutes or so. Add the chicken in on top of this, (including any drippings on the plate) stir and slowly add about a half cup of water, along with the half cup of coconut milk, bring to a good bubbling. Add in the browning and stir everything together again , COVER, and turn down your heat and let it mildly bubble till the chicken is well done and the gravy has thickened, I'd say test chicken with a fork, if the chicken comes apart from the bone very easily it's done. (about 45 minutes or more?) While bubbling, stir and turn chicken occasionally, and make sure nothing is sticking to the bottom of the pan, remember to cover and bubble lightly, on med to low heat. Now, while all that's cooking, go make your white rice or whatever your side dish is, I use basmati rice, it's the best.
When done, serve the gravy over the chicken and the rice, yummy yummy. Let me know how it goes. Good luck on your first try.
I had this recipe saved on my hard drive, so it was real easy to post it for you! Enjoy!
Here's Grandma2's recipe as well, in case mine doesn't work for you or you can do a combination of both to your own liking! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Brown Stew Chicken
3 lbs chicken cut up
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon Black pepper
2 sprig thyme
4 stalk escallion
1 small onion
2 tomatoes chopped
2 tablespoon ketchup
2 tablespoon soya sauce
3 cloves garlic
4 pimento seed crushed
1/2 scotch bonnet pepper chopped
cooking oil
Clean and wash chicken (I wash it in some vinegar and water) some people like it with the skin on some don't, your choice. Season with all the ingredients except oil and tomatoes, for at least an hour. Heat cooking oil in a heavy sauce pan, take seasoning off chicken and brown on all sides. reserve about 4 tablespoon of oil in pot, place seasoning and tomatoes in oil, fry for about 4 mins. Place chicken on top of seasoning with about 1/2 cup water, spoon seasoning over chicken, cover. Cook for about 1/2 hour, taste adjust seasoning, maybe add a likle margarine. serve over rice.
ReggaeLuver, you can teif dis wan toh, dwl. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Oooooh Simmy! I really do appreciate your recepie. Matter of fact, he asked about it just last night. I was busy and wasn't able to come back to the board. Thanks to you and Granny! He'll be a happy camper now!
My daughter, new hubby and I are doing well. This is her last year in school, then it's off to college. **tank God!** Been a long haul, but we made it w/the grace of God. As much as I can't wait for her to go, .... I feel a slight sadness because I know she won't be around the house bugging me after June. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Drop me a line if you can. I'd love to hear from you and also show you a few pics. of the wedding. Since I'm here at work, I know how to download, but still don't have the hang of it from home. **smacking mi head**
(I edited out your email addy here and put it in my address book)
Hi Rashieda,
I'm so happy to hear all the good news!!
Let me know how the meal turns out for you, first time is hard but gets easier after that, dwl. Plus you can adjust it to your taste. (I'm sure you can cook so it shouldn't be all that hard!) I edited out your email address in your post, I'll be writing you real soon. You can drop me a line here at Ja.com too if you want, just click on the email icon above. :love:
Dear Grandma2,
You and your brown stew chicken recipe are famous!
I was talking to a friend today, and telling him about this great jamaicans.com site that I had found. And he said, oh, yes, he knew all about it, and had been using your recipe.
Moja
princess, I don't live in Chicago but I'm sure you can get browning and scotch bonnets at any large super market that sells Spanish/Latino foods as well as Caribbean foods and serve an international community. Our big markets here carry them. Scotch bonnets are also known as habenaro peppers here in the states. Browning would be in the condiment section or the section that sells things like A-1 sauce, worchestishire <sp?> sauce, soy sauce. Also, you could look in the yellow pages for West Indian or Spanish food stores.