how yuh mek it?
macaroni pie
Re: macaroni pie
Originally posted by grandma2:
[qb] a who yu a call small island bway yu nuh see how fi mi island big....kissteet an cut yeye [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] [/qb]
see- yuh noh av a recipe fi dem small islan dish [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] (((((bite)))) [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
hexcuse mi---may i get a Grenada smaddy or a Vincey een yah pleez [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]ray:
Re: macaroni pie
I'm small island, but I love Jamaican culture! I'm half Trinidadian and Anguillian! Macaroni pie is a "small island" favorite...I had some this weekend! Sorry I late!
Macaroni Pie "Small Island Style"
Macaroni Pie
Ingredients:
1 pack macaroni, • 1 teaspoon salt, • white pepper to taste.
3 beaten eggs.
1/4 lb.grated cheese.
Evaporated milk, • butter / margarine.
Preparation:
Heat water with the salt in a large pot of water - add macaroni when water boils, cook for 5 minutes.
Remove from heat and strain with running cold water.
Grease an oven-proof baking dish.
Prepare a smooth white sauce by mixing 2 cups evaporated milk, butter and the beaten eggs.
Add 1/4 teaspoon salt, white pepper, and the grated cheese - to taste.
Put macaroni into the prepared baking dish, pour white sauce over it and top with more grated cheese.
Preheat oven to 350º F.
Bake for about 30-45 minutes, or until light brown on top