use your own sauce or your favorite pre-made. I personally used to buy Paul Newmans basic sauce and add my own meats & Veggies.
You can bread and fry chicken breasts... either deep fry in vegetable oil or pan fry in olive oil.
I use seasoned bread crumbs. I dip them in flour, then egg and then bread crumbs before frying.
You can also use Shake and Bake. But be sure to only cook them for a short time as they will be baked again with sauce and cheese and tend to dry out.
Drain them on a paper towel if they're fried. Lay them on a baking pan, cover with sauce... top only then a layer of mozzarella and maybe a sprinkle of fresh parmesan or use a blend like they sell preshredded and bagged.
bake at around 350 just until the cheese is nicely melted.
As far as sauce and cheeses it's all in what you like. most restaurants will top "Parmesan" dishes with Mozzarella?? Go figure!!
Good luck. And when do we eat? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
1/3 cup (1 1/2 ounces) grated fresh Parmesan cheese, divided
1/4 cup dry breadcrumbs
1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 teaspoon salt, divided
1 large egg white, lightly beaten
1 pound chicken breast tenders
1 tablespoon butter
1 1/2 cups bottled fat-free tomato-basil pasta sauce (such as Muir Glen Organic)
Preheat broiler.
Combine 2 tablespoons of Parmesan, breadcrumbs, parsley, basil, and 1/8 teaspoon salt in a shallow dish. Place egg white in a shallow dish. Dip each chicken tender in egg white; dredge in the breadcrumb mixture. Melt butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook 3 minutes on each side or until done. Set aside.
Combine 1/8 teaspoon salt, pasta sauce, vinegar, and pepper in a microwave-safe bowl. Cover with plastic wrap; vent. Microwave sauce mixture at HIGH 2 minutes or until thoroughly heated. Pour the sauce over chicken in pan. Sprinkle evenly with the remaining Parmesan and provolone cheese. Wrap handle of pan with foil, and broil 2 minutes or until the cheese melts.
Try Asiago or provolone cheese in place of the mozzarella.
Tomato sauce:
1 ounce sun-dried tomatoes, packed without oil (about 1/4 cup)
1 cup boiling water
1 teaspoon olive oil
2 cups chopped red bell pepper
1 cup chopped onion
2 (14.5-ounce) cans diced tomatoes, undrained
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
2 garlic cloves, minced
Chicken:
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
4 (4-ounce) skinned, boned chicken breast halves
1 large egg white, lightly beaten
1 tablespoon olive oil
Cooking spray
1 cup (4 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
3 cups hot cooked linguine (about 6 ounces uncooked pasta)
To prepare tomato sauce, combine sun-dried tomatoes and water in a bowl; cover and let stand 30 minutes or until soft. Drain and finely chop tomatoes.
Heat 1 teaspoon olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add sun-dried tomatoes, bell pepper, and onion; sauté 7 minutes. Stir in canned tomatoes; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in parsley, basil, vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, and garlic.
Preheat oven to 350°.
To prepare chicken, lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Combine flour, Parmesan, and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper in a shallow dish. Place each breast half between 2 sheets of heavy-duty plastic wrap; flatten to 1/4-inch thickness using a meat mallet or rolling pin. Dip each breast half in egg white; dredge in flour mixture. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook 5 minutes on each side or until golden. Arrange in a 13 x 9-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Pour the tomato sauce over the chicken. Sprinkle with mozzarella. Bake at 350° for 15 minutes. Serve over linguine.
Combine the first 4 ingredients in a shallow dish. Dredge each piece of chicken in the flour mixture. Dip each piece of chicken in egg whites; dredge in cornflakes.
Arrange chicken in a 13 x 9-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 25 minutes or until crisp.
Place spaghetti sauce in a medium saucepan, and cook over medium heat until thoroughly heated. Pour sauce over chicken, and sprinkle with cheese. Bake an additional 5 minutes or until cheese melts.
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 (11-ounce) can refrigerated breadstick dough
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
1/4 cup (1 ounce) grated fresh Parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Cooking spray
Preheat oven to 350°.
Heat oil in a small saucepan over medium heat. Add garlic; saute 30 seconds. Remove from heat.
Unroll dough, separating into strips. Brush with the garlic mixture. Sprinkle with basil, cheese, and pepper, gently pressing into dough. Twist breadsticks, and place on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Gently press ends of breadsticks onto baking sheet.
Bake at 350° for 15 minutes or until lightly browned.
I use Butter and fresh crushed garlic. Let the butter get to room temp and mix crushed garlic cloves depending on how garlicky you like it.
Spread over (split lengthwise) french or italian loaf or individual slices
bake in the oven at about 350 just until the edges get brown. Or under the broiler for a very short time.
You can also use margerine and/or garlic powder. Whichever works for you.
Also can be sprinkled with a little parmesan or topped with mozzarella and then baked til cheese is bubbly!! I would bake them til brown first as the cheese melts fast.
Originally posted by SassyRas:
[qb] QK, i just buy the one stop n shop sells in the bakery section. yummy
You know you only live about 20 mins or less from me. What's for dinner this evening [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [/qb]
Sassy, yuh deh a Brockton?? Nice Chinese/Szechuan place on Belmont Street... Chang Feng. Mi favrit!!
Beef Stew fi dinnah today! Mi nuh even get dresed. Juss hang roun inna mi robe an slippahz!!
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Originally posted by SassyRas:
[qb] QK, i just buy the one stop n shop sells in the bakery section. yummy
You know you only live about 20 mins or less from me. What's for dinner this evening [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [/qb]
Sassy, yuh deh a Brockton?? Nice Chinese/Szechuan place on Belmont Street... Chang Feng. Mi favrit!!
Beef Stew fi dinnah today! Mi nuh even get dresed. Juss hang roun inna mi robe an slippahz!!
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [/qb]
How did you pick out "city of champions"? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
I know the place your talking bout but I only do Thai food and that's in boston on newbury st.
Girl, i've been up gone to church and now looking food...think i'm gonna head to braintree mall to shop for bathsuites.
Originally posted by Q.K:
[qb] Hah! Yuh figet yuh sen mi wan PM??? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [/qb]
ahh, rum cream. well i'm going next month [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.