Fannie's Auntie Bess' Atkins Jamaican Holiday BBQ Sauce: one tongue-tinglin kickin barbecue sauce, in the ancient honored tradition of deep-southern barbecue!!!
I just finished making it for dinner (for the first time)!
I took the original recipe straight from an old version of Fannie Flagg's Original Whistle Stop Cafe Cookbook. I just had a hankering for REAL deep-southern barbecue... but it has so much sugar, and I didn't want to blow Atkins today.
I decided to try making Fannie Flagg's Aunt Bess's Barbecue Sauce -- only with Splenda instead of sugar, and Atkins Ketch-a-Tomato rather than standard tomato ketchup (more sugar!) and, since I'm fond of Jamaican Rum barbecue sauce, I decided to add some Appleton's V/X into it, also.
It came out REAL KICK-BUTT!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
It tastes just like southern bbq sauce, tingling on the tongue almost - but not quite - "too much"... It thickened up just like the standardly-cooked "real deal"... Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
I decided to dub it Fannie Flagg's Original Whistle Stop Cafe Cookbook:
(I doubled the recipe, coz I'm having company later and I changed the proportions a little, just because the addition of all the rum would have too dramatically the consistancy)
1 cup water
1/2 cup cider vinegar
1/2 stick (1/4 cup) butter
16 packets Splenda
2 TBSPs Worcestershire sauce
1 TBSP Goulden's spicy brown mustard
1 1/2 tsps salt
1/2 tsp freshly-ground black pepper
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
1 very thick (approx. half-inch thick) slice lemon (with it's scrubbed rind on)
1 equally-thick slice peeled onion
1 cup (8 ounces) Atkins Ketch-a-Tomato sauce (the Atkins brand tomato catsup substitute)
1/3 cup Appleton's V/X rum
I put all ingredients EXCEPT FOR the ketchup and the rum into a small saucepan that has a tight-fitting lid, and put it over a medium-high flame to booil. Be sure to stir often!
Once at boil, I turned the flame down a tad, and I covered the saucepan about two-thirds of the way, and boiled it down, stirring often, for 20 minutes.
I then added the rum, and boiled, uncovered, over a very high flame for another 10 minutes, also stiriring often, to boil down some more.
Once boiled down again, I removed the saucepan from the fire, and quickly added the catsup into it, stirring it very thouroughly. As soon as the consistancy smoothed out and thickened up, I put it back down to cool, uncovered.
Once warm but not boiling-hot, I bottled it back into the Ketch-a-Tomato bottle and a small gravy pitcher (both), and set the both onto the top shelf of the 'fridge to cool. It should be stored in the 'fridge, too, but ought to last weeks.
Soooooo... WHO wants to try it?! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Come, step up!
BBQ chicken...
Steaks...
Vegetarian grilled sliced BBQ veggies...
BBQ fish...
Tek yuh pick. Try'eet.
Now serving a plateful to any and all J'commers who step forward in here. And who make another suggestion (for the suace's use) besides the standard foods I just mentioned above. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
I just finished making it for dinner (for the first time)!
I took the original recipe straight from an old version of Fannie Flagg's Original Whistle Stop Cafe Cookbook. I just had a hankering for REAL deep-southern barbecue... but it has so much sugar, and I didn't want to blow Atkins today.
I decided to try making Fannie Flagg's Aunt Bess's Barbecue Sauce -- only with Splenda instead of sugar, and Atkins Ketch-a-Tomato rather than standard tomato ketchup (more sugar!) and, since I'm fond of Jamaican Rum barbecue sauce, I decided to add some Appleton's V/X into it, also.
It came out REAL KICK-BUTT!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
It tastes just like southern bbq sauce, tingling on the tongue almost - but not quite - "too much"... It thickened up just like the standardly-cooked "real deal"... Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
I decided to dub it Fannie Flagg's Original Whistle Stop Cafe Cookbook:
(I doubled the recipe, coz I'm having company later and I changed the proportions a little, just because the addition of all the rum would have too dramatically the consistancy)
1 cup water
1/2 cup cider vinegar
1/2 stick (1/4 cup) butter
16 packets Splenda
2 TBSPs Worcestershire sauce
1 TBSP Goulden's spicy brown mustard
1 1/2 tsps salt
1/2 tsp freshly-ground black pepper
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
1 very thick (approx. half-inch thick) slice lemon (with it's scrubbed rind on)
1 equally-thick slice peeled onion
1 cup (8 ounces) Atkins Ketch-a-Tomato sauce (the Atkins brand tomato catsup substitute)
1/3 cup Appleton's V/X rum
I put all ingredients EXCEPT FOR the ketchup and the rum into a small saucepan that has a tight-fitting lid, and put it over a medium-high flame to booil. Be sure to stir often!
Once at boil, I turned the flame down a tad, and I covered the saucepan about two-thirds of the way, and boiled it down, stirring often, for 20 minutes.
I then added the rum, and boiled, uncovered, over a very high flame for another 10 minutes, also stiriring often, to boil down some more.
Once boiled down again, I removed the saucepan from the fire, and quickly added the catsup into it, stirring it very thouroughly. As soon as the consistancy smoothed out and thickened up, I put it back down to cool, uncovered.
Once warm but not boiling-hot, I bottled it back into the Ketch-a-Tomato bottle and a small gravy pitcher (both), and set the both onto the top shelf of the 'fridge to cool. It should be stored in the 'fridge, too, but ought to last weeks.
Soooooo... WHO wants to try it?! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Come, step up!
BBQ chicken...
Steaks...
Vegetarian grilled sliced BBQ veggies...
BBQ fish...
Tek yuh pick. Try'eet.
Now serving a plateful to any and all J'commers who step forward in here. And who make another suggestion (for the suace's use) besides the standard foods I just mentioned above. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]