Is there a receipe for this yummy side dish? I would like to make it here for my family. My kids love it too. Thanks for any help
JA rice and peas
Re: JA rice and peas
Rice and Peas
Ingredients:
1 1/2 cup red kidney beans or gungo peas
1/2 can coconut milk
3 sprigs fresh thyme
2 cups white rice (parboiled is best)
1 escallion (green onion)
salt and black peper to taste
First cook the kidney beans or gungo peas in aprox 4 to 5 cups of water. Add 1/4 to 1/2 can of coconut milk, 1 sprig of thyme and salt and peper to taste. Let cook until beans are slightly firm but soft. In other words not mushy. With a larg flat object (large knife) smash the bottom of the escallion, then add to pot. Add rice with remaining coconut milk and thyme. Water level should be aprox 1 inch above rice. Remove any access water. Keep aside for possible use later. Bring to a boil for 5 min. Continue to cook covered until rice is tender.
Serves: 6-12
Iceman, to cut down on cooking time you may want to use can beans or peas, but don't tell anyone that I recommended that.[img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
quick rice an peas for the foreign based:
1 can kidney beans
1 can cocnut milk
2-3 cups rice (guessing)
2 stalks green onion
2 sprigs thyme
2 cloves garlic
1 whole scotch bonnet pepper(do not cut)
salt to taste (1/2 tsp should be good)
place all ingredients in pot adding water to bring level to about 3/4 inches over rice and peas...turn on low heat and in about 30 minutes rice an peas [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Oh yeah: remeber to take out the pepper half way throuhg unless you like it really peppery.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by chickie:
[qb] unno leff out di pimento [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [/qb]
i dont usually put pimento...maybe that why mine nuh so good [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD:
[qb] quick rice an peas for the foreign based:
1 can kidney beans
1 can cocnut milk
2-3 cups rice (guessing)
2 stalks green onion
2 sprigs thyme
2 cloves garlic
place all ingredients in pot adding water to bring level to about 3/4 inches over rice and peas...turn on low heat and in about 30 minutes rice an peas [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Oh yeah: remeber to take out the pepper half way throuhg unless you like it really peppery. [/qb][img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Originally posted by mangoskin:
[qb]Originally posted by RichD:
[qb] quick rice an peas for the foreign based:
1 can kidney beans
1 can cocnut milk
2-3 cups rice (guessing)
2 stalks green onion
2 sprigs thyme
2 cloves garlic
Oh yeah: remeber to take out the pepper half way throuhg unless you like it really peppery. [/qb][img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [/qb]