With the exception of Lasagna, I'm trying to find interesting and tasty pasta dishes to make. I like using the penne and farfalle pastas.....any suggestions?
Pasta Dishes / Ideas
Re: Pasta Dishes / Ideas
i love penne...penne arrabiata with chicken:
yuh haffi look fi di recipe doah [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] mi jus know how fi order itWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
PASTA WITH GARLIC AND BASIL
l 1/4 cup (60 ml) extra-virgin olive oil
10 - 15 cloves garlic, peeled and lightly crushed
1/2 cup (125 ml) chopped prosciutto or other salt-cured ham
6 - 8 plum tomatoes, cored and chopped
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
1 - 1 1/2 lbs. (450 - 675 g) cut pasta such as penne, ziti, or rigatoni, cooked according to the package directions
1 cup (250 ml) coarsely chopped fresh basil leaves
Freshly grated Parmesan cheese for garnish
Heat the oil in a pot large enough to hold the cooked pasta over moderate heat. Sauté the garlic and ham until the garlic is a deep golden brown. Add the tomatoes, salt, and pepper and simmer covered for 15 minutes. Drain the pasta when it is tender but firm (al dente) and add to the sauce. Add the basil and toss the pasta in the sauce, adding a little of the pasta water if the sauce is too dry. Serve sprinkled with Parmesan cheese. Serves 4 to 6.
Pesto Peppers with Penne
2 cups penne pasta
16-oz. pkg. frozen mixed bell pepper stir fry with onions
10-oz. pkg. prepared pesto
Cook pasta in boiling salted water to desired doneness as directed on package. Drain. Meanwhile, cook bell pepper stir fry in heavy nonstick skillet with 1 Tbsp. water until heated through and crisp tender. Stir in cooked, drained pasta and pesto and cook over low heat, stirring carefully, until thoroughly heated. Serves 6
PASTA NEOPOLITAN
2 tablespoons olive oil, plus 1 tablespoon
6 to 8 cloves garlic, crushed, divided
2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh oregano, divided
2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh basil, divided
25 to 30 Roma tomatoes, diced
2 pounds chicken breast, diced into 1/2 -inch pieces, seasoned with salt and pepper
3 cups chicken broth
2 (10-ounce) cans sliced black pitted olives, with juice
2 pounds gemelli pasta
Pour 2 tablespoons olive oil in a skillet on medium heat and sauté half of the crushed garlic in the oil along with 1 teaspoon basil and 1 teaspoon oregano. Add the tomatoes, a cup at a time, to the skillet. Once all the tomatoes are in the pan, allow them to reduce by a fourth.
In a separate pan, cook the chicken with remaining oil, crushed garlic, basil, and oregano. Cook until chicken is brown. Set the pan aside but do not discard any liquid that may be in the pan.
Once the tomato broth mixture has reduced, add the chicken, chicken broth and juice from the olives to the pan and allow it to continue to cook. In total, the tomato mixture will cook for approximately 1 hour. In a large stockpot, bring water to a boil in order to cook the pasta. Add salt and the pasta and cook until al dente or approximately 10 to 15 minutes. Drain the pasta in a colander and place in a large bowl. Add the finished tomato and chicken sauce to the pasta mix and serve. Note: Keep an eye on the reduction process, if it is reducing to quickly add a little water. Serve with fresh grated Romano and sliced black olives. Yield: 8 servings
Richie Rich - next time yuh goh ah di shop fi dat pasta, beg dem gi yuh a copy ah di recipe fi Queen [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Pepper - tek macaroni, fling in some sliced cho, cho, yellow yam, dasheen and banana, mix in some jerk sauce an yuh have a scrumptious yaadie style pasta. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
VJay - thanks so much, that Neopolitan dish sounds delish and easy to make; I've tried the garlic and basil one; a regular of mine but need to expand my recipes a bit...if you have more to add, please do, I'll print them out. Ephratahe [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] mi waiting.
Originally posted by Queen:
[qb]Originally posted by ephra:
[qb] I like penne and farfalle pasta salads. I have a few recipes at home [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] , I'll post some tomorrow. [/qb]
Mozzarella Tuna Pasta Penne Bake
6oz(175g) Italian pasta penne
14oz(400g) can whole plum tomatoes, drained
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 cloves of garlic (I use 4-6 b'cos I love garlic)
5oz(150g) Italian mozzarella cheese, diced
4oz(125g) freshly grated parmesan cheese
5oz(150g) tuna
2 tablespoons freshly chopped basil (or 1-2 teaspoons of dried mixed herbs)
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
Cooking time: 20 mins
Serves 3-4 persons
1. Cook pasta in boiling water for 10 mins, until tender.
2. Meanwhile heat tomatoes and oil in pan, breaking down tomatoes gently with wooden spoon.
3. Add mozzarella, half parmesan, basil, tuna and seasoning to taste. Bring to the boil and remove from the heat.
4. Drain pasta and place in 1 1/2 pint (900ml) ovenproof dish.
5. Pour the sauce over the pasta and mix well. Sprinkle with remaining parmesan and place in a pre-heated oven 200 degrees C (400 degrees F) (Gas mark 6) for 10 mins until the cheese is golden.
Serve immediately.
I eat it with crusty bread sliced into pieces.
You can also use tinned chopped tomatoes instead of plum tomatoes.
Tia [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Pepper, I found this recipe for you; it looks good, I guess you can substitute the spinach for callaloo? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Flash Primavera
1 pound Mostaccioli, Ziti or other medium pasta shape, uncooked
1 head broccoli or cauliflower, cut into small florets
1 tbsp. cornstarch
1/4 cup water
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 15 1/2-oz. can low-sodium chicken broth
1 10-oz. package frozen mixed vegetables
1 10-oz. package frozen chopped spinach, thawed
Salt and pepper to taste
1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
Prepare pasta according to package directions. Three minutes before the pasta is done, stir in the broccoli or cauliflower. Drain pasta and vegetables and transfer to a large bowl.
Looks good no?
Source
Queen
Hope you didn't print recipe off before I added the garlic.
How could I forget the garlic when I LOVE it so much
I know it is regarded as antisocial BUT it keeps the vampires away
Good for circulation too
Tia [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]