what meats and vegetables besides hotdogs burgers cabasi chicken corn potatoes steak pork fish? What else is there to cook on the grill?
What can you cook on the grill?
Re: What can you cook on the grill?
well mi no like clams or oysters myself, i've just seen it done by others; they jus toss em on the grill as they are and add butter, salt, lemon, whatever - when they ready to eat em
so mi nah really know how to get them ready fi grill; i guess just as you would if you were gawn bwile them, just rinse them good i suppose!
as for steamin in the leaves, I learned that in Hawaii. they use the big, thick, spongy taro (dasheen) leaves but banana leaf will work too. Rub the fish/meat with spices/salt, and put in a de miggle, with a piece of coconut meat, or shredded will work - but not powder or liquid cause that jus bwile away and you lose the flavor. they put in a lil piece of pork rind, (or any kine fat will work for flavor if you no eat pork), and any kind spices you like that taste good.... curry is really good. (i jus looked up the real recipe and it says to add some plantain and/or yam too - YUM!)
Roll/fold the leaf around the food to make a lil packet, leaving some space around the meat or fish to give the steam some room, and tie it loosely with string. it's traditionally done in real bwiled water steam, but on the grill is delicious too - but the leaves have to stay wet to make it steam; so you haffi keep them wet by brushing or spraying them so they keep making steam and no dry out and get 'grilled'. Let it sit in the grill for a good long while to keep steaming and making the leaves soft....
then you open up the packet and is like a little treasure box of delicious cook food insde. (you don't eat the leaves). Is labor intensive fi true, but more delcious than using regular foil.
I'ts called "lau lau" and it is SOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOD!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Re: What can you cook on the grill?
DOH! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
777 i jus saw your post above, OK OK! you right - i am BUSTED, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70361-embarassed.gif[/img] I was just wandering aimlessly up an down boardlane lookin fi some banana leaves to cook your supper..... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]