1/2 cup shortening
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
3 ripe bananas (mashed)
1 teaspoon vanilla
Shop Now for Jamaican recipe ingredients & seasoning in our online store.
METHOD:
Cream shortening, sugar,& salt.
Add beaten eggs, flour, baking soda, banana,& vanilla.
Grease pan, pour in batter, bake at 350 degrees F for 40-60 minutes or until done
Serves : 8
yu knoh Jedi i found another way dat mi find the g/kids really love
Banana Bread
2 cup flour
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
2 eggs or 3
4 ripe bananas
1/4 cup melted butter
1/2 cup sugar (you can use more say 1/4 cup i dont like it sweet)
1 teaspoon vanilla
sift the first 6 ingredients together in a large bowl....in your mixer blend the next 5 together....pour on flour mixture. stir till blended...pour in greased baking pan bake at 350 for about 45-60 mins.
can grease your pan well, blend 1/4 cup cinnamon an 1/4 cup sugar an coat pan then pour banana mixture over it an bake.....kids love it.
Originally posted by grandma2:
[qb] caw yu fling out de nut (like yu) an call it banana bread / [/qb]
I included the chopped walnuts in mine (((G2))) it was great with coffee. One dry yeye hater said it tasted dry but it was moist to me it may have been too fluffy. It wasn't really heavy as some of the banana breads I have tasted.
Few things I may have done wrong:
1. Mixed it too long in the mixer
2. Used Bisquick so I wouldn't have to bother with the first three ingredients.
3. Baked it in a bundt pan because the mixture was too much for the small loaf pan.
What do you think it was and how long should you mix your cakes/breads? I tend to OD on the mixing.
Originally posted by grandma2:
[qb] the bisquick Jedi it spoils every ting,fi real....
with this i found yu cant over mix,next thing yu see de word Bread.....well tell dem not to mix it up wid CAKE
now to tun it into cake,caw mi do dat to.....add more banana an even some chocolate chips with the nuts
yes i should have told yu it bakes 2 loaves....the bunt pan is fine
hey Jedi since yu on a health ting now, mek mi ask yu why yu putting adda chemicals inna yu bady dat yu nuh need, saka laziness, like wah yu ask
all de additives dem use fi kip de bisquick pon shelf life [/qb]
Well fi tell di chroot mi was reaching in the cubbard fi di flour and tings when mi buck up pon di big box a bizquick. It seh "suckteet, weh yuh a gi yuh self so much chubble fah, use mi! no sifting no mixing jus use m! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
Anywayz fi tell di chroot mi no plan fi eat it anyway a really fi di girls and any other victims [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.