I just use a regular ‘meat’ recipe but substitute grilled tofu for the meat - my trick is to grill it up nice an spicy beforehand, w/some onion, garlic, worcestershire, salt, peppa, whatever you like - almost the same seasonings used for meat; makes it taste so much better than the plain bland tofu alone
Then I layer it in deh like regular, with the noodles and sauce; I also add in a layer of portabello mushrooms (also pre-seasoned or grilled if you like), and a next layer of ricotta cheese mixed with grated parmigiana, or pecorino (much more flavorful than parmigiana) - I stay well away from the broccoli and carrot thing, I hate that in a lasagne,
this make a really hearty and filling lasagne…….. even my most die hard “don’t eat from anyone’ friends come over for this, AND take a plate home!
I am a bit late in the up-take here .... but this is one I have used in the past ..... LOVE IT! I have used 'spicy black beans' when I prepare it ...
Recipe Instructions
Black Bean Lasagna
A quick-to-prepare, easy main dish.
Ingredients
2 (10 ounce) can restaurante style diced tomatoes and green chilies
1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 (15 ounce) carton lite ricotta cheese
1 egg, slightly beaten
1/2 cup chopped onion, (1 small)
1 teaspoon Italian seasoning, crumbled
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 teaspoon salt
1 (17 ounce) package frozen ready to use lasagna, divided
2 (15 ounce) can black beans, drained, rinsed, drained
1 (8 ounce) package 6 cheese Italian recipe blend, shredded (2 cups)
Directions
In medium bowl, combine canned tomatoes, tomato paste, cumin and chili powder. In medium bowl, combine next 6 ingredients. In 9x13" baking dish, spread about 1 cup tomato sauce. Place lasagna noodles over sauce covering entire surface. Spread with 1/2 ricotta cheese mixture, 1/2 black beans and 1/3 shredded cheese. Spread with 1 cup tomato sauce. Top with a second layer of lasagna noodles. Spread with remaining ricotta cheese and beans and 1/3 shredded cheese. Spread with remaining tomato mixture and sprinkle with last 1/3 shredded cheese. Bake, covered, in a preheated 375 degree oven for 30 minutes. Uncover, continue to bake until hot and bubbly (about 25 minutes longer). Let stand 10 minutes before cutting into squares.
Amount 8 servings
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.