i have to confess that even doah mi bawn and grow a Jamaica (left Jamica when i was 26) i cant talk patwa ( i have a Jamaican accent but don't speak patwa)
ok since we confessing....
Re: ok since we confessing....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i have to confess that even doah mi bawn and grow a Jamaica (left Jamica when i was 26) i cant talk patwa ( i have a Jamaican accent but don't speak patwa) </div></div>
that's ok....don't feel a way. Neither could nite nurse.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">you're from that age group/social class where it was verboten to speak patwa? </div></div>
I was thinking the other day about the first correction my father gave to me.
'Na say um, say it'
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i have to confess that even doah mi bawn and grow a Jamaica (left Jamica when i was 26) i cant talk patwa ( i have a Jamaican accent but don't speak patwa) </div></div>
at least I had to come to america to learn patois
(mi learn it in mi sista patty shop )
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i have to confess that even doah mi bawn and grow a Jamaica (left Jamica when i was 26) i cant talk patwa ( i have a Jamaican accent but don't speak patwa) </div></div> That must be kind a common. finny thing was that they never forbade me from speaking it,but nobody at home,and veryfew in my ummudiate circle spoke it fluently. But the problem I jave is that Americans have not been able to recognize my accent. some refuse to believe that I am jamaican. that some tomes unclude Jamaicans though.
until I prove that I know more wbout jamaica than them.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ceabee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i confess (once again) to my dislike of all things curried and jerked, or anyting wid peppa for that matter.
</div></div>you should qualify that wid "even doah yuh bawn and grow a Jamaica"When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
I bet you do.. there is no single patwa.. there is degrees of patwa....depending ong social class...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I not confessing, just stating a fact...I don't have any kind of accentI speak TV/radio
and when I went to Andrews they shamed the patwa right outta midamn those stuck up Kingstonian
LIES! this kingstonian is a patwa specialist
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ceabee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i confess (once again) to my dislike of all things curried and jerked, or anyting wid peppa for that matter.
strickly brown stew? </div></div>
is just so much brown stew me can eat too
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i have to confess that even doah mi bawn and grow a Jamaica (left Jamica when i was 26) i cant talk patwa ( i have a Jamaican accent but don't speak patwa) </div></div> That must be kind a common. finny thing was that they never forbade me from speaking it,but nobody at home,and veryfew in my ummudiate circle spoke it fluently. But the problem I jave is that Americans have not been able to recognize my accent. some refuse to believe that I am jamaican. that some tomes unclude Jamaicans though.
until I prove that I know more wbout jamaica than them. </div></div>
Added to which yu granfada had a servant philosphy!