That is not true. People with less than what she has now was in charge of a lot of things in gov back in the forties, fifties, and sixties in jamaica and Jamaican politics. This is the reason why she reached out in the first place, she saw that the opportunity existed and still exist. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
It wasn't easy back then for black people to get a good formal higher education. Who couln't afford to send them chickens abroad to study get left, and some of their children became members of project JAMAL. Back then if you nuh marry money,and/or come from money you can think of having a harder struggle to achieve a good education.
The PM at this point and compared to a lot of Black people who was in charge back then is overqualified. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
What load of nonsense.Black people was not incharge of nothing in those Years.Yell me one area that blacks like Portia wa sever incharge of?
It was 62 years ago that the ordinary black could even vote in elections. It was 40 years ago that the law that prohobited blacks from being appointed to the civil service was changed.
As much as it seem to you today. Blacks in Jamaica has come a long way since 1962.
there were no space for black students is the majority of high schools. the only tertiery education available to black young men was at MICO teachers college and Jamaica school of agriculture.. While there were about 6 teachers college,plus 2 schools of nursing for black women.
UWI was not accessable to majority Jamaican blacks,neither was CAST .
There were no places to be incharge with the less that people had.
this story of the 'so-called good old days' is a myth as far as upwardly mobile black Jmaicans weas involved.
Though there is still a concrete ceiling.
Some people would say Bustamante coulda barely spell him name, and coming to school in America did not make it any better.
People of Bustamante shade have always had exclusive rights to all oppertunities at the expenses of thjose like Portia Simpson.
The question was not about the likes of Bustamante,but those of people in Portias spectrum on the rainbow.
That is not true. People with less than what she has now was in charge of a lot of things in gov back in the forties, fifties, and sixties in jamaica and Jamaican politics. This is the reason why she reached out in the first place, she saw that the opportunity existed and still exist. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
It wasn't easy back then for black people to get a good formal higher education. Who couln't afford to send them chickens abroad to study get left, and some of their children became members of project JAMAL. Back then if you nuh marry money,and/or come from money you can think of having a harder struggle to achieve a good education.
The PM at this point and compared to a lot of Black people who was in charge back then is overqualified. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
What load of nonsense.Black people was not incharge of nothing in those Years.Yell me one area that blacks like Portia wa sever incharge of?
It was 62 years ago that the ordinary black could even vote in elections. It was 40 years ago that the law that prohobited blacks from being appointed to the civil service was changed.
As much as it seem to you today. Blacks in Jamaica has come a long way since 1962.
there were no space for black students is the majority of high schools. the only tertiery education available to black young men was at MICO teachers college and Jamaica school of agriculture.. While there were about 6 teachers college,plus 2 schools of nursing for black women.
UWI was not accessable to majority Jamaican blacks,neither was CAST .
There were no places to be incharge with the less that people had.
this story of the 'so-called good old days' is a myth as far as upwardly mobile black Jmaicans weas involved.
Though there is still a concrete ceiling.
Are you kidding me? Who was the first premier of Jamaica, what year and was he Black or white?
When was the PNP formed and the JLP?
Jamaica has been progressive way before the sixties and during the fifties, and some latter parts of the forties. I agree that maybe before that the Black man had a hard time in Jaca but during the fifities jamaican politics and some of its institution/corporations had Jamaican Black people leading it, and even on one occasion a Black female (50's). [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
Some people would say Bustamante coulda barely spell him name, and coming to school in America did not make it any better.
People of Bustamante shade have always had exclusive rights to all oppertunities at the expenses of thjose like Portia Simpson.
The question was not about the likes of Bustamante,but those of people in Portias spectrum on the rainbow.
Black is Black. Pure and simple. I hope that silences the shade difference thing. Stop placing Black people into sub categories. A black man is a Black man and you should be smart enough to know that Black comes in all shades.
However, Bustamantes shade, he was Black (had a ancestor with more of a portia shade).
If Portia has grandchildren that are lighter skin are they not hers? Shouldn't they be given equal opportunities as the darker shade black man?
Jamaica is a Black nation with a motto, which reads 'Out of Many One people'. Black with many shades. Not one white person, except Seaga, had the post that Portia now holds.
Black is Black. Pure and simple. I hope that silences the shade difference thing. Stop placing Black people into sub categories. A black man is a Black man and you should be smart enough to know that Black comes in all shades.
However, Bustamantes shade, he was Black (had a ancestor with more of a portia shade).
If Portia has grandchildren that are lighter skin are they not hers? Shouldn't they be given equal opportunities as the darker shade black man?
Jamaica is a Black nation with a motto, which reads 'Out of Many One people'. Black with many shades. Not one white person, except Seaga, had the post that Portia now holds.
JA PMs have always been Black, except for Seaga.
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
WWhat do you know about Jamaican culture to come here and post your nonsense and then have the gall to lecture me on jamaican reality?
You are displaying a classic symptom of classic culture shock.
That is the attempt of using the mores of your culture to evaluate another culture without recognizing that cultural norms are different.
Just in case you are not aware race is a creation of society. You shoild also know that each society creates it's own concept of racial differences. If you are talking about the Jamaican society it would help if you at least learn about it, before you decide to lecture Me as to what is black and white in Jamaica.
Dudd, I think conscience know whey him a talk bout. When was there ever a white Prime Minister of Jamaica? Once, Seaga. In the 50s a Black woman was the first female mayor of Kingston, and speaker of the House. There are many others who ran things in Jamaica, and they were basically Black people. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
And don't tell me I don't know bout Jamaica, went to school there all the way up to UWI. Know at least that. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
Either you are both ignorant of things that went on in Jamaica or you are not familiar with history, up to the sixties and early seventies, a dark skin black person could not work in a front desk position in Jamaican hotel, you guys need to speak to some older folks or pick up a history book. Stop gwan like Dr a mek dem stuff up. That stuff changed once Butch bought out those hotels and started hiring locally, what year Butch got his first hotel, tell mi dat. Certain pools in New Kingston during the same time period still had the unwritten rule of no blacks in there because it would offend the americans. People would not rent room to you unless you have a certain color, bank job figet bout it if yu look like Portia, this is our history dont try to gloss it over, be proud of how far we have come. Unu mussi some i-jamaicans as tuff would a seh.
Dudd, I think conscience know whey him a talk bout. When was there ever a white Prime Minister of Jamaica? Once, Seaga. In the 50s a Black woman was the first female mayor of Kingston, and speaker of the House. There are many others who ran things in Jamaica, and they were basically Black people. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
And don't tell me I don't know bout Jamaica, went to school there all the way up to UWI. Know at least that. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
More nonsense again,where do you get all this??
You were not educated in or on the subject of Jamaica. You simply glean information here and there ,which can pas in certain level of comversation,but not at this level. It just is not the standard accepted here.
here we discuss facts,not hearesey.
Heh, eh, eh, You probably went to some school at the UWI,but you certainly is neither a graduate or matriculate of that institution.
The standard of matriculation is certainly way higher than your level of comprehention,because "The use of english" is a co-requisite for matriculation, and that goes for both of your monikers. Yes, that means consciense too,because you are one and the same person.
what year Butch got his first hotel
late 70's early 80's...i think things had already signifincantly changed by then.
Rich you is a conchus yute still so mi have this article fi yu read, late sixties and early seventies tings did still a gwan bad, Joshua even had to go tek up fencing from Negril and declare Jamaican beaches are for every one, mi chat and grow wid old people a yard and do mi research. anyway si the article yah
he wanted a career in the unlikely field of tourism. What made it unusual and significant was the fact that the hotel sector at the time had no blacks in the front office. It was completely white-owned and managed.
It might never become fully clear why two Cornwall College boys decided to part with tradition and seek a future in tourism. This was 1971. The Jamaican government had taken a look at the tourist industry and noticed that no Jamaican held any managerial position.
The farthest any Jamaican had reached was Maitre d'hotel (Maitre d' for short), French for the person who is in charge of the dining room. To correct that anomaly, the government started a programme to encourage local people to enter the industry at higher levels. Horace Peterkin and George Russell signed up at the Montego Beach Hotel for the two-year trainee managers programme.
I am always astonished that people want others to make sacrifices... Never themselves... It was never pleasant not having anything, not having the potential to get materials... Having a choice is the greatest thing.. options is not something to be scoffed at.... Things change.. To condemn change a materialism is not fair, to judge others choices when it is not you is juvinile. I walked to school, I would rather have taken a taxi. If we had the options my parents had the resources I would have taken it...
It is change and expectations. Dont condemn it..
cho..Walhalla talk about a giant leap..who said anyone/thing was been condemned [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
I posted the question because of another thread where the question of current living standards and its impact on moral decay was been tossed around. My relatives made the comment in reference to kids begging, etc
It is change and expectations. Dont condemn it..
cho..Walhalla talk about a giant leap..who said anyone/thing was been condemned [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
I posted the question because of another thread where the question of current living standards and its impact on moral decay was been tossed around. My relatives made the comment in reference to kids begging, etc
So just because a saying is popular,that mean it is true.
How nieve it is to really think that improve living standards is the reason for the moral decay.In that case the demography with highest standard of living then should demonstrate the greatest impact of moral deacy then.
So absurd to even think of.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.