Re: Should Jamaica adopt an international currency
RichD, I see your point but I have to disagree with you on this one.
i understan...because i have been told dat i struggle wid di language [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
mek i siif i can draw an picture:
you remeber back when the Jamaican dollar was worth $1.20 US?
i think backthen you could pay a domestic helper about $10 per week($12 US per week)
a pound of flour was about $0.10.
so fast forward to today ..the jamican dollar is worth less then $0.02 cents US .a domestic hellper earns about $5000 a week ( $80 US) and a pound of flour is about $18...
how has the exchange rate affected this person..are they better or worse off?
RichD, I see your point but I have to disagree with you on this one.
i understan...because i have been told dat i struggle wid di language [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
mek i siif i can draw an picture:
you remeber back when the Jamaican dollar was worth $1.20 US?
i think backthen you could pay a domestic helper about $10 per week($12 US per week)
a pound of flour was about $0.10.
so fast forward to today ..the jamican dollar is worth less then $0.02 cents US .a domestic hellper earns about $5000 a week ( $80 US) and a pound of flour is about $18...
how has the exchange rate affected this person..are they better or worse off?