‘Lacy! It’s stuck!’ Rose cried , now alarmed. But Lacy, still laughing at the comical sight of Rose propped up against the window like a rag doll, only replied, ‘Cho Rose, a lie yuh tell mi nuh.’
But when she looked up at Rose’s stricken face, she knew it was indeed the truth and quickly gained her side.
Lacy slowly turned the window louvers to try and free her hand, but with Rose’s sharp cry, she stopped and then saw the deep red welts that were beginning to form.. from her wrist all the way to the tips of her fingers.
‘Rose dear, wah mek yuh do soh eeh?’ Lacy sighed in exasperation, pausing to figure out what to do next. ‘Just lift me up ok…. I think I can get it out.’ Rose countered, ignoring Lacy’s glib jab.
Putting her hands under Rose’s arms, Lacy lifted up… and Rose popped her hand out of the window and quickly began rubbing her sore fingers.
‘Mek mi look pon dem soh.’ Lacy took up Rose’s hand and inspected her injuries. **kiss teet** ‘Look lek mi wi haffi go fi di doctor.’ Rose rolled her eyes at Lacy’s assessment of the situation… but begrudgingly agreed. ‘Get dressed Rose, mi ago hail one taxi seen.’
A few minutes later, Rose met Lacy on the verandah where she and Mr. Pipps, the taxi driver, were waiting. Their conversation ended abruptly as Rose approached the car.
‘How yuh feel, Rose?’ Lacy asked, glancing back at Mr. Pipps with a look that said, hush now. ‘My hand is getting bigger and I’m having a hard time moving my fingers.’ Rose replied sullenly.
Mr. Pipps moved away from the car and came to stop in front of Rose. ‘Mi a look?’ he asked and Rose held out her hand for his inspection. He carefully examined her injury, turning the hand over, then back again, before looking over at Lacy.
‘Yuh gi im di white?’ he asked and Lacy shook her head, no. ‘Yuh have guana plant?’ he persisted, and again Lacy shook her head, no.
‘Mek wi ago fi mi yaad.’ and with that… as if his word were final, Mr. Pipps went around the car and hopped into the driver’s seat, kissing his teeth, as Lacy and Rose paused and looked at each other in confusion.
‘Whatta gwaan? Yuh ooman tink mi nuh know wah mi a seh?’ Mr Pipps fired back through the window. And with one last glance at each other, Lacy and Rose climbed into the back seat of his car.
But when she looked up at Rose’s stricken face, she knew it was indeed the truth and quickly gained her side.
Lacy slowly turned the window louvers to try and free her hand, but with Rose’s sharp cry, she stopped and then saw the deep red welts that were beginning to form.. from her wrist all the way to the tips of her fingers.
‘Rose dear, wah mek yuh do soh eeh?’ Lacy sighed in exasperation, pausing to figure out what to do next. ‘Just lift me up ok…. I think I can get it out.’ Rose countered, ignoring Lacy’s glib jab.
Putting her hands under Rose’s arms, Lacy lifted up… and Rose popped her hand out of the window and quickly began rubbing her sore fingers.
‘Mek mi look pon dem soh.’ Lacy took up Rose’s hand and inspected her injuries. **kiss teet** ‘Look lek mi wi haffi go fi di doctor.’ Rose rolled her eyes at Lacy’s assessment of the situation… but begrudgingly agreed. ‘Get dressed Rose, mi ago hail one taxi seen.’
A few minutes later, Rose met Lacy on the verandah where she and Mr. Pipps, the taxi driver, were waiting. Their conversation ended abruptly as Rose approached the car.
‘How yuh feel, Rose?’ Lacy asked, glancing back at Mr. Pipps with a look that said, hush now. ‘My hand is getting bigger and I’m having a hard time moving my fingers.’ Rose replied sullenly.
Mr. Pipps moved away from the car and came to stop in front of Rose. ‘Mi a look?’ he asked and Rose held out her hand for his inspection. He carefully examined her injury, turning the hand over, then back again, before looking over at Lacy.
‘Yuh gi im di white?’ he asked and Lacy shook her head, no. ‘Yuh have guana plant?’ he persisted, and again Lacy shook her head, no.
‘Mek wi ago fi mi yaad.’ and with that… as if his word were final, Mr. Pipps went around the car and hopped into the driver’s seat, kissing his teeth, as Lacy and Rose paused and looked at each other in confusion.
‘Whatta gwaan? Yuh ooman tink mi nuh know wah mi a seh?’ Mr Pipps fired back through the window. And with one last glance at each other, Lacy and Rose climbed into the back seat of his car.

Oh No! Lacy, are you a crazy woman!? (that weed's gonna give me a panic attack! You did bring the limes in case didn't you??) Uh oh..