Your story brings back memories what my grandparents and parents told me of their experience when they came to England in the 50s.
Fights with skinheads, unwrapped bread left on doorsteps, black fog, outside toilet, Jamaican dances up'n'down di country, hardship in getting housing / jobs etc.
I have tremendous respect for these pioneers!!
Dem come to a strange land an mek out opportunity where others would have quit.!!
G2- you're welcome - I knew you would relate [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Lala - our pioneers had fortitude (Webster says endurance and courage in the face of pain or adversity, moral strength, one of the cardinal virtues ) - I'm not saying this of Jamaicans only but other islanders will agree that many Jamaicans paved the way and life was more tolerable in the UK after those rough early years - I join you in saluting them ((((( pave-setters )))))
((((Porty)))) Lang time mi nuh cum dung yah visit pan di verandah but tiday, mi happy I did. So dis is where yu been henging out eeen? Wat a lovely story, it bring tears to mi yeyes to tink of how our parents an foreparents did wuk so haad fi mek betta life fi wi. Great story!!
Oh Porty-48!!!! thank you for sharing your story, brought tears to my eyes. What you shared with your family I have only shared with the Grandparents...that affinity and love. One day I will post mine entitled Struggles in no man's land. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] Beleiving you are one race, and find out when you are fourteen that you are another race and the trials and tribulations until you finally find yourself. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Porty you told a beautiful story. It reminds me of the stories I have heard of American Blacks leaving the South to settle in the North, many times leaving children behind in order to establish themselves. Although they stayed in the same country, they faced many of the same experiences and hardships; and once in the North the racism they faced was different--not open like in the South, but hidden and more insidious.
Dear Boardites, especially Porty-48 who`s family story has been such a `stand-out` especially the dedication of her father and mother.
Porty-48, please accept this link which I first posted in another forum which you read and told me about yours here, which inspired me to copy the link below for those of us who`d like to read a tit bit about the Windrush and some Jamaican families who made the transfer to England back in the 40`s henceforth.
Porty-48, may the life of your dad be an inspiration not only to you and yours but to all of us who wish to identify with a REAL JAMAICAN MAN.....Blessed!
Please tell me if I am wrong. The topic of this thread can be very emotional especially to those of us who are directly involved in the `joining and disjointment of family`.
It can be very personal to us and many of us have a story to tell but are a bit afraid to reveal it.
Those who wish not to, Love Love!
Those who have and will now gather up some strength and put in their milion dollars/ pounds worth, Love Love.
Even me here in Jamaica. I first met my biological father when I was 37. Ten years on, I have been through the tears and joys and have made more of it than less of it, thank God.
Some of us may still at this moment be suffering the hurt and trauma.
If in any way I could offer help by trying to understand and offering some kindness, here I am.
Love always.
Porty-48 This again is a wonderful story. Q thanks for the link that was great - I can relate to this - I remember my dad being one of the few Jamaicans to own his house in the 60s and ours was an open house to many couples arriving in England. They would stay out our house until they could save a few pennies and then move on to other accommodation. I remember our house always being filled with laughter. The kitchen filled with ladies cooking dinners for their husbands - my uncle (who was a barber) used the cellar to cut hair. I always remember going from the cellar to the kitchen sitting and listening to the chatter that went on. I think this is what drew me to JA.com it reminds me very much of the banter that went on in our house between friends and family.
Am I wrong in saying that the Jamaicans in Britain are more together more bonded because of various reasons than those in America and Canada?
I never heard of families like those of the scale that emigrated to England that shared ammenities and emotions elsewhere.
What may I ask from my inquisitive brain, are the main differences of British-Jamaicans, 2nd generation up, compared to those in Canada and America?
Though I must say there are 99% simularites between all, I think some of the differences might be interesting, especially hearing it from those directly involved.
Maybe its a case of different enviroment and culture, though the language is the same.
Different levels and degrees of racial discrimination?
Where America had always a Black population, England had basically none until the influx of West Indians and Africans in the early 20th century, Britain was not as hard and violent in their discrimination as the Americans.
Where America had Paul Robeson, Martin Luther King, England had no civil rights leader amongst the minorities.
England was definitely a more subtle place to live compared to the diverse and openly prejudice America.
Q, As a British Jamaican living in England I think the bond in our community was very strong when people had just arrived in England in the 50s-60s. Today I'm not so sure. I seem to remember a time when there always seemed to be party at someone's house on a Saturday night, there were organised trips to the seaside, boattrips etc. - this was in my youth in the 70s. People seemed to make an effort to do things.
Racism does exist in this country. Blacks do not share the same success in the "white collar" jobs as whites. I think most companies make sure they have a token black worker and they believe that they have done their bit. I think Black Americans enjoy a greater success in their careers than blacks in England.
Violence against blacks exist – a big case was the Stephen Lawrence murder – killers have still not been brought to justice despite the efforts of his parents, the media and the black communities. The National Front have started to gain credibility amongst the whites in England attested by the fact that there are now quite a few NF councillors being voted onto councils particular in the Leeds, Bradford area.
There seem to be a lot more black on black shootings. In the past you never worried about guns in England but now there is a growing gun culture and it seems to be amongst the young black community.
These are a few thoughts that spring to mind. I know I paint a picture of doom and gloom but you just got to make the most of what you've got.
That gloom was not created by you so never mind what you paint as long as it is true or nearer to the truth.
Jeannie1, some young Blacks by the heinious acts they do like that stalking shooting in Wandsworth Square last year bring the worst out and then it hits them by the profiling given by British status quo.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.