Re: Spotlight on a historic site - Rose Hall Great House
What a coincidence! I was just reading about the Rose Hall Estate two nights ago. Mi memba mi faada use to tell wi story bout Annie Palmer wen a wuz a likkle bwaay. Mi a tell yuh, de black widow noh have nutten pan har!
Re: Re: Spotlight on a historic site - Rose Hall Great House
Interesting.. I've never yet been up there, but something about the place looks haunted. I remember hearing about those palm trees and wonder if they are still standing? I am hoping the building of the Ritz Carlton didn't disturb them.
Originally posted by Rose:
[qb]Interesting.. I've never yet been up there, but something about the place looks haunted. I remember hearing about those palm trees and wonder if they are still standing? I am hoping the building of the Ritz Carlton didn't disturb them.[/qb]
It is reputed as being haunted. It was featured on some TV show about the worlds most haunted houses. They say there is a husband / victim burried beneath each of those trees. The house definately has a strange vibe to it.
I went there in the '70s before the house was completely refurbished, at that time the dungeon wasn't worked on at all. I cannot for the life of me imagine ever going down there where Annie's slaves were tortured and killed to have a drink or buy a gift. That is really sick. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
How interesting! On my first visit to Montego Bay I had a choice to take a day tour of Rose Hall or to take the Maroon Tour. I chose the Maroon Tour, which was great, but I can see I missed out on learning about this place. Is she the one that the "White Witch" fragrance is named after? My cousin loves that perfume.
Thanks for a little bit of culture this Saturday morning, churchgirl.
We visited the "great house" in August of this year when we vacationed in JA. Once inside the house, it's like being in an ordinary house. We found it to be in no way haunted. I was a bit disappointed because I expected to see more, and I thought the house was bigger at the back. Before entering the grounds, I was a bit scared because of the view from the road. Upon entering the house, I found nothing there to spook me. To me, it's to modernized. Funny though, I spoke with one of the grounds keeper and he is scared as hell of the place. I asked him if he would spend a night there and he looked at me as though I were crazy. "NO WAY IN HELL" was his reply. Should you visit,you must try the drink "WITCHE'S BREW" that drink will knock all the "bejesas" outa yu.
From the pictures I've seen, the interior is beautiful. It has been renovated, and used for a lot of wedding receptions. I'll see if I can dig something up.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.