Ok...so it wasnt MY VISA...but it is MY STORY about a Visa...and about "Gwaan back a farrin" after 7+ years of living in JA.
The year was 1996, it was January 5, everyone at the Ocho Rios clock tower could here my screams…PUSH Dr. Tomlinson would yell.I AM DAMMIT, I yelled back…I AM GETTING THE FORCEPS he said….OH NO YOUR NOT…KEEP THOSE THINGS AWAY FROM ME I said.
Then finally…came that one push that did the job…there looking, slightly blueish, was her son, their son. “It’s a boy” I said…But before she could say anything else, the doc swept him up and left the room. We sat there; hugging and praying, please let him be all right…please let him be alive. I asked the midwife, whats happening. She just ignored me and started to clean me up….WHERES IS MY BABY, I asked again slightly louder. “De docta is just checking him our miss, him soon come”. We held each other for what seemed like hours, but in reality was probably less than a minute…then we heard it…a small…weak cry…THANK YOU GOD…we both said…and we cried too. The doctor carried him in, said that he wanted to take him to St. Anns Bay to the hospital for some blood work, just wanted to make sure all was well…Babyfather kissed me and said to get some rest, Doc Tomlinson kissed the top of my head and said “Good Job momma, you did great”…they would be back soon. Later that night “K” made up for not crying at the time of his birth…he cried all night long…..oh my gosh…will I ever sleep again, thank you god for this loud little boy.
Jump back to November 1995, it was 3:00 in the morning, we were both asleep. Yet we both woke at the same time and sat up straight in bed. What was that I whispered, babyfather clamped his hand over my mouth and motioned to be quiet. There it was..noises. There were people in our living room. I kept waiting…thinking they would call out our names and it would be someone we knew. But they never did. Thank god we always locked our bedroom door, thank god were always kept a cutlass under the bed. We were prepared. I took my 7 month pregnant body and hid between the bed and the wall…just couldn’t fit under the bed with a baby in my belly. Babyfather hid in the closet. WE watched as they chopped at the bedroom door with their cutlass's. As the door came crashing open it blocked my view. Noises…words….more noises…what were they…then running footsteps and then SILENCE, Well except for my heart…I swear the entire neighborhood could hear my heart beating. I sit there for eternity. Then I hear come footsteps. I wait, wondering what, who is coming. It was babyfather, he had chased them off. They didn’t expect someone to be ready for them and they ran.
Jump ahead to January 1997. “K”’s first birthday. We had cake and let him eat it with his fingers. What a mess. No party really, just babyfather and I. No other family around to help us celebrate. Later that day, we talked. Should we move to the states? How would babyfather handle it?
But babyfather is worried that “K” will not know his Jamaican heritage. How will he know that half of his roots if we move to the states. Well, I said, if we live in the states we can afford to come down every year or so. But if we live down here, we cant afford to fly to the states very often on our salaries. I tell him that to be honest I have been thinking this for a long time. Being a mother brought about a sense of URGE TO PROTECT. I had been having nightmares again, about “that night”. Can we at least go to the states for a few years. Just for a while, not for good.
So it was decided…we would start to make the plans to migrate/repatriate to the USA…
The year was 1996, it was January 5, everyone at the Ocho Rios clock tower could here my screams…PUSH Dr. Tomlinson would yell.I AM DAMMIT, I yelled back…I AM GETTING THE FORCEPS he said….OH NO YOUR NOT…KEEP THOSE THINGS AWAY FROM ME I said.
Then finally…came that one push that did the job…there looking, slightly blueish, was her son, their son. “It’s a boy” I said…But before she could say anything else, the doc swept him up and left the room. We sat there; hugging and praying, please let him be all right…please let him be alive. I asked the midwife, whats happening. She just ignored me and started to clean me up….WHERES IS MY BABY, I asked again slightly louder. “De docta is just checking him our miss, him soon come”. We held each other for what seemed like hours, but in reality was probably less than a minute…then we heard it…a small…weak cry…THANK YOU GOD…we both said…and we cried too. The doctor carried him in, said that he wanted to take him to St. Anns Bay to the hospital for some blood work, just wanted to make sure all was well…Babyfather kissed me and said to get some rest, Doc Tomlinson kissed the top of my head and said “Good Job momma, you did great”…they would be back soon. Later that night “K” made up for not crying at the time of his birth…he cried all night long…..oh my gosh…will I ever sleep again, thank you god for this loud little boy.
Jump back to November 1995, it was 3:00 in the morning, we were both asleep. Yet we both woke at the same time and sat up straight in bed. What was that I whispered, babyfather clamped his hand over my mouth and motioned to be quiet. There it was..noises. There were people in our living room. I kept waiting…thinking they would call out our names and it would be someone we knew. But they never did. Thank god we always locked our bedroom door, thank god were always kept a cutlass under the bed. We were prepared. I took my 7 month pregnant body and hid between the bed and the wall…just couldn’t fit under the bed with a baby in my belly. Babyfather hid in the closet. WE watched as they chopped at the bedroom door with their cutlass's. As the door came crashing open it blocked my view. Noises…words….more noises…what were they…then running footsteps and then SILENCE, Well except for my heart…I swear the entire neighborhood could hear my heart beating. I sit there for eternity. Then I hear come footsteps. I wait, wondering what, who is coming. It was babyfather, he had chased them off. They didn’t expect someone to be ready for them and they ran.
Jump ahead to January 1997. “K”’s first birthday. We had cake and let him eat it with his fingers. What a mess. No party really, just babyfather and I. No other family around to help us celebrate. Later that day, we talked. Should we move to the states? How would babyfather handle it?
But babyfather is worried that “K” will not know his Jamaican heritage. How will he know that half of his roots if we move to the states. Well, I said, if we live in the states we can afford to come down every year or so. But if we live down here, we cant afford to fly to the states very often on our salaries. I tell him that to be honest I have been thinking this for a long time. Being a mother brought about a sense of URGE TO PROTECT. I had been having nightmares again, about “that night”. Can we at least go to the states for a few years. Just for a while, not for good.
So it was decided…we would start to make the plans to migrate/repatriate to the USA…