Yeah man! I`m a birder for sure. I raised Budgies in a big cage when I was a boy. I`d name them all and could observe each unique behaviour pattern of each bird. Budgies in so many ways reminds me of people.
The Man`o War or Frigate indeed you are a birder for sure. Waiting for you on the aunty kati/ warbler realationship.
Remember "Yello bird...up far in banana tree..."-banana quit.
And the yard visitors called `grass quits`.
They are virtually non-existent now.
I think that the quits are really finches.
Then there is the `hopping dick`. And the woodpecker, parakeets and parrots that nested in the hollows or holes of trees far above the ground.
You`d never see me shooting a bird. Although they have great eyesight, birds are never as faas as humans. But alas! Caged Pretty Polly parrot observes and hears everything you say and will repeat it when you least expect it. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
MG, mi love di Tody!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
What gorgeous colors!!
Next trip...
I just bought a nice old Pentax K1000. I can get more creative and I have different lenses. I'll definitely be looking to take some bird shots.
Great Thread MG. Glad I stopped in for a peek.
Thanks.
Originally posted by QK:
[qb]I thought I saw mockingbirds when I was there??[/qb]
as beenie man would say, "dat no impossible". it's much easier to see/hear birds in country areas, and you were in Treasure Beach, right?
still looking for some birds Q3210 mentioned: the aunty-katy bird (this one is stumping me, but I'm close to identifying it, i think)
banana quit
grass quit
finches
hopping dick
woodpecker
parakeet
parrots
Q3210 - interesting results in the search for the Aunty Katy bird.
first, it's not a warbler, it's an oriole. second -it's also called the banana bird, differentiating it from the bananaquit. However, both birds are yellowish, and both could be the subject of the song, "Yellow bird, up high in banana tree." [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
The bananaquit, Coereba flaveola, is a tiny bird found throughout the Caribbean - except for Cuba! it has a curved beak like a hummingbird's, useful for boring a hole into the side of flowers (usually red flowers such as hibiscus) to get at the nectar. it often hangs upside down in order to get to its food,and from its name, loves ripe bananas. This bird is a real cutiepie!
The Jamaican Oriole/Aunty Katy/Banana bird/Banana Katy, Icterus leucopteryx leucopteryx,
is bigger than the bananaquit, but loves ripe bananas just as much.
Mi wan see some pickchas a dese two pleeeeze! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
MG, this is a very interesting thread...
Yuh doin dis pon yuh job?!?!? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Most informative input by you, Mountaingal.
The oriole, Aunty Kati ask any old or country folks about its song. Very clear and almost like the nightingale/mockingbird.
As you speak, there is a kling kling black bird`s nest in the mango tree in my neighbours backyard.
The droppings on my concrete pavement below attest to that. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
One of the most beautiful birds are the stream-tailed doctor birds.
Then there is the smallest of them all, the bee- hummingbird I think from Cuba.
As boys in the country we all boasted which type of dove we happened to see on a particualar day.
whether it be pea-doves, white wing, bald-pate, mountain witch, white belly and the most common of them all the diminutive `ground dove`, and of course the domesticated pigeon.
Originally posted by SueSumba:
[qb]wish wanna dem a Sweet John Chewey?[/qb]
sue, I think you pulling a Q3210 on me, asking about one bird when is two.
there's the swee-swee or sewi-sewi, and there's the john-two-wit. both are vireos (vireo apparently means greenish in Latin), insect-eating birds that are pretty plain to look at but make up for it with some marvellous song abilities. Their names reflect their sounds.
here's the john-two-wit, aka the black-whiskered vireo, Vireo altiloquus altiloquus: . It's known for its abrupt one- to four-note songs. In America it's called the "whip-tom-kelly".
here's the sewi-sewi or swee-swee, Jamaican vireo, Vireo modestus, also known as the Jamaican white-eyed vireo: . It's smaller than the john-two-wit. The swee-swee is sometimes called the "big-voice" bird because it's voice is loud in comparison to its size. The swee-swee is found only in Jamaica, in scrubby bush or at high elevations.
Afer - soon come wid de swallows. I remember them well from my childhood.
For now, here are two birds whose names tickled QK's fancy, lol!:
Jamaican woodpecker, Melanerpes radiolatus: Sometimes called "woodpicker" or "red-head", this variant of the woodpecker is found only in Jamaica.
Then, there's the hopping dick, aka the white-chinned thrush, Turdus aurantius: . Not sure why it's called hopping - it could be one of those birds that skips when it walks. But as a thrush, one can be sure that it has a beautiful song.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.