Elina an im mumma go a grung
Elina start halla fi him belly
Go home, Elina
Go bwile cerassee fe you belly...
- Jamaican song
Cerassee, Momordica charantia, is known throughout the world as an important medicinal plant. Used in Jamaica and elsewhere as a cure for stomach aches, this very bitter-tasting plant is also used to treat diabetes (it helps lower blood sugar) and most recently, HIV!!
it's also used to treat pain, fevers, colds, coughs, headaches, malaria, skin complaints, menstrual disorders, aches and pains, hypertension, infections, and as an aid in childbirth. (on the flip side, cerassee has been known to cause abortions in lab animals.)
As a pickney, I used to suck the red stuff off the seeds when the pod burst open. I now learn that much of this stuff is toxic - but only if eaten in large quantities.
Here's a pic of a cerassee vine growing in a tree, with it's open seed pod:
Elina start halla fi him belly
Go home, Elina
Go bwile cerassee fe you belly...
- Jamaican song
Cerassee, Momordica charantia, is known throughout the world as an important medicinal plant. Used in Jamaica and elsewhere as a cure for stomach aches, this very bitter-tasting plant is also used to treat diabetes (it helps lower blood sugar) and most recently, HIV!!
it's also used to treat pain, fevers, colds, coughs, headaches, malaria, skin complaints, menstrual disorders, aches and pains, hypertension, infections, and as an aid in childbirth. (on the flip side, cerassee has been known to cause abortions in lab animals.)
As a pickney, I used to suck the red stuff off the seeds when the pod burst open. I now learn that much of this stuff is toxic - but only if eaten in large quantities.
Here's a pic of a cerassee vine growing in a tree, with it's open seed pod: