I recently saw a woman on the street tht had dreads. She was wearing a shirt that made some statement about gay pride. I am pretty sure she was not Jamaican. This is the kind of thing that I don't particularly appreciate. I would like the opinion of any Rastafarians on the board about how they feel about this. I think it sends the wrong message. What do you think?
WHY DO FOREIGNERS WEAR DREADS : PART 2
Re: WHY DO FOREIGNERS WEAR DREADS : PART 2
Can't let this one go huh?
Anyone that would wear a T-shirt that professed the desire to take someone's basic human rights away would wear a...George W. Bush haircut?
Seems to me that most folks who wear dreads are no more Rasta than George. Those with dreads are still free to say what they like...so far. George is working on it though.
THANK YOU Ladyluck...I was just going to go look for this...Poss88 why ya must beat a dead horse? This subject done run its course...but if you need a refresher...just go to the old post and re-read everyones comments.Originally posted by lady luck:
[qb] Can't let this one go huh?
http://www.jamaicans.com/cgi-bin/ult...;f=22;t=000715 [/qb]
Awww I thought this was a post about the do's and dont's of tourist fashion wear [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
i.e. don't wear a shirt and matching skirt with Jamaica written allllllllllll over it [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] thats a sure sign your a tourist....
i.e. don't wear a hat made like dreads thats a sure sign your a tourist.....
do pack whatever you already have at home...don't attempt to blend in by..... etc etc etc... oh well guess i'll go to bed now [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
why,dont you know? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]Originally posted by SueSumba:
[qb] I want POSS88 to tell me why I wear a gameez sometimes and I'm not Pakistani. [/qb]
anyway,what the hell is a "gameez" [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
it sounds like a very painful ailment.
I just wanted to get political with POSS88 [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]Originally posted by neutral:
[qb]why,dont you know? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]Originally posted by SueSumba:
[qb] I want POSS88 to tell me why I wear a gameez sometimes and I'm not Pakistani. [/qb]
anyway,what the hell is a "gameez" [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
it sounds like a very painful ailment. [/qb]
a gameez is a long dress that has the split up the sides that you wear over pants with the matching pants. Ruby Queen makes them in the finest woven cotten that's wonderful in our hot summers.
Someone already answered this question. It seems you just don't want to hear an answer if it doesn't fit your ideas. DReadlocks were around (maybe not called the same thing) before the rastafarian religion. See the article below.
There are also places in other parts of the world where dreads have been worn for a long, long time (see the book DREADS).
Why do you care how people wear their hair? Do you ONLY wear things that were invented in Jamaica?
That Naani stoty is a fiction as to how "dread" became a part of dreadlocks.
About the Egyption as pect is right,but they made up the part about 1900's.
It just was not so. dread Idea of dread locks name out of the Jamaiucan experience and,it developed in the days of the rude boys.
since during that period,rasta was very ostracised in the society and as a result they took on an aggressive attitude,in their behavior out pf self preservation. this is whan Rasta kind of tried to diffrenciate themselves from the aggressive behavior (who became the dreads) they actually use the term "dread quite ilberally in their vocabulary,but it certainly was not in any 1900's,it was mid 2oth century.
mi understand whe u a try seh...di dreadlocks hairstyle today is a direct influence of reggae music and its proponents...who no waan recognise dat a hide dem head ina di sand...so when u see it u automatically associate it wid said influence....now not everybody wearing locks a rasta but di association is dere fi we so when wi see a ******** or smaddy a eat a pork chop etc and dem have locks, the initial reaction is one of 'oh no'....
what she said. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]Originally posted by evanovitch:
[qb] mi understand whe u a try seh...di dreadlocks hairstyle today is a direct influence of reggae music and its proponents...who no waan recognise dat a hide dem head ina di sand...so when u see it u automatically associate it wid said influence....now not everybody wearing locks a rasta but di association is dere fi we so when wi see a ******** or smaddy a eat a pork chop etc and dem have locks, the initial reaction is one of 'oh no'.... [/qb]