Solomon tells us: "For as (a man) thinketh in his heart, so is he." (Proverbs 23:7) Is there really a corelation between what we think and the things that are often manifested in our lives? If so, why is it then that some people seem so entrenched in bad thoughts?
As A Man Thinketh...
Re: As A Man Thinketh...
Originally posted by CEW:
[qb] Solomon tells us: "For as (a man) thinketh in his heart, so is he." (Proverbs 23:7) Is there really a corelation between what we think and the things that are often manifested in our lives? If so, why is it then that some people seem so entrenched in bad thoughts? [/qb]
Bad thoughts comes naturally, we need to renew our minds daily and know who we are in God.
Originally posted by Dailybread:
Bad thoughts comes naturally...aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
I think there is a correlation, whereby when our lives are running badly we have more negative thoughts -- thought that parallel life. On the other hand, I don't feel that all bad thoughts are well-grounded but rather simply random.
I think as Dailybread points out, "Bad thoughts comes naturally, we need to renew our minds daily and know who we are in God." Further, I believe that a person can "think" themselves to bad health or depression where none existed previously. Perhaps that's what the proverb is stating. And given that, seeing how we deal with these thoughts is in fact their purpose. Any thoughts on this?
Originally posted by Mulligan:
[qb] I think there is a correlation, whereby when our lives are running badly we have more negative thoughts -- thought that parallel life. On the other hand, I don't feel that all bad thoughts are well-grounded but rather simply random.
I think as Dailybread points out, "Bad thoughts comes naturally, we need to renew our minds daily and know who we are in God." Further, I believe that a person can "think" themselves to bad health or depression where none existed previously. Perhaps that's what the proverb is stating. And given that, seeing how we deal with these thoughts is in fact their purpose. Any thoughts on this? [/qb]
I remember also, listening to one of his tape, which I still have, where he distinctly said...although the Holy Scripture said "as a man thinketh...." Eric countered that and said "you are NOT what you think...you are what you are." I interpreted that to mean that we are separate and distinct from our thoughts, negating the idea that one might be inclined to view him/herself as bad because of the thoughts we entertain.
This is not the case, for God didn't make us evil or bad, we are made in His image and likeness, with the capacity to manifest all that is good and wholesome in His and everyone's sight.
However he went on to say at another time, "be ye transformed by the renewing of our minds." Some would see this as contradictory, but I believe the essence of what he is saying is again, the human mind can have a great effect on us. We can programme our minds to bring about physical and other changes that we desire.
As I said time is against me, but going a little further, Mary Baker Eddy did show how the mind can bring about healing as well. I believe she showed the distinction between "MIND" and the physical body. How do we know whether people are "entrenched" in negative thoughts?
Again, to me this would be an abberation, a pathology, for the mind can be as healthy or sick as the physical frame in which it is housed.
We are all affected by what we see or hear, and most of this determine what crosses or pass through the mind. The key is how to block or delete anything that we feel is not positive or healthy for us. Reminds me of a little pamphlet put out by Unity as well, called "The Seven Day Mental Diet"....interesting read.
The question becomes, is the mind separate from the body? What is "MIND?"
Might get back to this later.
[qb]Originally posted by Dailybread:
Bad thoughts comes naturally...
Mulligan: Like you, I do think there is a distinct corelation between our thoughts and some of the things that becomes manifested in our lives. I also think this is true whether or not one takes a natural or a spritual approach to the question.
It has often been said that whether or not the cup is half-empty or half-full is all a matter of perspective. I see this as saying we see things from our perspective, and it is any number of variables that shapes this perspective. Two persons can both be looking at the same cup, and one is most thankful it is not empty, while the other is complaining it is not full. I guess the question that intrigues me is whether or not as we leave the innocence of childhood, some of us - through our various socializations - become predisposed to thinking positively (for the most part) and some seems always negative.
It's been a busy morning but I will try to add some more thoughts later.aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
Solomon tells us: "For as (a man) thinketh in his heart, so is he." (Proverbs 23:7) Is there really a corelation between what we think and the things that are often manifested in our lives? If so, why is it then that some people seem so entrenched in bad thoughts?
I think within the individual there is an engrained pattern of behavior and thoughts(personality) that are established by myriad of things-early childhood experiences, genes, environment and (I believe in the spiritual aspect) fall of humanity from the original purposes of God. The development of the perfect personality has been predisposed to sin and is therefore distorted resulting in flaws within our ways of thinking and responding to situations.
Individuals will respond to their environment in order to help them adjust to their reality. If this reality is a miserable life, then according to their cognitive processes, the individual will live below the potential that he/she is supposed to obtain in this life and live that miserable life(as CEW says cup half empty or half full). For some people it is a more difficult task to readily have positive thinking processes and(in my opinion) part of the fundamental reason could be an unhealthy concept of self. There are factors(childhood experiences) that will not allow for healthy development of the self-concept and understandably the individual will have difficulty in readily changing the negative beliefs and thought patterns. The renewing of our minds by the Word of God allows our mind to elevate beyond our faulty thinking and beliefs and empower us to choose to believe that we are indeed made in the image of God-as Britisha says. It reminds us who we are.
(BTW, interesting thoughts Britisha. Like to hear more [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] )
My thoughts... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Hey DC whazzup?
Interesting viewpoint on your part as well.
We are in conrol of our minds and thoughts, accdng to Eric which I am sure many already know, the human brain, the seat of the mind, contains trillion and zillion of cells that are waiting to be used. He likened it to a computer that could stretch for blocks. Regretfully the thought patterns we create utilise only a tiny fraction of our brain cells, leaving the majority to be tapped/used. Resultantly many of us do NOT reach our full potential for we are not utilising all that we have.
Again time is against me. I might start a thread on this, if the Spirit moves me.
((((DC)) good to see you as always.
Ooono walk good.
Aaaah - the mind. I had a hard time swallowing that part of the Word - "as a man thinketh...." Boy I tell ya. As my sister said, we have to allow the Lord to renew the mind. If I think that u got somm against me, it's natural instinct to not be the nicest (even if we don't sin - not sure that possible so correct me if i"m wrong) to that person. It's in the mind that we have to purpose that that child of GOD is ma brother AND I'm a have to love him/her as myself.
The way people act, dictates where they're at; what their mindset is. Perfect example is the two glasses of Water CEW spoke about - is it half empty or is it half full? Is it getting full or is it getting empty? Are things gettin better, or worse?
Thank you for de insights posted - unu nice eno? oh!
Here's one perspective:
Attitude: a thought process that influences the way a person approaches dealing with life.
Whether we allow ourselves to recognize it or not, we choose the type of thinking and approach we have to the world. This choice then influences other choices. For example, we may choose to think we have to prove ourselves as an employee or as a parent by perfectly meeting the demands of others. With such an attitude we will more likely forego our own needs in order to meet the expectations we believe others have of us. Our awareness of our ability to make choices can be a powerful factor in our experience of life. Too frequently, people believe that they can't have an impact on their lives, that they are just helpless victims of fate or of other people's behaviors. The truth is, however, that we have the choice available to us to be responsible for our lives. Even when someone has been mistreated or abused, they still have choices available to them. We can choose to blame others for our life situation or we can choose to examine ourselves and see what we can do about it. The power of our mind can greatly determine whether we will be healthy and happy.
Source: Power of the Mind. (Italics were added for emphasis).aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
[qb] Solomon tells us: "For as (a man) thinketh in his heart, so is he." (Proverbs 23:7) Is there really a corelation between what we think and the things that are often manifested in our lives? If so, why is it then that some people seem so entrenched in bad thoughts? [/qb]
Oftimes these negative thoughts become so ingrained in us because it's so much easier to think negative than positive. Thinking positive requires us to challenge ourselves and get out of our comfort zones so that we can become the positive element that we are thinking ourselves to be. Not a whole lot of us wants to do that. Society also plays a role as well, in that they seem to highlight the negative more than the positive.
Originally posted by DC:
Individuals will respond to their environment in order to help them adjust to their reality. If this reality is a miserable life, then according to their cognitive processes, the individual will live below the potential that he/she is supposed to obtain in this life and live that miserable life(as CEW says cup half empty or half full). For some people it is a more difficult task to readily have positive thinking processes and(in my opinion) part of the fundamental reason could be an unhealthy concept of self. There are factors(childhood experiences) that will not allow for healthy development of the self-concept and understandably the individual will have difficulty in readily changing the negative beliefs and thought patterns. The renewing of our minds by the Word of God allows our mind to elevate beyond our faulty thinking and beliefs and empower us to choose to believe that we are indeed made in the image of God-as Britisha says. It reminds us who we are.
"Cognitive behavior therapy depends very heavily on the assumptions that people make in their lives, how they talk to themselves," Levenduski says. "This self-talk just doesn't pop out of the blue, it comes from somewhere. If you think of some of the most intense learning experiences that people have, you can trace them back to their religious upbringing, and many of the precepts that they live their lives by are often related to the nature of their religious understanding. ... For most folks, their religious experience is substantially greater than what many mental health professionals will be sensitive to or respect."aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....