Originally posted by Donnika:
[qb] no Dr Dudd. the term "chi chi bus" came about because the buses are seen as being of the patterson govt. and patterson is seen as a chi chi man. [/qb]
yuh wi duh anyting fe bunn a fyah pan pnp ee [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Originally posted by neochin:
[qb] the latest slang i can think of is "fish". i'll let you figure out what it means. [/qb]
does it have anything to do with females? [/qb]
no it has to do with jamaican hatreds of a certain group of people. [/qb]
so i guess we is not supposed to use the word fish pan here since it is derrogative even though it na have nothing to do with flounders? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Originally posted by SueSumba:
[qb] seems to me the language is constantly changing.
i never heard of "passa passa" before. but now i hear it all the time.
anymore new words/phrases you can think of? [/qb]
I agree,we in the Uk usually get a phrase quite awhile after it`s been established in Ja.
One of my brothers uses the phrase ambangle which I find very irritating.
And it was from another of my brothers I first heard the terms big up and flex.
When I was a boy I used to hear of a bird called a chi chi bud,but words like mampyscandal bag or gwaany gwaany are all new to me,as they originate during the last twenty or thirty years.
Originally posted by Shandra:
[qb] ...and remember "chi-chi bud...oh"
Some ah dem ah halla some ah bawl
Some ah cling -cling
Some ah dem ah halla, some ah bawl
Some ah gawling..
Wonder if those birds have some peculiar characteristics that parallel people's...? I never even thought of that back then. [/qb]
We used to sing that song at school,..........little knowing that we were singing about homosexual birds.
Originally posted by coolbeans*:
[qb]
it basically fi all di big belly people dem weh a wear half shirt and ting...dem have a cute song
mi caan memba di words just now [/qb]
I think it means getting in a temper,or losing your head,or how they would say they are "ignorant" instead of hot headed,or quick tempered.... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] .....Isnt Jamaica wonderful,you can call a man "ignorant" and he takes it as a compliment... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.