Mi gift fram QK reach! Mi gift reach!! It lovely an hit juss wha mi waant!!!
*ooohhhhhhh...alla dat bouncin mek mi sick *
Mi list: 1. A book written by and for SCA people (my medieval group): Traveling Dysshes; Or, Foods for Wars, Peace, and Potlucks by Siobhan Medhbh O'Roarke, Cordelia Toser, Pat McGregor, Carole Newsom Smith [ISBN 0972384308]
2. Another book highly recommended by folks in the SCA: Fabulous Feasts: Medieval Cookery and Ceremony by Madeleine Pelner Cosman [ISBN 080760898X]
3. A gift certificate/Barnes & Noble or similar bookstore.
Mi get di loverliest hand-painted card of tropical beach seascape fram QK wid a BOrders gift card innah eet!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] It PERFECT fi'mi, QK! Many tonks! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] (((((((((QK)))))))
AN funny tink, dis... but...
(1) di Borders gift card blue-an-green-stripes, an hit match di painted greeting card's colors exactly
(2) Mi was innah big BOrders ah Bridgewater yesteddy nite, an mi see boo;k dem wi waanted, but mi dead-broke until next paycheck... and mi had tuh leff dem book dem mi wanted so bad-bad behine innah dem store [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
SO, NOH mi caan guh back tamarra an get dem books dem!!! weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
OH, tahsnk you SO much, QK!!!
Mi gift nuh reach yuh, yet? It sent USPS Priority w/ DC an tracking.
Mi hope hit arrive befare Chrissmus. Otherwise, hit gwaan be wan Boxing Day gift. Or ah "medieval Chrismuss gift" (during any of "the 12 days of Christmas" -- between Boxing Day an Twelfth Night). Or ah true Twelfth Night gift (laka di frankincense, gold, and myrrh dem Wisemen give).
Tonks, QK, your gift is very greatly appreciated!!!
Originally posted by Wendy:
[qb] LOL ..QK mi neva know seh yuh ina Witness Protection [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] [/i] [/qb]
Beelieve me, Wendy, if she isn't in the Witness Protection Program, she sure oughta be!
Even my 'spook' friends won't say if her alleged address exists ... or not.
The USPS swears it does not, although both Mapquest and Yahoo Maps show it plainly. However, interestingly, the map program Mr Witchy uses with his GPS unit does, in fact, NOT show such an address as the one QK claims.
So... [/i]YOU[/i] tell [/i]ME[/i]: WPP - or not?!
Mi say shi inna di WPP. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Originally posted by annshan:
[qb] all now mi nu get fi mi yet [/qb]
Ann I am so sorry I have sent an inquiry to cafepress regarding your gift. It was processed on nov. 29 and I sent it to the address that Yardy gave me. Anyway check your pm box. I should hear something by tomorrow.
Originally posted by Wendy:
[qb] Mek mi jump fi yuh now [/qb]
I'm jumping too!! ((((Wendy)))) You have good taste my girl!! I haszarded a trek to the mailbox this morning - and in spite of stocking up on rechargeable batteries , I LOVE the alternative you sent [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] the earrings are gorgeous and I'll treasure them always! You're bold / trusting to send them through the regular mail!
Hey Witchy, Happy to hear you finally got it. It's been a tricky season, my apologies.
gouache = watercolors?
Yes. I've been attempting a likkle painting lately and you recieved one of my latest masterpieces. I'm specializing in palm trees... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Glad you like it.
When I couldn't get the books you requested, I wanted to send something a little more personal than just the gift card.
Merry Christmas.
My mailing address is funny. The 693 part is the house (apartments) in front. We live in the barn, which is attached, but has it's own mailbox/address. Hence the R. Wondering if they left a notice out front and I didn't get it...
Anyway, Y'outta see the pizza guy tryin to find us. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Did you resend it to the Weymouth address?
I can probabaly go to UPS and pick it up if they're still having a hard time delivering it.
Sorry you've had to resend it.
Mek mi knoh wha mi fi duh. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Originally posted by Q.K:
[qb] Hey Witchy, Happy to hear you finally got it. It's been a tricky season, my apologies.[/qb]
[qb]gouache = watercolors?
Yes. I've been attempting a likkle painting lately and you recieved one of my latest masterpieces. I'm specializing in palm trees...
Glad you like it.[/qb][/QUOTE]
Ana exactly.
Standard watercolor paint is thin, and reasonably translucent (yuh caan see throo'eet some).
Gouache is a different kind of paint, 'though I think it'd a kinf of watercolor paint. But it's thick - thick nuff that you can layer it up or lay it on with a table knife and swirl it for a 3-dimensional effect, and it's opague (can't see chroo'eet atall).
Mr Witchy (and other medieval scribes - then and now) use gouache paints for the beautiful kinds of illuminations (illustration) they did (and still do) in handmade books. Y'know what I mean?
Your work is really GOOD. My Baroness is a Laurel in Scribing, and she's got her Master's degrees - one each - in medieval illumination and medieval calligraphy... and she thinks your work has plenty of merit!
[i]Yuh want to joint the SCA? Be a Scribe and/or an Illuminator for the great East kingdom?{/i])
[qb]When I couldn't get the books you requested, I wanted to send something a little more personal than just the gift card.
Merry Christmas. [/qb][/QUOTE]
THat's okay. You got me the next best thing: a gift card for more books!
One can never go wrong by giving me books or bookstore gift certificates/giftcards. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
[qb]My mailing address is funny. The 693 part is the house (apartments) in front. We live in the barn, which is attached, but has it's own mailbox/address. Hence the R. Wondering if they left a notice out front and I didn't get it...
Anyway, Y'outta see the pizza guy tryin to find us. [/qb][/QUOTE]
Why not try: #693 , BARN OUT BAAAAAAAAAACK, and see if they deliver... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Unless they start looking for freakin' SHEEP... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
[qb]Did you resend it to the Weymouth address?
I can probabaly go to UPS and pick it up if they're still having a hard time delivering it.
Sorry you've had to resend it.
Mek mi knoh wha mi fi duh.[/qb][/QUOTE]
I did. It should be there tomorrow, according to the online tracking number.
Nuh let dem keep dat gift, cawse dere sintin double-trouble innah hit fi'yuh. ma'am!
[qb]Merry Christmas everyone. [/qb][/QUOTE]
Merry Christams, QK! And Merry Christams to alla unno!!
PS: QK - you interested in a little editing job?
It won't pay, but you get to read (and correct if you find minor mistakes) an interesting author's work, before it gets put up online. The author isn't paid, so why should the editor? So, you get to see the work first, and to add your own input into it. And it IS an educational - and fun - bit of work. And you DO get thanked publicly online, by any name or nom-de-plume of your choosing.
The current story is probably going to go to 25 or 30 full-length chapters - a full-length novel-length story. Figure on roughly about a chapter every week or ten days, until it's done.
Rating's "R", but that's primarily for adult ideas, rather than sex or anything really rude. ie: It's NOT an N-17 type story. (The author writes those, too, but this one isn't.) This story just contains some hardline lifestyle-choice-type decisions, regrets, reparations, and some brief episodes of violence (that isn't overly graphic). Although, there are deaths involved. There is not yet - but might be - a few brief hints at sex, too, but nothing graphic, as the author believes that explicit sex acts belong in the bedroom (or wherever) and kept solely between the two (or however many) people involved. Y'know, just the fact that a healthy man between the ages of 18 and 38 is likely to have some sexual experiences. But his recollections will not be very specific. (at least not to the readers - whatever he does on his own time is his own business, rite? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] )
WENDY!!!! Guess what was sitting on my front porch when I got home tonight??? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
I LOVE unusual collectibles and can't wait to display it, although I'll probably need you to send me some bail money when my friend sees it. She collects amber glass and I'll have to knock her out to make her leave it in my house, instead of taking it to hers. I'm actually getting a little pleasure from the anticipation of telling her that she can't have it, because she'll love it so much. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Anyways, talk about thoughtful. That was a totally unexpected, but really nice surprise ( and I needed one of those; today was a looooong day ).
UPDATE!!! Got a message from My sister in Law, the package arrived. She'll carry it to our Christmas Party tomorrow night.
About the editing job... I'm going to have to pass right now. Unemployment runs out soon enuff, so the job hunt must start again in earnest, and Sis will be starting Chemo after Christmas and being the only available sumaddy during the week, I'll be running her back and forth to appointments and treatments.
Thanks for the consideration tho... Witchy mussi tink mi is a smawt sumadyy... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
I do have some caligraphy skills, but I have my own style and am not very consistent with large amounts of writing. And then of course there's the ol' carpal tunnel...
And as far as the paint, I am clueless. It comes in tubes and says watercolors. So I use it with water. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.