Re: WHAT WAS IN YOUR STOCKINGS? - Reveal Post
Glad fi'you, QK, so yuh get the present on Christmas Day. Still isn't late... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
If you ever change yuh mind - and if and when you have some time to do it - feel free to let me know; the editing job is ongoing, and rather than burn out any single one or three editors, it's always good to have several more. Rotate 'em.
I still need to find an editor-type... no special qualifications other than s/he MUST have good nuff command of American English and British English to be able to catch spelling errors and grammatical mistakes and correct them, able to make suggestions for re-writeing when a particular phrase or snetence is awkward, and able to state whether or not a plotline and writing/storytelling style is easy to follow or too difficult (and if the latter, what to do about correcting/changing it).
An understanding of the basic differences between British and American culture & language usage is a BIG PLUS. (but not absolutely necessary - I do have a couple of "Brit-betas" who do nothing but edit for mistakes in British culture and language usage)
Like I said, anybody with a good basic education can do it.
*sigh*
My usual fave editor is to busy these days, and so are the few others I tend to work with best. ALl of those peeps are professors, and it's not a good time of year for them to do extra grading, so to speak. Although ... they do like to do the beta-reading (editing) for short bursts as a break from their students' papers.
Glad fi'you, QK, so yuh get the present on Christmas Day. Still isn't late... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
If you ever change yuh mind - and if and when you have some time to do it - feel free to let me know; the editing job is ongoing, and rather than burn out any single one or three editors, it's always good to have several more. Rotate 'em.
I still need to find an editor-type... no special qualifications other than s/he MUST have good nuff command of American English and British English to be able to catch spelling errors and grammatical mistakes and correct them, able to make suggestions for re-writeing when a particular phrase or snetence is awkward, and able to state whether or not a plotline and writing/storytelling style is easy to follow or too difficult (and if the latter, what to do about correcting/changing it).
An understanding of the basic differences between British and American culture & language usage is a BIG PLUS. (but not absolutely necessary - I do have a couple of "Brit-betas" who do nothing but edit for mistakes in British culture and language usage)
Like I said, anybody with a good basic education can do it.
*sigh*
My usual fave editor is to busy these days, and so are the few others I tend to work with best. ALl of those peeps are professors, and it's not a good time of year for them to do extra grading, so to speak. Although ... they do like to do the beta-reading (editing) for short bursts as a break from their students' papers.