Re: I'm saying bye to Jamaica
Originally posted by Ms Jacko :
Ochigal I have a similar story where we went to Chelesa jerk chicken in new kingston and the woman that was preparing her food was putting pepper on both orders and I said no I don't want pepper on mine she told me that she did not take an order from me. I had to enlighten her in a likkle patois that I don't want any pepper on jerk chicken. However I am able to laugh about those things
I guess the patois (patwa) had its effect, though it must have been politely said... Sometimes, Jamaicans will only respond when forceful language in patwa is used in a strong Jamaican dialect. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
------------------
Modesty is not only an ornament, but also a guard to virtue : Joseph Addison
Originally posted by Ms Jacko :
Ochigal I have a similar story where we went to Chelesa jerk chicken in new kingston and the woman that was preparing her food was putting pepper on both orders and I said no I don't want pepper on mine she told me that she did not take an order from me. I had to enlighten her in a likkle patois that I don't want any pepper on jerk chicken. However I am able to laugh about those things
I guess the patois (patwa) had its effect, though it must have been politely said... Sometimes, Jamaicans will only respond when forceful language in patwa is used in a strong Jamaican dialect. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
------------------
Modesty is not only an ornament, but also a guard to virtue : Joseph Addison