I was looking to chat in patwa so that i can learn to speak it (and understand it)... I got one reply that suggested that i might never learn it, even if I move to JA for a long time. Another said it was possible...with a lot of work. Is it crazy to think that I can learn to speak it? I think its the most beautiful language i've ever heard.... and worth learning
Can an american learn to speak patwa?
Re: Can an american learn to speak patwa?
Howdy Natty. Welcome to Jamaicans.com
Who told you that you can't learn patois? Dem a eediaT (Translation, "They are idiots")
Anybody who pay attention can learn patois.
Nuff people bout di place yah weh come from Merca know how fi chat patois (Translation: "A lot of people around here - on the boards - who are originally from America, have learned how to speak patois)
Just stick around here and read and try to understand - often times, the words look very similar to their meanings so that should help.
And if you see something u r not sure of - just ask. But remember you have to learn to crawl before u can run [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
But chuss mi, it nuh impossible fi yu learn [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Patwa is not something learned. It is grown in your blood. First natty, you got to get a transfusion.
The emphasis on certain sounds can come only with common Jamaican emotions.
Patwa, is not just an expression, it is a feeling.
ehhh Natty, welcome me luv, welcome,
learning to talk patwa is something u will learn over a time, and esp if u hang around here, cha, dont worry, u will be jabbing patwa in no time, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
a gween move dis to GENERAL so u get more responses!!!
Originally posted by Juss plain ole B_P:
[qb] Mek mi tell yuh sintin. Patwa is impossible fi peeple bawn a farin. Tek mi fi instance. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70361-embarassed.gif[/img] [/qb]
Originally posted by Q3210:
[qb] Patwa is not something learned. It is grown in your blood. First natty, you got to get a transfusion.
The emphasis on certain sounds can come only with common Jamaican emotions.
Patwa, is not just an expression, it is a feeling. [/qb]
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Mi still a look fi di farrinahs aawn yah whey speak patois... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
mi caynt stan fi hear dem seh, "yeah mon, one love..." ahn all daht rubbish. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
Chuss mi Nattylub, jus try fi undastan it, ahn di rest will come. Nuh try too hard fi talk eei.
evalastin kissteet bout..."we be jammin mon" Ah wah di hell daht...