I jus learned that a very important medication that I am taking is Rat poison :verymad: :verymad:
Rat Poison.....by Prescription
Re: Rat Poison.....by Prescription
Originally posted by Q.K:
[qb] So dis mean yuh nuh Rat! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
How yuh feelin Sweets? [/qb]
it is prescription rat poison and I am suppose to take it fo rthe next 6 to 9 months
I am feeling much better...thanks
I can see why it would freak you out, which is why your dr didn't tell you what it is in the first place.
I have a client that is taking some kind of pharmacutical version of belladonna, which alarmed me at first.
As with all things, it's a question of amounts. No worries.
But if you find yourself lickin your whiskers and cravin cheese......
Digitalis and Digitonin , common heart medicines, are also from a plant, foxglove, which is considered toxic, in general. This is the basis for modern medicine, and in reality, comes from the old herbalists and root doctors back for ages. There is a man (there are many)who has been featured on PBS or something that travels the world now looking for plants that will cure cancer and AIDS etc......
Read more here:
History
The early 1920s saw the outbreak of a previously unrecognized disease of cattle in the northern United States and Canada. Cattle would die of uncontrollable bleeding from very minor injuries, or sometimes drop dead of internal hemorrhage with no external signs of injury. In 1922, Frank Schofield, a Canadian veterinarian, determined that the cattle were ingesting a toxin from moldy silage made from sweet clover that functioned as a potent anticoagulant.
The identity of the anticoagulant substance in moldy sweet clover remained a mystery until 1940 when Karl Link and Harold Campbell, chemists working at the University of Wisconsin, determined that it was the coumarin derivative 4-hydroxycoumarin. Over the next few years, numerous similar chemicals were found to have the same anticoagulant properties. The first of these to be widely commericialized was dicoumarol, patented in 1941. Link continued working on developing more potent coumarin-based anticoagulants for use as rodent poisons, resulting in warfarin in 1948. (The name warfarin stems from the acronym WARF, for Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation + the ending -arin indicating its link with coumarin. The attribution, sometimes quoted as fact even by doctors, to Wisconsin Anti-Rat Federation is folklore.)
After an incident in 1951, where a naval enlisted man unsuccessfully attempted suicide with warfarin and recovered fully, studies began in the use of warfarin as a therapeutic anticoagulant. It was found to be generally superior to dicoumarol, and in 1954 was approved for medical use in humans.
The use as rat poison is declining as many rat populations have developed resistance to warfarin.
web page
In short, please don't sweat it Sweets.....animals and humans are not the same, do not react the same, and it is basically a by-product of sweet clover hay....
((((Sweets)))))
Cumedin is normally prescribed for people proned to blood clots. Hopefully your doc shared all the warnings with you
1. No greens or callaloo
2. No unnecessary shaving or any activity that could cause bleeding.
3. Stay away from mouse traps - that cheese is just a trick. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]