Originally posted by Renee:
[qb]Rory, I want to interview you for an article on Ja.com. Are you game? [/qb]
1. Tell me about yourself. Your Jamaican background, what you do for a living, how your family came to America, etc.
i was born on April 29th, 1973 in the parish of St. Catherine. My early years were spent between Old Harbour and Spanish Town where i attended Spanish Town Primary before taking the Common Entrance Exams and then going on to Wolmer’s Boys' High School in 1983. About two years into my stay at Wolmer’s' my mother (Emmet Bryan-Harrison) who had recently married, moved to the New York and i went to live in the Red Hills Road area of St. Andrew. Her husband Paul Harrison also had a son before their marriage who was about six months older than i. They of course "filed' for us and about two years later, mom came to Jamaica, got us both and we went to live in Queens, NY.
Having left Wolmer’s in the 4th form, i finished high school in the U.S. before attending Baruch College, where i majored in Accounting and earned a Bachelor of Business Administration degree. After graduating, i worked for a computer company (Donovan Data Systems) in the advertising industry. i left there after about 9 months and in 1998 went to work for a non-profit organization called the Urban Homesteading Assistance Board, where i remained until December of 2004. Over the years i also ran a small bookkeeping and tax return business out of my home and dabbled in several other small business ventures.
2. How did you first hear of Ja.com?
Somewhere on the Internet. One of my first recollections is of Islandmix (another message board) member "Kephren' posting some information about Haiti which was gleaned from this site.
3. You say you lurked a while before posting. What prevented you from posting before and what made you finally decide to post?
i never said i lurked a while before posting. When i first joined the site in October of 2004, i had already decided to move back home to Jamaica and thought the site might be a good place to make some useful contacts. i (username Rivahman) posted a couple times in the main forum but posted a few more times in the “Tek Mi Back a Yard...” forum.
i have been extremely busy over the years and since i am a member of a few other message boards, i never really had the time to be very present on this site. In the process of moving back home, my scheduled has changed a bit and i've been able to find some free time here and there to spend wid mih people.
4. You are very open about your personal information. Don't you have concerns about stalkers, people who will harm you for your point of view, people who can juxtapose your pix into nude shots, people who can pretend to be you on other message boards and use your name and likeness in a negative way, etc.?
i am not concerned about those things and i would not post truly sensitive information.
5. Why are you so adamant that others expose themselves on the internet as well?
i am not adamant that others expose themselves. While i think it would be wonderful if we were all more open, i can't force others to do so. What i do is ask some questions that are out of the norm on message boards such as this. Some may say that i ask questions in a forceful manner but i think the questions themselves are what make some people uncomfortable.
6. You have run afowl of the board rules which is understandable at first because most people breaze through the rules when they sign on. But do you respect the fact that when you enter someone else's house, you have to abide by their rules? (And if you don't like the rules, you don't have to stay?)
i can respect that ideal except it doesn't quite fit the reality of a public message board. Most of the time i abide by message board rules but i am also crystal clear that without the members at large, a message board is nothing.
7. What is it that you hope to bring to Jamaicans.com?
Excitement, honesty and information.
8. What do you hope to gain from Jamaicans.com?
Perspective, a few souls and information.
9. Since you are so forthright with personal info - what religion if any do you worship under? What political viewpoint do you most closely align with? How did your relationship with your "Queen" come about? How does she feel about the ease with which you photograph in intimate shots with other women? Do you have any children? What is your biggest failure and your greatest success?
i do not currently worship under any religion but i consider myself an increasingly spiritual being who recognizes a universal connection among all people, places and things.
Please clarify the political viewpoint question.
Kameela and i have know each other for millennia. However, for the purposes of this interview, let's just say that we've been together since late August, 2004. From our conversations, it's apparent that our paths had been crossing in and around Brooklyn & New York for years. In more recent times, Kameela had been working with a promotion team (Niya, Roger & Terry) that produces a monthly retro-reggae party while i was working with a different collective to produce Calypsoca events. i remember noticing her for the first time in 2003 but i was either seeing someone else, taking a break from relationships or was simply afraid of how fine she was and so convinced myself that she was already spoken for. Nevertheless, as a result of our involvement in these two parties, we began exchanging words in mid 2004 and the attraction grew. We were both seeing other people at the time and would have probably kept avoided each other had it not been for one of her friends who simply had to let it slip that Kameela liked me. That little piece of truth-telling opened a door that refused to be closed. Thanks Ms. B! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
i have not lied to Kameela about anything and she is fairly knowledgeable about Carnival and the kind of events with which i'm involved. Most importantly, since we have great communication between us, the tension that could otherwise arise and fester, does not.
We have no children as yet.
i don't know what i'd consider my biggest failure to date since i haven't given up on any of my major ambitions.
My greatest successes to date: 1) helping my mom buy a house in 1998 and 2) traveling, including moving back to Jamaica.
10. Why so many pix of yourself in your posts? Tell the truth, are you vain?
Shock value, mostly. Plus, i think Afrikan people have much to offer this world but we can't maximize our offerings if we keep hiding and from what i've seen, far too many valuable people are functioning as invisible entities on these boards.
Yes, i am a bit vain and i love myself without apology. I never want the vanity to become unhealthy though so i remain open to being checked whenever i cross the line.
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]