What if the USA was to target every man woman and child that completed their sentences in prison then promptly re-arrest them as soon as they left prison, worse what if they were black and the offence was of a very minor nature?
I could well imagine the outcry.
This is what some posters here are asking the Jamaican Government to do to lock up or detain deportees for no other reason that they are deported back to Jamaica back to Jamaica. no body nay seh fe lack dem up...all we a seh is fe send dem back and no leff dem ya..
The same posters who are saying this is a USA problem and that the offenders should not be deported are the ones saying that the Jamaican Government should promptly arrest them just as soon as they touch the Jamaican soil.
Why not supply some proof that the deportees are the cause of the violence in Jamaica?
Maybe then a case could be made for the summary elimination of anyone who is deported to Jamaica
total eleimation from the US yes. mek dem galang a yard, and feel the wrath of the people.
Yes I agree that some studies should be done, to see if their existence in the country has increased the crime...
but me can just see the fat cat now...sitting pon de verandah a smoke and a sey bout how him a come back sometime next year, (with the money him mek from killing innocent people pickeny Sickening..
Originally posted by 777:
[qb]Yes, they are foreign made as u say, but jamaica will not deny their own, and personally, I dont think that the us has to play God to everyones children..
especially if them dont *abide by the rules* as such is the case u refer to with the drug dealing.. [/qb]
Where is the proof that foreign makes criminals as against Jamaica?
What are you saying Jamaicans born in Jamaica and as soon as they land in the USA....braps them tun criminal?
There is no empirical proof that deportees are responsible for the high crime rates
Maybe no proof because no studies were done..
Come on Tuffy.. [/qb]
<a href="http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/html/20040927t230000-0500_66758_obs_study_shatters_deportee__myth_.asp" target="_blank">Study shatters deportee 'myth'
US data show criminal behaviour not learnt in America
VERNON DAVIDSON, Senior associate editor
Tuesday, September 28, 2004</a>
<a href="http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/html/20041004t220000-0500_67112_obs_readers_misled_by_deportee_study_st ory_.asp" target="_blank">Readers misled by deportee study story
Where is the proof that foreign makes criminals as against Jamaica?
U need to ask Champs that one..
that was her claim..
My claim is that if them do the crime...send dem behind home! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
and plus please note that *studies, can be tainted* ... and given as pure facts..
If u ask the jamaican people if their level of comfort/feeling of safety has changed in terms of crime since the massive deportation started , u would possibly be surprised to hear it, first hand, the outcry that it has...
Everybody seems to be trying to pass the buck in these *studies*...and saying
"A noh we" [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] created these criminals...it noh have no owner! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
So now, I am leff to surmise that
I guess them - de deportees, created themselves eh??
Yes, they are foreign made as u say, but jamaica will not deny their own, and personally, I dont think that the us has to play God to everyones children..
especially if them dont *abide by the rules* as such is the case u refer to with the drug dealing..
let me translate deh Tuffy, cuz u may not fully understand the context under which I wrote this..
I am saying, based on a comment that was made -that US shouldnt be made to feel that it has to step in and handle *every crisis*..(rehab for deportees)
If they dont abide by the rules(stay outta trouble, and noh sell no drugs or import it or grow it, and noh kill no body pickney)then, heck their *privileges* (staying in this country) should indeed be revoked..
This goes for anybody that does a crime, not just jamaicans..
[qb] and plus please note that *studies, can be tainted* ... and given as pure facts..[/qb]
First you are asking for studies then when the studies are presented you are claiming that it is/could be tainted?
Tainted how?
Have you read the study?
[qb]If u ask the jamaican people if their level of comfort/feeling of safety has changed in terms of crime since the massive deportation started , u would possibly be surprised to hear it, first hand, the outcry that it has... [/qb]
I would not be surprised if Jamaicans say crucify them.
That is what most of us are saying on this board, the problem is if this was YT or the anyone from the USA saying that about Blacks or Jamaicans we would be up in arms.
FYI a vox pop was done on a radio station among Jamaicans living in Jamaica, quite recently and most Jamaicans were sympathetic to the deportees, perhaps because most Jamaicans know that the so-called deportee can be any Jamaican sent back from a foreign country and this does not mean they arrive with a gun and start shooting up the place.
[qb]Everybody seems to be trying to pass the buck in these *studies*...and saying
"A noh we" [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] created these criminals...it noh have no owner! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
So now, I am leff to surmise that
I guess them - de deportees, created themselves eh?? [/qb]
The study is not to prove or disprove the claim the one country or the other created the criminals who are then deported the study is merely to prove or disprove the rumor that the deportees to Jamaica from the USA is responsible for the upsurge in crime.
as my grannie would say:
"finga stink, but u cant cut ie off"
the dips are a part of us - good, bad or ugly
a helping hand, love not hate [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]ray:
lawd, u dedicated sah..
Why u a primps and pramps pon every word? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
Have you read the study?
the one u listed, I took the courtesy to read...
FYI a vox pop was done on a radio station among Jamaicans living in Jamaica, quite recently and most Jamaicans were sympathetic to the deportees, perhaps because most Jamaicans know that the so-called deportee can be any Jamaican sent back from a foreign country and this does not mean they arrive with a gun and start shooting up the place.
yes, they are sympathic because they, the deportees are *one of us*...
Who wouldnt be sympathic to this..
I was sympathic when I heard about the Maryland shooter who was jamaican, but it still doesnt dim the fact that if they do the crime, they should do the time..
Send dem home me seh!!
this does not mean they arrive with a gun and start shooting up the place.
u hear me seh dat.... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
but we all know, amongst ourselves, that some of them come here and form de fool.. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
The study is not to prove or disprove the claim the one country or the other created the criminals who are then deported the study is merely to prove or disprove the rumor that the deportees to Jamaica from the USA is responsible for the upsurge in crime.
Personally, from what I read, the study touches on both of those issues..
What else u got Tuffy... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] :love:
[qb]yes, they are sympathic because they, the deportees are *one of us*...
Who wouldnt be sympathic to this..
I was sympathic when I heard about the Maryland shooter who was jamaican, but it still doesnt dim the fact that if they do the crime, they should do the time..
Send dem home me seh!! [/qb]
Okay so you don't mind that they are sent home then.
Do you think that they are the cause of the high crime rate?
Personally, from what I read, the study touches on both of those issues..[/qb]
Well no doubt that one might read that into the study, but it was primarily to demonstrate that from the figures available it could not be said that the deportees from the USA figured significantly in the high crime rate.
[qb]What else u got Tuffy... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] :love: [/qb]
Nothng unless you desire to have something else cleared up.
jamaica should not accept any hard core deportees that have been out of the country for 10 yrs or more, they should make a law that says they lost their citizenship and the derpoting countries have to keep the deportee!!!!!!! weather they like it or not
soh dem can tan ya and continue with dem disorderly self..
Eh..eh..
Send dem behind home!
(dats punishment enough! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] ) [/qb]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.