I can't believe I am actually typing the words. It keeps sneaking up on me... I start talking to someone about him and I'm ok, then I realize he's gone and I lose it again.
I first want to thank you all for your many prayers and kind words. You don't know how many times I've thought of you all over the past 2 days, knowing you were pulling for my dad.
((((((((((mi frens dem))))))))))))
Yesterday my sister called to tell me that they were moving him to B.U. Medical Center because he needed surgery and that without it, he had only a 10 percent chance of survival.
I later found out that his chances WITH the surgery were only 50/50 and that his kidneys weren't functioning properly.
He was in surgery for 8 hours to repair an Aortic Dissection, which is the same thing that killed actor John Ritter.
Around 4:30am the doctor came out and told us that IF he survived, he would be a very sick man.
We knew then that he would not live another day. He has always made it very clear that he did not want to be a sick old man.
He passed at 6:11 this morning... 6/11. I know he is trying to tell me something with that
My father never let life pass him by. He has had friends from Senators to gang bangers to newscasters to... well, He was well liked by many, many people from all walks of life.
He lived a life that was far from ordinary.
He spent time in state prison where he saved a guard from certain death at the hands of an inmate on a rampage with a gun.
He risked his life to pull a woman and her infant from an overturned burning car on the highway.
He has a medal from The Carnegie Hero Foundation for climbing a crumbling brick smokestack to save the life of a coworker who was knocked unconcious and hanging by his tool belt.
Until the end he flirted with every nurse who came near him... young, old, fat or skinny... and you wonder where *I* get it?
From the time I was a chubby 10 year old, he called me his pork chop... even last weekend when I arrived at a family gathering he said "here comes my pork chop". I am the only one of his 7 children who had a pet name.
He was 77.
He told my younger brother that this was his time and that he was done.
He did not fear death.
Thank you all again for being who you are. mi love yuh bad enoh...
I first want to thank you all for your many prayers and kind words. You don't know how many times I've thought of you all over the past 2 days, knowing you were pulling for my dad.
((((((((((mi frens dem))))))))))))
Yesterday my sister called to tell me that they were moving him to B.U. Medical Center because he needed surgery and that without it, he had only a 10 percent chance of survival.
I later found out that his chances WITH the surgery were only 50/50 and that his kidneys weren't functioning properly.
He was in surgery for 8 hours to repair an Aortic Dissection, which is the same thing that killed actor John Ritter.
Around 4:30am the doctor came out and told us that IF he survived, he would be a very sick man.
We knew then that he would not live another day. He has always made it very clear that he did not want to be a sick old man.
He passed at 6:11 this morning... 6/11. I know he is trying to tell me something with that
My father never let life pass him by. He has had friends from Senators to gang bangers to newscasters to... well, He was well liked by many, many people from all walks of life.
He lived a life that was far from ordinary.
He spent time in state prison where he saved a guard from certain death at the hands of an inmate on a rampage with a gun.
He risked his life to pull a woman and her infant from an overturned burning car on the highway.
He has a medal from The Carnegie Hero Foundation for climbing a crumbling brick smokestack to save the life of a coworker who was knocked unconcious and hanging by his tool belt.
Until the end he flirted with every nurse who came near him... young, old, fat or skinny... and you wonder where *I* get it?
From the time I was a chubby 10 year old, he called me his pork chop... even last weekend when I arrived at a family gathering he said "here comes my pork chop". I am the only one of his 7 children who had a pet name.
He was 77.
He told my younger brother that this was his time and that he was done.
He did not fear death.
Thank you all again for being who you are. mi love yuh bad enoh...