ok mek mi leave di classroom...look like class out. mi deh pon Spring Break den [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img] mi wait fi Silent River sey class resume [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
sunting fi translate soh mi cyan practice...yuh a gwine help? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img] poas di sunting den [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Fancy</div><div class="ubbcode-body">sunting fi translate soh mi cyan practice...yuh a gwine help? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img] poas di sunting den [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img] </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Fancy</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Speng say mi cyan say <s>sunting</s> sinting or sittin or someting) [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/nahtalktoyuh.gif[/img] </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: HemGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Fancy</div><div class="ubbcode-body">ok soh mi need anodda story fi translate sayka dis help mi.
But mi cyaan figure di orda a di words dem [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img] seem like nuh such ting as "past tense" like "i went" or "i was" or "i did" or "i had" [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img] it like yuh haffi noh how to orda di words fi mek it mek sense or mek it past tense. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/helpsmilie.gif[/img] </div></div>
most past tense is communicated by context. "mi go a road this morning" (i went out this morning). the context tells you the time when things happened. or sometimes, in the larger conversation, you may get the sense that it happened in the past.
in a lot of cases, though, the auxiliary word "wain" can communicate past tense. "mi wain go a road" (i went out). some people say "bain" instead of "wain", depending on which part of Jamaica they come from.
Note that in pronunciation, the final "n" in "bain or "wain" is not really pronounced, is more a nasal sound.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">oh an then mi nuh noh di correct use of these:
deh
dehya
dey
dideh
yah
yahso
"ya, yah" = here
"deh"or "dey" = there
"deh" also = "is" or "am" or "are" (forms ofthe verb "to be")
"weh you deh go?" (where are you going?)
"dehya" = am here, are here, is here. "how are you?" "oh, mi dehya, nuttn much a gwaan."
"dideh" or "dehdeh" = is there/was there. "im dideh a igle when im suppose to a clean out di fowl coob)."
is a lickle tricky but hope it clear. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
ok mi still need help wit dis [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crazy.gif[/img]
deh means here and its a verb [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img]
so how would you say:
I am
She is
we are
using deh....
Lawd mi head huut me [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
i'm never gonna get this figured out [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crybaby.gif[/img]
then u throw in nain and bain and i am totally lost [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/helpsmilie.gif[/img]
ok mi still need help wit dis [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crazy.gif[/img]
deh means here and its a verb [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img]
so how would you say:
I am
She is
we are
using deh....
Lawd mi head huut me [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
i'm never gonna get this figured out [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crybaby.gif[/img]
then u throw in nain and bain and i am totally lost [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/helpsmilie.gif[/img] </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.