<span style="font-family: 'Century Gothic'"> <span style="color: #330033"> Do you live in The Bahamas? Give me the low-down, please. What is it like to be there? I have experienced some vibes while visiting as an American born in Jamaica. I mean, on entering immigration at Nassau airport, agent looked at my US passport where it had country of birth as Jamaica and had the nerve to tell me, "You don't look Jamaican." Hear me, "Sorry to disappoint you. What exactly were you expecting?" and give him a big <span style="font-style: italic">kiss mi granny </span> look. Outta awda ignat bwoy. That was my only bad experience. After that, it didn't matter to anyone as long as I flashed my American Express card. </span> </span>
Jamaicans in The Bahamas
Re: Jamaicans in The Bahamas
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gungo Peas</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-family: 'Century Gothic'"> <span style="color: #330033"> Do you live in The Bahamas? Give me the low-down, please. What is it like to be there? I have experienced some vibes while visiting as an American born in Jamaica. I mean, on entering immigration at Nassau airport, agent looked at my US passport where it had country of birth as Jamaica and had the nerve to tell me, "You don't look Jamaican." Hear me, "Sorry to disappoint you. What exactly were you expecting?" and give him a big <span style="font-style: italic">kiss mi granny </span> look. Outta awda ignat bwoy. That was my only bad experience. After that, it didn't matter to anyone as long as I flashed my American Express card. </span> </span> </div></div> Me get that hust abou every day every where in the us,so i just take it in stride. I din't know that we are all suoooised to be rubber stamp like how americans bahamians etc are rubber stamps of each other. We are just a diffefent species.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gungo Peas</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-family: 'Century Gothic'"> <span style="color: #330033"> Do you live in The Bahamas? Give me the low-down, please. What is it like to be there? I have experienced some vibes while visiting as an American born in Jamaica. I mean, on entering immigration at Nassau airport, agent looked at my US passport where it had country of birth as Jamaica and had the nerve to tell me, "You don't look Jamaican." Hear me, "Sorry to disappoint you. What exactly were you expecting?" and give him a big <span style="font-style: italic">kiss mi granny </span> look. Outta awda ignat bwoy. That was my only bad experience. After that, it didn't matter to anyone as long as I flashed my American Express card. </span> </span> </div></div> Me get that hust abou every day every where in the us,so i just take it in stride. I din't know that we are all suoooised to be rubber stamp like how americans bahamians etc are rubber stamps of each other. We are just a diffefent species. </div></div>
That's a very interesting comment doc...not sure what to say about it....rubber stamps?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ja. Jewel</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gungo Peas</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-family: 'Century Gothic'"> <span style="color: #330033"> Do you live in The Bahamas? Give me the low-down, please. What is it like to be there? I have experienced some vibes while visiting as an American born in Jamaica. I mean, on entering immigration at Nassau airport, agent looked at my US passport where it had country of birth as Jamaica and had the nerve to tell me, "You don't look Jamaican." Hear me, "Sorry to disappoint you. What exactly were you expecting?" and give him a big <span style="font-style: italic">kiss mi granny </span> look. Outta awda ignat bwoy. That was my only bad experience. After that, it didn't matter to anyone as long as I flashed my American Express card. </span> </span> </div></div> Me get that just about every day every where in the us,so i just take it in stride. I din't know that we are all supposed to be rubber stamp like how Americans bahamians etc are rubber stamps of each other. We are just a diffefent species. </div></div>
That's a very interesting comment doc...not sure what to say about it....rubber stamps?</div></div> well that is theimpressioni get from thesepeople. They behave like any country has a rubber stamp that they use to produce the itizens. Why is it they don'tthink that citizens from their country shouild all look alike, but thy expect all Jamaicans to look alike"!!
Well it happens to me today at the car dealer too. This time it was what nationality are you?/ Me.....jamaican. Surprise.. you don't sound liek or look like a Jamaican. the usual.
i just smile.
Interesting how people take offense to these things. Being islands, is it so hard to see that so many are related and thus share certain facial features?
De people just surprise when dem see somebody that look different . Meaning looking other than the unique features which is their error.
That is all, no big thing. Now the next Chinese me say, I am going to tell him he don't look Japanese
GP asked:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Do you live in The Bahamas? Give me the low-down, please. What is it like to be there? I have experienced some vibes while visiting as an American born in Jamaica. I mean, on entering immigration at Nassau airport, agent looked at my US passport where it had country of birth as Jamaica and had the nerve to tell me, "You don't look Jamaican." Hear me, "Sorry to disappoint you. What exactly were you expecting?" and give him a big kiss mi granny look. Outta awda ignat bwoy. That was my only bad experience. After that, it didn't matter to anyone as long as I flashed my American Express card.
Generally speaking, the Bahamians
are among some the nicest people on earth
and yes,
they have their prejudices
like all other nations
...but...
if your pleasantness meets with theirs
and you both agree,
they will move downtown and parade for you...
<span style="font-style: italic">pretty much like how Jamaicans are...</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">thy expect all Jamaicans to look alike"!!
Well it happens to me today at the car dealer too. This time it was what nationality are you?/ Me.....jamaican. Surprise.. you don't sound liek or look like a Jamaican. the usual.
i just smile. </div></div>
Well, Dr. Dudd, look at it this way. You helped someone throw his pre-conceived ideas overboard
That goes for Gungo Peas too.
Reminds me of the time when my son (His dad is African, from Mali) was about 2 and some stranger woman asked me "Did you adopt him?"
I just breezily replied:
"No, I made him myself. Well, with a little help from my man, but he had the fun part..."
to you lady.....