Little Boy Rescued
Re: Little Boy Rescued
Another face of hope. "Hope springs eternal...."
He, among others managed to come out smiling and upbeat after such an ordeal, too "cruel" for words...their perseverance and strength and resilience give me new hope and force me even more to make a reassessment of what we call "life.."
what is man?
Just saw where a 70 plus year old woman was also pulled out alive; upbeat and thankful...defying the old theories that one cannot live without water for more than <span style="font-weight: bold">3 days</span>. among other things...this earthquake is proving and disproving many 'theories", many.
I also heard today that it is now a "search and recover" mission, but they are calling curtains too soon, much too soon, after these 2 proved them wrong again.
It has got to be an unbelievably stressful thing to do, crawling through collapsed buildings looking for people who are alive, all the while there is the threat of more quakes.
They showed a video of a Haitian husband who searched 6 days for his wife in the rubble. He says at one point, "She COULD be alive!" ... and they found her. When they brought her out she was singing "Don't be afraid of Death."
"International crews trying to find and save people buried in rubble have made about 70 rescues since the magnitude-7 quake shook Haiti Jan. 12.
One rescue captured on video was that of a woman who had been trapped in a collapsed building in Port-au-Prince for six days.
Working after dark with lights and remote cameras, firefighters used power saws to cut through metal and concrete to get to the woman. She emerged on a stretcher borne by her rescuers singing “Don’t be afraid of death.”
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Working after dark with lights and remote cameras,
http://www.wavenewspapers.com/news/82274097.html</div></div>
9U.S. rescue worker Sam Grey, of the Fairfax County Urban Search and Rescue, holds a monitor showing a woman, Jean Luis Sainte Heleine, 28, alive and conscious, buried under the collapsed University of Port-au-Prince, Saturday, Jan. 16, 2010. (AP Photo/Gregory Bull) #
Amazing image... it makes my heart pound.
I believe the latest to be rescued was a 22 year old male yesterday (10 days after the quake), however, longest worlwide was about 14 days.
search and rescue teams on the ground can only focus on buildings where they hear sounds, so if you drap asleep while them a pass by (or while regular citizens passing by), dog nyam yuh supper
the Haitian govt announced that they are calling off further resuce operation.
That picture is worth a thousand words.
Imagine the stages you'd go though being trapped in a dark concrete hole for days. First there would be hope but after a few days and nodoby coming to rescue, what would be your thoughts.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magix</div><div class="ubbcode-body">That picture is worth a thousand words.
Imagine the stages you'd go though being trapped in a dark concrete hole for days. First there would be hope but after a few days and nodoby coming to rescue, what would be your thoughts. </div></div>
Thats what I've been saying all along..this have got to have some type of emotional damage. 10 minutes is a long time. But days?...What did they do all that time. Cry, try to push things off them, what about injuries, man ohh man..this is not right by a long shot.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magix</div><div class="ubbcode-body">That picture is worth a thousand words.
Imagine the stages you'd go though being trapped in a dark concrete hole for days. First there would be hope but after a few days and nodoby coming to rescue, what would be your thoughts. </div></div>
You'd be surprised to know how much strength and energy you can pull out when you feel trapped. Humans tend to use less than 20% of them brain and less of them energy in regular form.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jamaica_dreamin</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Wow! I guess miracles do happen.
He looks pretty good too (smiling, arms out stretched) </div></div>
Wa you mean by miracle? Mind over matters, fear is the real killer
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sukuna</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jamaica_dreamin</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Wow! I guess miracles do happen.
He looks pretty good too (smiling, arms out stretched) </div></div>
Wa you mean by miracle? Mind over matters, fear is the real killer </div></div>
Exactly.
The very young and the very old nuh have much fi fear so a dem will survive best under dese typa circumstances.
Merican peeple (whe bawn widd gole spoon inna dem mout) crack me up.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sukuna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Wa you mean by miracle? Mind over matters, fear is the real killer </div></div>
That's why the old lady that survived 6 days was singing "Don't be afraid of death". If she was afraind she woulda long dead.