Jcan Beef & Dairy Breeds are Endangered
Re: Jcan Beef & Dairy Breeds are Endangered
We could not comete with subsidies.. I loved Red Poles.... I worked with them..My contention however after leakies developments no one carried on the scientific development... one man does not make a research and development department
The Red Poll isn't as pretty as the Black Poll (to me anyway). It puts me in mind of an ox.
I hear you on the subsidies and what not. Plus successive Jcan governments seem to have no interest in promoting (or protecting) Jcan interests so here we are my dear.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-size: 11pt"><span style="font-weight: bold">...the Jamaica Hope...was the first cattle breed developed in the Western Hemisphere.</span> </span></div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The Red Poll isn't as pretty as the Black Poll (to me anyway). It puts me in mind of an ox.
I hear you on the subsidies and what not. Plus successive Jcan governments seem to have no interest in promoting (or protecting) Jcan interests so here we are my dear. </div></div>
Red pole preety cyan done!!!!! Mi love dem...Poor milkers though... We had a earlier iteration... almost silver almost , taller, same shape, pole head that gave amazing milk... She was crossed with a red pole bull..she gave large calves and sufficent milk to raise a calf and give a 2 gallons of milk every morning !!!! Her calves always came out red with white noses and white bobby sox!!!
The Jamaican Brahmin fascety.. wi had a couple....Dem did wile an shart tempaed!!!
If I ever made my fortune I would breed cows... Still a cattle farmer at heart!
I recall that we transfered the technology to Cuba in the 70's.. Espeicially the Jamaican Hope... But there has been no further development.. We have been into weath distibution not creation for far too long
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The Jamaican Brahmin fascety.. wi had a couple....Dem did wile an shart tempaed!!! </div></div>I used to laugh after my mother when she said she was afraid of cows. LOL I love farm animals: chicken, goat, donkey, etc. but cows are my favorite.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The Jamaican Brahmin fascety.. wi had a couple....Dem did wile an shart tempaed!!! </div></div>I used to laugh after my mother when she said she was afraid of cows. LOL I love farm animals: chicken, goat, donkey, etc. but cows are my favorite. </div></div>
Black Star, don't laugh!! I am so scared of cows.....I was chased by one in New Brunswick on my relatives farmI was about nine or so. I scampered up a tree and screamed while sitting on a frail branch, family members rescued me. That cow never forgot me.... cause every summer after that when I went during the holidays that cow still gave me a look dat said.....likkle gyal if a ketch yu dawg nyameth yu supper.
I was also told that prolly cause the cow recognize me as a city slickerup to this day they do not know I was sitting on a pasture fence throwing sood chip at the cow
I am also scared of live chickens and use to avoid them on their farm, the chickens would see me and make a rush for me so enraged....a wonder whymebbe because I used to try and pick up the little baby chickens to play with them
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The Jamaican Brahmin fascety.. wi had a couple....Dem did wile an shart tempaed!!! </div></div>I used to laugh after my mother when she said she was afraid of cows. LOL I love farm animals: chicken, goat, donkey, etc. but cows are my favorite. </div></div>
I have been charged by cows so many times...solution charge them...shouting and swinging... First time I was 5.. It was dark out side and the cows were lose in the front yard...My father had been a way for the day I heard his voice... after ignoring my mother warning i ran out to see him crossing the yard pen in the dark... two of the Jamaican Bramin took after me.. I turned and chased them.. As my father had told me to.. they turned away.. I started to continue they came after me.. I chased them.. this repeated it self three times till I crossed.. I then ran to find the old man....