Life in The Bahamas: a point of view
Re: Life in The Bahamas: a point of view
Thanks for posting this Shandra, but mi find this man annoying as all heck [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
What u tink bout bout some a di things him saying in the article?
We saw hundreds of black Bahamians dressed up in colorful costumes dancing to the heavy beat of "Goombay" and "Reggae" music.
Our Haitian gardener did a marvelous job (almost all the gardeners and maids on the island are illegal immigrants who are generally known to be better workers than the Bahamians
Black Bahamians speak English, but the accent is so strong that sometimes it's difficult to understand.
the Bahamian laborer has a reputation of slothfulness. Waiters are slow and unresponsive.
Fortunately, the Bahamas is still fairly open as far as illegal aliens are concerned. Immigration occasionally engages in a crackdown, but it's never very effective. Most of the gardeners and construction workers are Haitian, illegally resident. Maids come from all over the Caribbean. Because of the competition , Bahamian maids can hold their own
Crime is a constant problem in Nassau, especially with the high level of drug use by many Bahamians
I think he has a website.
Opinions come and opinions go. You can pretty much say the same things about any other country; just change the names.
I was more taken up his view of taking two years off his regular schedule. As he said, " I'm convinced that there is a deep clandestine desire inside everyone to break out of the day-to-day routine of modern society, the nine to five job, the same old television shows and football games, the same friends, relatives and acquaintances."
The Bahamians would not even 'check' for the other comments; small tings. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Thanks for posting this Shandra, but mi find this man annoying as all heck [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
What u tink bout bout some a di things him saying in the article?
We saw hundreds of black Bahamians dressed up in colorful costumes dancing to the heavy beat of "Goombay" and "Reggae" music.
that would be junkanoo, if they're in costumes (& they come in all shades - beige to black)
Our Haitian gardener did a marvelous job (almost all the gardeners and maids on the island are illegal immigrants who are generally known to be better workers than the Bahamians
haitians aren't superior workers, on the contrary, they have to be micro-managed, e.g. when pruning, they will cut the blooms off your flowering shrubs
Black Bahamians speak English, but the accent is so strong that sometimes it's difficult to understand.
Bahamians speak fast, he wouldn't understand if they said e.g. yuck (grab) & other words
the Bahamian laborer has a reputation of slothfulness. Waiters are slow and unresponsive.
with his patronising attitude, you know they would fix him up!
Fortunately, the Bahamas is still fairly open as far as illegal aliens are concerned. Immigration occasionally engages in a crackdown, but it's never very effective. Most of the gardeners and construction workers are Haitian, illegally resident. Maids come from all over the Caribbean. Because of the competition , Bahamian maids can hold their own
not all foreigners are illegal, and Bahamians constantly call for raids which they are doing more of.
most construction workers are still Bahamian, there are caribbean maids
Crime is a constant problem in Nassau, especially with the high level of drug use by many Bahamians
many Bahamians aren't drug users, some are & there is crime everywhere - like wherever he is from
I read a part of his article,
there is cable TV, and unless someone has a death wish they wouldn't jog/run in the streets! they would do it on the jogging paths at the beaches, and track fields at the schools that are open to all. The Betty KEnning pool is built to world class specs., Haynes Oval is maintained for cricket & there are world class golf courses, public and private docks & marinas, all sorts of sports facilities yoga, spas, gyms etc
a variety of books are available, and if they are out of stock, you can order titles
i was looking forward to a good argument from you...cho...
Missis...you have not yet caught on...? This is the most peaceful place on earth...even one Russian visitor tell me dat one time.
No argument. Mangoskin fix yu up...and she had to really exert... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Sounds like a stand-up kinda guy.
Because of the competition, Bahamian maids can hold their own although, admittedly, we went through five maids (from the Bahamas as well as other countries) trying to find a decent worker.
Before he clean his own damn house. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
His opinion.
In reading it, I focused more on the leisurely lifestyle. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
shandra you ok, dear??!!
dem quote deh woulda sent my blood pressure soaring [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70368-hoppingmad.gif[/img]
His opinion.
In reading it, I focused more on the leisurely lifestyle. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
shandra you ok, dear??!!
dem quote deh woulda sent my blood pressure soaring [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70368-hoppingmad.gif[/img]
I'm hearing you...but...you gotta c h o o s e your battles. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] Island life truly teachez you how.
Will visit oonu...and shop...and do the cultural thingy...but everydaylivingpointofview...give me island stylie [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img]...most of the way...