I'm heading off to this beautiful Island on Monday. Have been once before but only as a day trip - part of a cruise. Anything I should know? Special places to hang out, eat, drink, dance and get [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70377-loveeyes.gif[/img] with my ITMT?
Paradise Island, Bahamas
Re: Paradise Island, Bahamas
Hi UKBL:
If you're staying at Atlantis, they have lots for you to see...real nice. If you want to leave that property and try other things, local folk will direct you. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Enjoy your stay! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img]
but shandy, a noh dat she want to hear..
when I went to barbados, one of the boardites was so helpful in telling me where to go, places to see, what to eat dat was affordablily priced etc..
A *dat* she want to hear.. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img]
but shandy, a noh dat she want to hear..
when I went to barbados, one of the boardites was so helpful in telling me where to go, places to see, what to eat dat was affordablily priced etc..
A *dat* she want to hear.. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img]
Atlantis is a fabulous world - famous hotel on Paradise Island ...and the only one...so if you are staying there , there is hardly anything else one might need.
Should UKBL need extra fun, then the locals around the hotel can direct her.
Paradise Island is somewhat like a cay that a hotelier
developed. That's where Oprah, Michael Jordan et al stay sometimes when they are in town...really out of this world. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Thanks for responding Shandra. I've been to The Atlantis before, but only for the day - but I did get a taste of it and want more! I was determined that as soon as I could I'd be back.
I would though, also like to see more of what the island has to offer, so 7777 yes you were right on that score [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
I can't wait...Mondaaaaaaaaay!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img]
Thanks for responding Shandra. I've been to The Atlantis before, but only for the day - but I did get a taste of it and want more! I was determined that as soon as I could I'd be back.
I would though, also like to see more of what the island has to offer, so 7777 yes you were right on that score [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
I can't wait...Mondaaaaaaaaay!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img]
Gotcha; I don't know what your tastes are but check this:
Some things you might be interested in...
Ardastra Gardens(something like a Hope Gardens)is a popular spot; it was started by a Jamaican they say.
Whatever you do, enjoy... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
I'm heading off to this beautiful Island on Monday. Have been once before but only as a day trip - part of a cruise. Anything I should know? Special places to hang out, eat, drink, dance and get [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70377-loveeyes.gif[/img] with my ITMT?
Take plenty of money. Paradise Island almost bankrupted me.
yes. like marilyn says it's expensive.
The bridge links it to the capital Nassau (on New Providence island), so if you're fit & feeling up to it, you can walk over.
Under the Bridge the one from PI to Nassau (they really need to name them soon) on the Nassau side, you can eat conch salad, and buy cheap food, like a 99cent Bahamian breakfast consisting of bully(corned) beef & grits, or tuna & grits (if u like grits) for a likkle more, you can get tuna & johnny cake or bully beef & johnny cake..
Dont know when you were last there, but there is a marina (newly built near atlantis)which has many upscale restaurants for a special night, & on Friday & Saturday nights around 10 p.m or so, they have a junkanoo rushout there.
You can look around the souvenir hall there near the parking lot opposite Hurricane hole most of the things are Bahamian made there, beautiful straw work; but if you also want bargain souvenirs (& dont mind if their imported) you can go to the wholesale place on Nassau, it's Solomons off Independence Drive.
There is even a jamaican restaurant I can recommend, it's Vicky's ( a takeaway)in Fox Hill (New Providence) opposite the Macedonia baptist church, for $4 you can get a small dinner (say curry chicken, rice n peas or white rice & a side) good bargain, & for around $7 you can get a larger size, but I find that the $4 one is filling.
Premium patties on Madeira St in Palmdale has great patties for $1.24
Double Ds a Bahamian restaurant over the bridge (Nassau) is open 24/7; opposite the British Colonial Hilton is Imperial cafeteria open 23 hours (Bahamian & American food).
for night life off PI on Nassau, there is Bambu an upscale club (Wesley Snipes was recently there)
Club Fluid for the young crowd
If you are still here on the 23rd, there is the Jingleball concert with Rick Ross headlining with plenty others including Gyptian and many other acts
and of course the casinos if you feel lucky
Thanks for all the tips, I'll print this off for my next trip [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Marilyn you're right about the expensiveness [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img] .
I had a great time. Didn't really do too much, lay on the beach and drank, ate, slept, lost my money in the casino [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] But it was a mini break that I needed. Anyway, off to Ochi in 12 days - promise to come back with a trip report on that one.