barbados, then some next place...when i see these tourism ads i can't help but tink seh dem a chrow word pon jamaica
1st the 'authentic' caribbean now the 'real' caribbean
Re: 1st the 'authentic' caribbean now the 'real' caribbean
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">barbados, then some next place...when i see these tourism ads i can't help but tink seh dem a chrow word pon jamaica </div></div>
You may have a point but...remember...we have not been charitable either.
Many of us have always tended to believe that the sun rises and sets on Jamaica and we have not really repected nor lauded the efforts or the lifestyles of the rest of the Caribbean so now that they are finding their way without us, they may feel that they can say anything to improve their stature because we have never really helped them.
I think of the Cayman Islands, for example.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Shandra</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Many of us have always tended to believe that the sun rises and sets on Jamaica... </div></div>
It doesn't? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Shandra</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">barbados, then some next place...when i see these tourism ads i can't help but tink seh dem a chrow word pon jamaica </div></div>
You may have a point but...remember...we have not been charitable either.
Many of us have always tended to believe that the sun rises and sets on Jamaica and we have not really repected nor lauded the efforts or the lifestyles of the rest of the Caribbean so now that they are finding their way without us, they may feel that they can say anything to improve their stature because we have never really helped them.
I think of the Cayman Islands, for example. </div></div>
What do you know about the history of Jamaica and Cayman?
I r4member I use to fly into grand cayman with my father as a child and even after i start flying the little Cesna twins.
Jamaica to Caymanians was like downtown to Jamaicans.
They come in to Jamaica in th emorning and home in th eevenings. I use to taxi some of them ....and Jamaicans never treat them any way. They are just trying to differentiate,now because they are looking to become Europe .That is all. But in the near future,all of thenm and manu of you too will change your talk as soon as Jamaica take's it's proper place in the world economy. Just uou wait and see.
They are simply ungrateful as the British that reach where they are on the backs of black Jamaicans. Black have never been recognize for the sacrifice they have made for the benefit of anywhere they slaved for.
When Cayman was a dependent of Jamaica Jamaica was dirt poor as poor as Cayman. With the majority of Jamaicans illiterate and barefoot. the majority of homes was board and Jamaica was not in any position to treat them any way. Ask your Cayman friend friends how many of them came to Jamaica and got the best jobs when black Jamaicans couldn't work in those positions.
Bout we treat them bad! Not Black JamaicansIf it wasn't for Jamaica and Jamaicans Cayman would not be where they are today,but time is the master and economics is dynamic. watch and learn.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: May_Pen_Yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Shandra</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Many of us have always tended to believe that the sun rises and sets on Jamaica... </div></div>
It doesn't? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </div></div>
Only those whoa have never been to Jamaica would believe that, the sun does not rise and set over Jamaica.
It litearllt does. It rises en th eeast and travels over not south of Jamaic aand sets in the west. Why shouldn
t we believe it,if we live it?
It is not our fault if it doesn't with other geographic locations. Jamaica is very close to th eequator. Yes I know you mean it [b] literally[b].
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: May_Pen_Yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Shandra</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
It doesn't? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </div></div>
Only those whoa have never been to Jamaica would believe that, the sun does not rise and set over Jamaica.
It litearllt does. It rises en th eeast and travels over not south of Jamaic aand sets in the west. Why shouldn
t we believe it,if we live it?
It is not our fault if it doesn't with other geographic locations. Jamaica is very close to th eequator. Yes I know you mean it [b] literally[b]. </div></div>
Dr. D
Just being silly [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/desdentado.gif[/img]