Since the Quizzes in May were very popular, the feature will be continued. However, this month, instead of rating the difficulty lever of each quiz, there will be one quiz with a varied difficulty level of questions. I hope it will continue to be a fun and entertaining way for all to learn something new about 'The Land We Love'. Enjoy. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
QUIZ OF THE MONTH (July- ANSWERS)
Re: QUIZ OF THE MONTH (July)
Here are the answers to the July edition of the QUIZ:
<font color="blue">Which one of these was never a parish of Jamaica? </font>
<font color="red">A: All of them were Parishes at some point. </font>
This was not meant to be a tricky question, just an error on my part.
<font color="blue">What is the second oldest botanical garden in the Western Hemisphere? </font>
<font color="red"> A: The Bath Botanical Gardens, St. Thomas </font>
-Contrary to public belief, Hope Gardens dating back to 1881 was established over 100 years
after The Bath Gardens in 1779.
<font color="blue"> The name "Negril" is the British transformation of the Spanish term for:</font>
<font color="red"> A: Eel. </font>
<font color="blue"> In the traditional Christmas song, "Santa catch up in de ____ tree!"</font>
<font color="red"> A: Mango </font>
<font color="blue"> The southernmost tip of Jamaica is at: </font>
<font color="red"> A: Portland Point </font>
-Despite its name Portland Point is Clarendon. Morant Point, on the other hand, is the Eastermost tip of Jamaica.
<font color="blue"> Which classic Bob Marley song makes references to 'government yard', cornmeal porridge', and 'Georgie's firelight'? </font>
<font color="red"> A: No Woman No Cry </font>
-"I rememba, when we use to sit, in our government yard in Trenchtown..."
<font color="blue"> "Nine Night" is a celebration in the honour of: </font>
<font color="red"> A: Deceased person </font>
<font color="blue"> Assuming nobody has more than one phone, what percentage of Jamaicans have a cellular phone? </font>
<font color="red"> A: 80% of Jamaicans have a cell phone</font>
<font color="blue"> You can get Asham in a: </font>
<font color="red"> A: Bag</font>
-Asham is ground corn kernels mixed with sugar and a touch of salt, a tasty treat for kids (and grownups)
<font color="blue"> How many "Miss World" winners has Jamaica produced? </font>
<font color="red"> A: 3 Miss Worlds were representing Jamaica </font>
Thanks for playing.
Look for the August QUIZ soon!
Thanks for the praise T, and for catching the error. St. Dorothy's was indeed a parish in the 18th century.
Class, add one extra point to the score of your Quizzes, and pass them forward for collection please!
I only got 5 right. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
5 is not bad Ohliz.
I hope seh unu learn sintin new from de quiz dem still.
That is the purpuse, EduTainment. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Hello Magic,
QUOTE: That is the purpuse, EduTainment.
Nicely put... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img]