there is a folklore dat says that Montego Bay got it's name from di word manatees which translates to sea cows. There used to be a lot of sea cows in the bay, and the Spanish name for them was manteca and from manteca came Montego Bay. I don't know how true this is *scratching head*
What does the word MONTEGO mean?
Re: What does the word MONTEGO mean?
Hi First Human,
The Spanish word "manteca" means "lard" which comes from the days when they used to ship "pig" butter derived from wild hogs from the port. In 1655, MoBay first appeared on maps as "Manterias" which was derived from "manteca". English maps later show it as "Lard Bay". How it made it from "Lard Bay" to "Montego Bay" is a mystery to me at this time. I will try to find out and post it later.
Respect
Bill Evans
Do you realize that way back when, bays such as Ocho Rios and Montego Bay were nothing but beach.
I remember when all you could see were canoes rolled up on the beach and a few coconut palm thatch roofed sheds that the fishermen used to store their belongings.
The roads were narrow and if you held your breath for a car to come by, you`d be long gone by now.
tanks bill and q, mi nay know..lawx so much to know b/4 mi dead!
q when u said "back in di day when bays were beaches" mi almost did tink seh is u and columbus did arrive at di same time pon di island..ah good ting seh mi did continue fi read u post..woiiiii!
FH, yu wicked bad yu know. Jus de mention of car mek yu realize seh is not Columbus water boy dis a chat to yu.
Interesting to see if Negril is going to get all tarred and concrete like Mobay.
Where shalt we go?
Little Bay? Treasure Beach? Bluefields Ocean Park?