one stop dere driver shout the stout man,I was rather pleased as I was so squashed that in another few minutes they would have had to mop my dinner from the floor of the overcrowded minibus.first the ductor got off,then a couple more passengers,then I inturn had to maneuvre myself into a position to let the large man off.
I was travelling from lucea to negril,and had opted for the economical version of a coastal trip to negril,ie,me and 30 other people in a minibus only equipped for 14 people plus driver.
as the blast of the dancehall music penetrated and made an assault on my eardrums I simply tried to act nonchalant and eased back in my tiny space in a way as not to give any clues as to my newness at this game.
it is rather difficult acting nonchalant when you are squeezed between a rather large paunched man,and an irritatingly schoolgirl who chose to pick every bogey out her nose without even acknowledging that she is in public let alone on a bus packed like sardine people.
I thought to myself,...welcome to jamaica ..roots style,....not for me those nice cosy air conditioned luxurious looking coaches that ferries tourists from montegobay to negril,I thought to myself,..what would those same tourists make of this,the real jamaica,if they too had to abandon their luxurious airconditioned luxury on wheels,and face jamaica instead of the cosy 7 miles of beach to which they retreat for two weeks amongst their very own,and then return to the airport in a cocoon of naivety....where was I ..I digress......yes..I was on a minibus heading for negril from lucea,...lucea is a market town,it is the capital of hanover,...if you travel from montegobay airport to negril,then it is 99% possible that you *have* to travel through the town.....for christ`s sake...stop!!!!have a beer,ask your driver to stop,..spend a few minutes in the town...that is all it takes.
all inclusive holidays are killing the livelyhood for the average jamaican that depends on tourists,..if you do get a chance to spend a dollar/pound or two with the indegenous population then please do..it is of great importance to the jamaican economy...
gawd!!!I digress again...damn!!
anyway,,soon my minibus driver was hurtling up the newly built highway at a speed of 90 miles an hour overtaking up to 4 other vehicles at once even on the most treacherous bends,I held my breath as the music pumped and everyone looked so cool even though they were possible two seconds away from meeting the great dancehall guy in the sky.
someone in the road put out a hand as we zoomed past bullbay,I felt safe in the knowledge that the driver is not likely to stop under no circumstances to pick up any other passengers,..the bus was over full,the ductor bwoy was standing with his head in a funny angle due to the height of the bus+height of his body= uncomfortableness for neck.
but...to my horror,the bus stopped,the man got on ..somehow,and once again we were not humans...just a great big squashed lump of people being pounded by loud dancehall music in our ears to dull our senses until we reach negril...90 miles...100 miles an hour,..I could hardly breathe,..funny thing though,I enjoy dancehall music,..If I was gonna be squashed to death,then at least it would be to the sounds of beeny man and bounti killa...
is that the sight of hedonism I can barely see ..it must be..at least four people got out at the entrance to hedonism..workers I assume,for them no luxury of the airconditioned bus...rough it with the rest of us...tonight you can put on your cheesy smile and entertain the tourists..life`s a *****hh.
I took comfort in the thought that at least I too will be getting off soon,..I was going to say when I get to marguertaville ...one stop please driver...he will stop,..the ductor wiil take my fare..$40 dollars...not even enough to buy a stick of wrigleys in the states due to the stringent quotas the usa has put on jamaica in return for lending money from the imf.
I got off the bus at my destination,..I sighed,I put on my sunshades to hide the tears,I am far too cool to be seen crying for my little island in the sun,..what is to become of us,I wondered,...but for now at least I have one advantage that the rest of the population hasnt..I could go back in two weeks to the relative safety of a thriving economy,..I had a good time....this trip was great...should I say..enlightening...boy what a trip from lucea to negril that was.
I was travelling from lucea to negril,and had opted for the economical version of a coastal trip to negril,ie,me and 30 other people in a minibus only equipped for 14 people plus driver.
as the blast of the dancehall music penetrated and made an assault on my eardrums I simply tried to act nonchalant and eased back in my tiny space in a way as not to give any clues as to my newness at this game.
it is rather difficult acting nonchalant when you are squeezed between a rather large paunched man,and an irritatingly schoolgirl who chose to pick every bogey out her nose without even acknowledging that she is in public let alone on a bus packed like sardine people.
I thought to myself,...welcome to jamaica ..roots style,....not for me those nice cosy air conditioned luxurious looking coaches that ferries tourists from montegobay to negril,I thought to myself,..what would those same tourists make of this,the real jamaica,if they too had to abandon their luxurious airconditioned luxury on wheels,and face jamaica instead of the cosy 7 miles of beach to which they retreat for two weeks amongst their very own,and then return to the airport in a cocoon of naivety....where was I ..I digress......yes..I was on a minibus heading for negril from lucea,...lucea is a market town,it is the capital of hanover,...if you travel from montegobay airport to negril,then it is 99% possible that you *have* to travel through the town.....for christ`s sake...stop!!!!have a beer,ask your driver to stop,..spend a few minutes in the town...that is all it takes.
all inclusive holidays are killing the livelyhood for the average jamaican that depends on tourists,..if you do get a chance to spend a dollar/pound or two with the indegenous population then please do..it is of great importance to the jamaican economy...
gawd!!!I digress again...damn!!
anyway,,soon my minibus driver was hurtling up the newly built highway at a speed of 90 miles an hour overtaking up to 4 other vehicles at once even on the most treacherous bends,I held my breath as the music pumped and everyone looked so cool even though they were possible two seconds away from meeting the great dancehall guy in the sky.
someone in the road put out a hand as we zoomed past bullbay,I felt safe in the knowledge that the driver is not likely to stop under no circumstances to pick up any other passengers,..the bus was over full,the ductor bwoy was standing with his head in a funny angle due to the height of the bus+height of his body= uncomfortableness for neck.
but...to my horror,the bus stopped,the man got on ..somehow,and once again we were not humans...just a great big squashed lump of people being pounded by loud dancehall music in our ears to dull our senses until we reach negril...90 miles...100 miles an hour,..I could hardly breathe,..funny thing though,I enjoy dancehall music,..If I was gonna be squashed to death,then at least it would be to the sounds of beeny man and bounti killa...
is that the sight of hedonism I can barely see ..it must be..at least four people got out at the entrance to hedonism..workers I assume,for them no luxury of the airconditioned bus...rough it with the rest of us...tonight you can put on your cheesy smile and entertain the tourists..life`s a *****hh.
I took comfort in the thought that at least I too will be getting off soon,..I was going to say when I get to marguertaville ...one stop please driver...he will stop,..the ductor wiil take my fare..$40 dollars...not even enough to buy a stick of wrigleys in the states due to the stringent quotas the usa has put on jamaica in return for lending money from the imf.
I got off the bus at my destination,..I sighed,I put on my sunshades to hide the tears,I am far too cool to be seen crying for my little island in the sun,..what is to become of us,I wondered,...but for now at least I have one advantage that the rest of the population hasnt..I could go back in two weeks to the relative safety of a thriving economy,..I had a good time....this trip was great...should I say..enlightening...boy what a trip from lucea to negril that was.