Not sure if anyone is reading this or not but, here is part 3.
Monday, April 14th- The first full day and the Dirty Banana Mission
I will try and relive this day as much as possible however, some parts are cloudy due to the fact that I umm, well, how do I say it……Indulged!! A Lot!! All Day!!!
Joe and I woke up right around the same time. What time was it?? Well, that is exactly what we were wondering. No watch, no clock and it was still relatively dark outside so we could only guess. We sit pon di porch for a bit taking in the sights and sounds around us and thinking God for enabling us to once again return to this wonderful island paradise. Joe still is not pleased with FH and I re assure him that everyting will be fine. We will either grow to love it or move. It is at this point that our bodies are telling us it is “coffee time”. Speaking of time, what the heck time is it anyway? It has to be what, 6:00? Maybe 7:00??? We quick shower and head out in search of that much needed, first cup of coffee. As we are walking across the yard towards the road, we pass one of the guys that takes care of the grounds. Joe asks him the time and he reply’s with 4:40!!! Now we are both thinking ‘no way”, his watch must be off. So, we continue out the gate and it wasn’t long before we pass someone else on his way to work and again ask the time. Yep, he was right, it is 10 min. to 5. Now let me ask you…..have you ever tried to find coffee on the beach at 5:00am??? I remembered reading on the boards that there was a 24-hour coffee shop. What was the name of that place? Bernie’s?? No, Barney’s?? Oh wait…it was Barry’s. That was our destination. Being lead by the strong need for my morning coffee, I was on a mission [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] We walked along the road until we seen the sign for Barry’s. It was a beautiful sight, let me tell ya. We turned at the sign and was offered this and that by the guy that sells coconuts in a stand by the road but after explaining to him that I must have my coffee he pointed us in the right direction. We walked up to the counter and Barry informed us that he was out of coffee but that someone would be back in 5 minutes with some. As you all know 5 minutes Jamdung time could mean 20 min. or could mean an hour. We reply with a “no problem” then open the cooler and grab the next best thing, a nice cold Red Stripe Light. This is the first time that I had tried the “light” and being a Coors Light drinker at home, loved it. I would consume many of these on this trip [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] So we settled in for the wait. It wasn’t too long (a beer and a half, I think) when a guy rides up on his bike with a bag that I am assuming is our coffee. After about 10 minutes, I stuck my head in the kitchen and asked how long it would be for the coffee to get done. Coffee??? There were 4 guys in the kitchen, each looking at one another. Apparently, no one started the coffee! One of the guys smiles at me and says that he will have it ready in …….yep you guessed it….5 minutes. Well, what to do, grab another Light Stripe and wait. We finally did get our coffee that morning and it was great. Now filled with 3 or 4 Stripes and a good strong cup of coffee, I was ready for my long awaited Jamaican breakfast. We had passed Selina’s on our way to Barry’s that morning; I had read so much about her place and wanted to check it out.
She was not there but we got aquatinted with her kitties while we waited for our food. Joe ordered the Big Nyam, which came with a banana pancake and I had the Jamaican Breakfast. Both of our meals were very good. We did get to meet Selina before we left and spent a few minutes talking with her and promised to be back later in the week. So now we had our coffee and a full belly. It was now beach time. We crossed the street and took the beach back to FH, stopping here and there on the way checking out properties. Doing this, we found a little place right in front of Barry’s called Mom’s Place. Very basic rooms but clean and a great price. Mom is a very sweet lady and I will consider staying with her on future trips.
As we walked the beach back to FH, I could feel my body start to relax and my mind start to slow down…..I was well on my way to the “zone”. We stopped at a lil store called “In and Out” which is located a short way down the beach from FH, to grab some supplies. I brought a soft-sided cooler, which I used as a carryon, with us and it came in very handy due to the fact that we had no fridge in our room. We bought some ice, rum, pop, and munchies from the store and headed back to our room. After changing into our suits and mixing up some rum –n- coke in the Budda Bag, we hit the beach. I couldn’t wait to feel and taste that wonderful water. The sea was rougher then I ever seen it on the beach and there was small mountains of stinky sea grass to the west of FH. Matter of fact, a couple of female guest (after many drinks) were attempting to help with the clean up efforts. The beach in front of FH however was clean and after swimming around for an hour or so, we hit the beach chairs. After spending a very long, cold winter in Michigan, I was more than ready for some sunshine. It felt so good laying there baking in the sun. I had forgot to pack the sunscreen but I already had a pretty good base tan so, against my husbands warnings, I slicked up with Hawaiian Tropic oil!! Joe says “you are gonna fry with that on”. My response….”no problem, mon”. After a couple of hours bakin, swimming, and drinkin, we took a likkle walk down the beach. Our mission…..to find the best Dirty Banana on the beach. Now this is a mission that I took very seriously and I gave it my best effort. Okay, now here is where things get a little fuzzy. I know that we hit several bars that day and ended up back at FH in the late afternoon. Joe and I both were feeling great! Fully into the “zone”. We camped out at “our spot” (we clamed a table earlier that day and it stayed with us for the rest of our stay there) and had yet another cocktail. I’m not sure what I was drinking at this point. I had Marlene make sumpin up for mi. We were not there long before I see Sala coming across the beach and then I hear a familiar voice. I look around and see my long lost friends, Martina (seatheworld) and Paul.
Hugs and kisses were exchanged and drinks were ordered. We had a lot of catching up to do. One of Martina’s first comments to me was…”Wow girl, you are fried”!!! Now, up to this point, I did not realize (I wonder why) how much sun I had gotten that day. I was burnt up!
The five of us shared stories and cocktails, loving the feeling of old friends together again in the land they all love so much.
When we noticed yet another familiar face coming across the beach. It was Stan (Rasta Stan) and Betty from Canada. This is another couple that we all met last year and shared some great times with. Hugs and kisses exchanged again! Now it is a party of 8, rounds were ordered again [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
After several rounds were bought, Joe announces that he is “Hunnnngrrry” (this is one of many of Joe’s famous sayings). Stan and Betty head back to their hotel, they are tired from their day of travel and the rest of us head off to find food. We end up at Alfred’s. We all order, the only meal I can remember is Joe’s Blackened Chicken, which was awesome. While waiting for our food, we continue on with the search of the best Dirty Banana. After our meal, we head back to FH, hang out at the bar for a couple more and then up to the room where smoke and drink is shared. Martina and Paul retire for the night and Joe informs me that I am done! However, I didn’t feel like I was done but was starting to feel the heat of my body and after looking in the mirror, could see why. I was beet red! I convinced Joe that a swim in the pool was in order. The pool was empty and the water felt wonderful on my burning skin. We spent an hour or more playing in the pool and even ordered “one last drink” from the pool bar. During this hour, Joe and I had some deep conversations. Our lives at home are so hectic that we do not get a chance to do this very often. I really wish that I could remember what was all said but, after drinking all day, I only know what was told to me the next day. There was one conversation that would carry on throughout our vacation. All I can say about it is that I was talking about Joe’s ability to “reek with husband material”!! Don’t ask me! I don’t have a clue what brought this on! When we finally got out, our hands and toes were shriveled up like prunes and I was then completely “done”! Off to bed we went it had been a long and wonderful day. Once I got in bed, I found a position and stuck with it cuz it hurt to move. Sleep found me very quickly.
Monday, April 14th- The first full day and the Dirty Banana Mission
I will try and relive this day as much as possible however, some parts are cloudy due to the fact that I umm, well, how do I say it……Indulged!! A Lot!! All Day!!!
Joe and I woke up right around the same time. What time was it?? Well, that is exactly what we were wondering. No watch, no clock and it was still relatively dark outside so we could only guess. We sit pon di porch for a bit taking in the sights and sounds around us and thinking God for enabling us to once again return to this wonderful island paradise. Joe still is not pleased with FH and I re assure him that everyting will be fine. We will either grow to love it or move. It is at this point that our bodies are telling us it is “coffee time”. Speaking of time, what the heck time is it anyway? It has to be what, 6:00? Maybe 7:00??? We quick shower and head out in search of that much needed, first cup of coffee. As we are walking across the yard towards the road, we pass one of the guys that takes care of the grounds. Joe asks him the time and he reply’s with 4:40!!! Now we are both thinking ‘no way”, his watch must be off. So, we continue out the gate and it wasn’t long before we pass someone else on his way to work and again ask the time. Yep, he was right, it is 10 min. to 5. Now let me ask you…..have you ever tried to find coffee on the beach at 5:00am??? I remembered reading on the boards that there was a 24-hour coffee shop. What was the name of that place? Bernie’s?? No, Barney’s?? Oh wait…it was Barry’s. That was our destination. Being lead by the strong need for my morning coffee, I was on a mission [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] We walked along the road until we seen the sign for Barry’s. It was a beautiful sight, let me tell ya. We turned at the sign and was offered this and that by the guy that sells coconuts in a stand by the road but after explaining to him that I must have my coffee he pointed us in the right direction. We walked up to the counter and Barry informed us that he was out of coffee but that someone would be back in 5 minutes with some. As you all know 5 minutes Jamdung time could mean 20 min. or could mean an hour. We reply with a “no problem” then open the cooler and grab the next best thing, a nice cold Red Stripe Light. This is the first time that I had tried the “light” and being a Coors Light drinker at home, loved it. I would consume many of these on this trip [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] So we settled in for the wait. It wasn’t too long (a beer and a half, I think) when a guy rides up on his bike with a bag that I am assuming is our coffee. After about 10 minutes, I stuck my head in the kitchen and asked how long it would be for the coffee to get done. Coffee??? There were 4 guys in the kitchen, each looking at one another. Apparently, no one started the coffee! One of the guys smiles at me and says that he will have it ready in …….yep you guessed it….5 minutes. Well, what to do, grab another Light Stripe and wait. We finally did get our coffee that morning and it was great. Now filled with 3 or 4 Stripes and a good strong cup of coffee, I was ready for my long awaited Jamaican breakfast. We had passed Selina’s on our way to Barry’s that morning; I had read so much about her place and wanted to check it out.
As we walked the beach back to FH, I could feel my body start to relax and my mind start to slow down…..I was well on my way to the “zone”. We stopped at a lil store called “In and Out” which is located a short way down the beach from FH, to grab some supplies. I brought a soft-sided cooler, which I used as a carryon, with us and it came in very handy due to the fact that we had no fridge in our room. We bought some ice, rum, pop, and munchies from the store and headed back to our room. After changing into our suits and mixing up some rum –n- coke in the Budda Bag, we hit the beach. I couldn’t wait to feel and taste that wonderful water. The sea was rougher then I ever seen it on the beach and there was small mountains of stinky sea grass to the west of FH. Matter of fact, a couple of female guest (after many drinks) were attempting to help with the clean up efforts. The beach in front of FH however was clean and after swimming around for an hour or so, we hit the beach chairs. After spending a very long, cold winter in Michigan, I was more than ready for some sunshine. It felt so good laying there baking in the sun. I had forgot to pack the sunscreen but I already had a pretty good base tan so, against my husbands warnings, I slicked up with Hawaiian Tropic oil!! Joe says “you are gonna fry with that on”. My response….”no problem, mon”. After a couple of hours bakin, swimming, and drinkin, we took a likkle walk down the beach. Our mission…..to find the best Dirty Banana on the beach. Now this is a mission that I took very seriously and I gave it my best effort. Okay, now here is where things get a little fuzzy. I know that we hit several bars that day and ended up back at FH in the late afternoon. Joe and I both were feeling great! Fully into the “zone”. We camped out at “our spot” (we clamed a table earlier that day and it stayed with us for the rest of our stay there) and had yet another cocktail. I’m not sure what I was drinking at this point. I had Marlene make sumpin up for mi. We were not there long before I see Sala coming across the beach and then I hear a familiar voice. I look around and see my long lost friends, Martina (seatheworld) and Paul.
The five of us shared stories and cocktails, loving the feeling of old friends together again in the land they all love so much.
When we noticed yet another familiar face coming across the beach. It was Stan (Rasta Stan) and Betty from Canada. This is another couple that we all met last year and shared some great times with. Hugs and kisses exchanged again! Now it is a party of 8, rounds were ordered again [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
After several rounds were bought, Joe announces that he is “Hunnnngrrry” (this is one of many of Joe’s famous sayings). Stan and Betty head back to their hotel, they are tired from their day of travel and the rest of us head off to find food. We end up at Alfred’s. We all order, the only meal I can remember is Joe’s Blackened Chicken, which was awesome. While waiting for our food, we continue on with the search of the best Dirty Banana. After our meal, we head back to FH, hang out at the bar for a couple more and then up to the room where smoke and drink is shared. Martina and Paul retire for the night and Joe informs me that I am done! However, I didn’t feel like I was done but was starting to feel the heat of my body and after looking in the mirror, could see why. I was beet red! I convinced Joe that a swim in the pool was in order. The pool was empty and the water felt wonderful on my burning skin. We spent an hour or more playing in the pool and even ordered “one last drink” from the pool bar. During this hour, Joe and I had some deep conversations. Our lives at home are so hectic that we do not get a chance to do this very often. I really wish that I could remember what was all said but, after drinking all day, I only know what was told to me the next day. There was one conversation that would carry on throughout our vacation. All I can say about it is that I was talking about Joe’s ability to “reek with husband material”!! Don’t ask me! I don’t have a clue what brought this on! When we finally got out, our hands and toes were shriveled up like prunes and I was then completely “done”! Off to bed we went it had been a long and wonderful day. Once I got in bed, I found a position and stuck with it cuz it hurt to move. Sleep found me very quickly.