What do you bring back with you? It is for yourself or for others. Is it mostly souvenirs or food/coffee/drink? Arts and crafts?
TOPIC OF THE WEEK - What items do you bring back from Jamaica?
Re: TOPIC OF THE WEEK - What items do you bring back from Jamaica?
We bring back coffee mostly for others.., but this timme we brought back high mountain coffee for ourselves. We bring back rum creme for us & our friends. Also for ourselves, lots of jerk seasonings, & curry powder. Also a little, Ting. We always send ourselves a postcard with lots of things listed on it to remember... from the sound of the ice cart going to stock the bar, the smell of the bread baking, the sights & sounds of new adventures, and other precious moments listed on our postcard of memories... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Only one thing every time - jerk sauce from 3 Dives, we ask Lydie ahead of time and he has it ready for us the day we leave...usually nicely taped up in rum bottles! I had to bring it for others this last time so somehow got 4 of them in my bag, carefully...they all made it.
Sometimes coffee, that's for others.
For me I have brought back books (A Year More or Less in Jamaica is my favorite so far, got it at the airport).
I WANT to bring back a nice carving for my garden fence but haven't found the right one yet...
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] Liz
3 bottles World's End Rum Cream
4 bottles Stoli Vodka (hey, for $9 US., it's a steal!)
6 bottles Walker's Wood BBQ Jerk Sauce
2 bottles Walker's Wood Jerk Marinade
3 bottles Grace BBQ Jerk Sauce
10 packs of various Spices
4 cans High Mountain Coffee
3 Carvings (including a Manta Ray/Starfish last trip...it's HUGE)
0 t-shirts (next trip)
All of this stuff was purchased on our November trip for us & to share with friends [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Irie, K&L
Tamarind Balls, Eaton Hall Rum Barbeque Sauce, Papaya Chutney, Escoveich Goat Fish, Jackass Corn, Rock Cakes,Charley's Black Label Rum, Blue Mountain Coffee,Sweet Potato Pudding, Blue Drawers.
Somehow on my return trip, it seems I've always got these traveling companions named J. Wray & his nephew traveling w/ me, and bwoy, mi a tell yuh, their strange...they sit under a seat in the airplane.. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
couple of pounds of sugar
blue soap
rum
rum cream
coffee
Ting
whole nutmeg....TONS of it
Stone's Ginger Wine (gotta stay warm when I get back, ehhh [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] )
spice/seasoning
a carving
TONS of shells
That all came back with Likkle Scarlet and I last Friday. Most of it was for us, except my mom always begs one bottle of the rum cream off of me. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Without fail I always bring back-
Rum Cream (I like Sangster's, but there are other goood ones)
100% Pure Blue Mountain Coffee Beans
(Vacuum packed, whole beans- not ground)
Appleton Estate Rum (gold)
And a big smile at new friends made and old friends revisited.
Respect!
Roy in VA
Originally posted by Magic:
I always bring back flowers for my wife. Birds of Paradise are the best. You can get it at the Mo Bay Airport.
[qb]What do you bring back with you? It is for yourself or for others. Is it mostly souvenirs or food/coffee/drink? Arts and crafts?[/qb]
sometimes I bring back coffee, but for me it is spice and sauces, & limes also. Rum Cream of course even though I can get it here, I like the Wray & Nephew! Tia Maria is so much cheaper. KETCHUP, good thing I am going twice, I dont have to lug another 10 LB gallon jug this time. I always take at least a box of packets of Cock Soup it is cheap and really good. Hot Scotch Bonnet sauce, and jerk chicken dipping souce as well as Walkers Wood jerk marinade. And then the only place I can find HELL HOT pepper concentrate, there is a warning on the back of the bottle that says: Warning! Parental guidance advised, this hot sauce is not radioactive though it could be. It's function is to heat up anything one might consider boring...That prettymuch sums it up, and for the regular hot sauce, I bring back Grace hot pepper table sauce.
I was very busy collecting things I might put in a acrap book.. receipts from marley museum, record labels from Tuff Gong and the viny rejects, Yes a ting label and red stripe label, recipts from 9 mile..and just snapping tons of photso on the digital and the 35mm. I don't think I bought anything for myself..Danny got lots of marley tee shirts, marley tapestry's, rasta colored thread bracelets, two carvings of rastas, a carved walking stick with a story behind it, taped music. I brought bitters for someone and a small amount of rum and coffe for ourselves and others..I also got some great wooden toys in PA, but we played with them so much they were broken when we left. I did not become familiar with the Jamaican palate..a goal for next time.. I will be back for a list of what to get next time. I do think some of the items mentioned can be had in NYC. I have seen ting. I have to say the best thing I brought back was the lasting feeling I have inside when I think of our journey..its a spiritual kind of connection and a desire to go back and rekindle it.
IM....I am so sorry we missed you @ three dives. I couldn't drag Kali away from Bluefields Beach nor her newfound friends. By the time we did...it was waaaaayyyy past sunset. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
How was your trip? Bet you're getting ready for your next trip...you lucky devil!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] mi jealous fi baxside