Re: Trip Report - Ochi - Paul and Dolly's Saga Continues
Here you go chubble [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
First Trip
Thanks for the cultural enlightenment too [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
My parents always made me clean my plate too... I still can't leave food on the plate [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
Originally posted by chubble:
[qb] Great writing! I love your style.
What I think you were experience was a clash of culture. It is very hard to provide food in jamaica therefore the wasting of it seen as a sin. It really hurts when we see people wasting food. His mother, like most of our mothers probably drill it in head to drink the tea before it gets cold. "mine yuh mek di tea get cold" was one of my mother's favourite instruction. We don't just drink tea for drinking sake. We drink it to "belch di gas off our stomach". It is belived that a cold tea cannot do that. What first report are they talking about? [/qb]
[qb] Great writing! I love your style.
What I think you were experience was a clash of culture. It is very hard to provide food in jamaica therefore the wasting of it seen as a sin. It really hurts when we see people wasting food. His mother, like most of our mothers probably drill it in head to drink the tea before it gets cold. "mine yuh mek di tea get cold" was one of my mother's favourite instruction. We don't just drink tea for drinking sake. We drink it to "belch di gas off our stomach". It is belived that a cold tea cannot do that. What first report are they talking about? [/qb]
First Trip
Thanks for the cultural enlightenment too [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
My parents always made me clean my plate too... I still can't leave food on the plate [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]