Re: T R I P R E P O R T : Ochi, Port Antoni, Kingston, MoBay, Negril
Magic, it really isn't nice to keep teasing us this way. I logged onto the board and saw that there was a post from your and my day was made. I thought to myself, "finally", and mon you only give me a little, me know you can do better [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
That night it has suddenly occurred to me, that just in two short days we were supposed to head back up north to Iceland (US). The thought of leaving Jamaica sent a cold chill through my spine. How could it be? So soon? There must be some error in the way they keep track of days. Maybe a leap year or something. The alternatives were grim. I had to be at work the following day after our scheduled arrival, both of our budgets were already tight and my friends fiancee already mad that he didn't take her wouldn't hear of an extension. The history, however, was on my side. Only once before was I able to return from Jamaica on time (by force). All other trips ended up getting "extended". My family is used to getting the phone call "Mi cyaan com back today! Mi com back ome soon come." My friend loved the idea but said it's not possible and we should come back on time. Being the good negotiator that I am (in other words stubborn), I was able to beg out an extra day. The biggest problem was the fact that if we stayed that additional day the flight from MoBay into Memphis would have landed at 4pm, and I had to work a flight leaving Memphis at 515pm. And I have to report to work 45 minutes before departure. And since we travel standby, if the flight was full or delayed I would have missed my flight at work and would have been in big trouble. Your judgment is clouded when you're sitting on a beach in Negril.
We came to Negril with one thing in mind, relax. As you can tell the first part of the trip was a lotta fun, but also kept us busy. So the last few days in Negril we just kicked back and chilled. The next morning we went to get a couple of bikes from R&B Bike Rentals on Norman Manley Blvd. (across the road from Whistling Bird and slightly north). There my friend Paulett along with her husband Roger rent bikes (both bicycles and motorbikes) as well as have an on the side currency exchange business. Whenever I'm in Negril and need transportation that's where I go. Paulett was excited to see us, especially since she wasn't expecting me. She immediately ordered her employee to get two bikes ready for us. We caught up on the happenings. She told me to give her whatever I wanted for the bikes. I gave her 700J for two bikes for a day and a half. (regular rates now I believe are 15US a day and a deposit is required, tell her Magic sent your and you'll surely get a discount)
Paulett is a great person. When I came to Jamaica about 5 years ago after graduating high school I again decided to stay an extra few days calculating my money to the very last dime. Well, almost. When I was returning my bike at her shop just before boarding a bus for MoBay she pointed out that in my calculations, I failed to consider the departure tax!! I think it was 800Js back then (US21). But that was 800Js that I didn't have. So I figured I'll do this. I'll go to the airport, tell them I don't have the money to pay departure tax, and if they don't let me on the airplane I'll just stay in Jamaica forever! Paulett, however, didn't think it was such a great idea and gave me money for the tax, food, and a likkle extra just in case. Now that was my first time renting from her and she didn't even know me! Some true Jamaican hospitality right there.
Having a bike is great in Negril. A car is a hassle because the distances are short, and parking limited. Walking is too far is you're carrying groceries, and a bike is just perfect. We went food shopping to HiLo Supermarket on West End Rd. I used to be a loyal customer at ValuMart, however recently I preffer HiLo. There are more products there and it seems to be cheaper, even though the prices are still higher than other parts of Jamaica.
The rest of the stay was pretty much as follows. Got up in the morning and walked the beach looking for breakfast. After breakfast it was bike time and we went all over the place. During the afternoon just chilling on the beach, reading a book and drinking Stripes and Tings. Lunch usually acme from foods we bough at HiLo. Of course a swims were frequent in between. In the evening dinner somewhere out on the beach. And then walking down the beach to see who's got the best sound system that night. I know we went to Alfred's one night. De Buss and Risky Business another.
The last (extra) night we spent at Roots Bamboo. Whistling Bird offered to put us up an additional night free of charge, but I have already booked with Roots, and I didn't want to abuse their hospitality. Especially since I'll probably want to stay there this summer as well. I did ask for an iron though. As to request an airline jumpseat you have to be in uniform, we had to spend a good minute getting them back into presentable shape for tomorrow. Roots offers basic amenities only and the bathrooms are shared (some rooms offer bathrooms) but the price tag of US20 can't be beat.
That's great Marilyn. I will be expecting a full length trip report with the exception that unlike this one, there will be a time limit on how long you have to write it. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
I know what you're thinking now:
Anyway, I'm seriously considering a little trip to JA next week. It will be just a couple days and MoBay only. If you need me to bring you anything back let me know.
The final sunset came and went. And before long the dreaded morning came. I turn into a spoiled brat those mornings. Anything to stay on the Island. My pretending to be asleep and unable to awaken were not a deterrent to my friend and I had to get up.
I love to take pictures. But even more than that, I love to looks through my pictures years later and reminisce. I have about seven huge albums from my travels. I would have had more if I took them more. See when I'm having fun I forget to take pictures. It's a hassle. But then I want to have the pictures later to I take out my camera and snap away. Well, it has occurred to me that we didn't take any in Negril yet. Of course I have tons from previous trips, but not from this one. So we go down the beach and take a few. The best time to take photographs is in the morning and late afternoon when the sun is low. And in Negril's case late afternoon is best. But we had to do with what we had. To save time we ate breakfast at Roots. The order took a little long and to my great disappointment I couldn't take my last swim in the Sea. Being the optimist that I am, I figured now I'll have an excuse to come back to Negril soon... for my swim.
I usually catch a cab from the beach to the bus yard and then a rote taxi to either Sav or Lucea, then on to MoBay. Of course the challenge is that we've got our carry-on bags with us and standing on the side of the road we couldn't look any more touristy. So we had to wave off all the "tourist" taxis that pulled up on their own. Fortunately after only a few minutes there was a route taxi heading to Sav so we caught that and then a bus to MoBay. Made it to the airport just under an hour before departure. Just enough time to get a bottle of Absolut for Marilyn and head for the gate. Just when we though we got away without paying the departure tax again the gate agent told us that we need to do that even on the jumpseat and of course all I had was about 700J. But my roommate had 1300J so we were set. What is it with that departure tax anyway. It doesn't seem to agree with me. Maybe if they collected it on arrival it wouldn't be so bad.
Got on the plane, taxied to runway 7, leaped into the air, two hours and fifty minutes later touched down in cold cloudy Memphis. After customs I gave my bag with pounds of coffee, Tings and other stuff to my friend who went home. I got to our operations office and checked in for work with two whole minutes to spare!! Then on to Panama City, FL for the night.
Believe it or not, but 2 months, two days, 6 hours and 2 minutes later... the trip report is complete !!!!
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
The real reason behid why I had to get it done so soon [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] , is that I might be going again next week. So I didn't want to be THAT behind.
If I remember something that I left out I'll add it on.
Oh yeah Murry, went past the Tree House. From as far as one can walk south to as far as one can walk north. And then on the bike I like to go to that beach next to Bloody Bay north of town. There are hardly any people there.
Thank you sir.
No you've got me beat in lenght, but I definately have you bean in how long it took me to write it. It's gonna be on the record books for quite some time (or til my next trip) [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Ackee, did you J`Ouvert over to James Bond Beach and did the darn Soca [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Magic, next week? What you doing? Hop-Scotching from west to east again? Or you getting married at one of the A1`s. After all, Jamaica is the marriage capital outside of `Vegas.
I changed my plans and in less than an hour we will be off to Pt. Antonio, again.
Hope to see you one day in Jamaica, Capt`n Magic.
Murry and you better get a plane and I`ll hop`along as a sight-seer and beer/Ting provider.
Magic
You just had to let the world know that I needed a "fix" huh [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] . Well folks Magic came over and brought my "package". I was so glad to see him, but an even bigger treat was the big stack of photos he brought with him. This of course gave me the opportunity to drag all of mine out from previous trips and share them with someone who cared for a change. All of my friends and family and co-workers no longer want to hear one word about Jamaica.
Magic I enjoyed your trip report very much. Keep up the good work.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.