Re: T R I P R E P O R T : Ochi, Port Antoni, Kingston, MoBay, Negril
As we follow the A1 eastbound I quickly got back into the groove of Jamaica driving. As we pass minibuses full of people packed tighter than sardines and air conditioned (read: freezing) JUTA busses with tourists that have to say as to where they go I savor the fact that we decided to get a rental car this time. For money reasons I usually rely on busses to get me where I need to go but you get to see and do so much more with a car. It gives you a magnificent freedom. You go when and where you want to go. You stop when you choose to do so. You don't have to worry about carrying your stuff or the size of it since you can just leave it in the car. I love it! By the time we reached Falmouth my friend mustered up enough courage to try driving. We pulled off the road by the beach and I gave him a brief lesson in Driving in Jamaica 101.
Left side is the right side, right side is suicide. You must drive as fast as possible at all times. The proper formula for reading the speed limit signs is (Speed limit) x (2.5) + (extra passing speed) You pass everyone in your way, even if they are going the same speed as you are, and even if it doesn't really help save any time. If there are multiple cars in front of you, you must drive in the right lane and pass as many of them at one time. Should oncoming traffic appear, continue passing until you can see the face of the oncoming driver. Honk your horn as you pass each car, and at any other time you feel so inclined to do. Should it become necessary to return to the left lane while passing multiple cars just honk your horn and pull into the lane and let other drivers make room for you. Remain clear of potholes, goats, cows, chickens, pedestrians, and oncoming traffic in your lane. Do not drive with your lights on. Doing so will make other drivers think you left them on by accident and it then becomes everyone's mission to help you realize your mistake. Do play your Irie FM loudly, doing so creates a cool surround sound effect as you pass cars and buildings that are doing same. Any questions?
Since my friend drives a stick at home, the manual transmission was not a problem for him. However keeping the car in the middle of our lane was. I had to tell him to drive 14 inches to the right of his current track as the left wheels kept on running into the dirt and the associated potholes. The highlight of his driving came in downtown Falmouth when he nearly drove over a foot a a guy that hollers "Watch yuh sef bwaaay!!"
All in all he did pretty good for the first time Jamaica driver. Anyone really can do it. Some people just choose not to. And they are missing out on a lot of fun. Driving is entertainment in itself. Everytime my friend would get overconfident behind the wheel I'd say "Watch yuh sef bway!" and we'd bust out laughing.
By Runaway Bay he was done and I took over. The vegetation started getting more lush, and the hills on the right side begun to increase in size. The sun getting lower behind us have an orange glow to the cumulus scattered clouds above us. Through a break in the bush on the left side I saw a glimpse of the turquoise blue water as we drove into Ochi.
(To Be Continued...)
As we follow the A1 eastbound I quickly got back into the groove of Jamaica driving. As we pass minibuses full of people packed tighter than sardines and air conditioned (read: freezing) JUTA busses with tourists that have to say as to where they go I savor the fact that we decided to get a rental car this time. For money reasons I usually rely on busses to get me where I need to go but you get to see and do so much more with a car. It gives you a magnificent freedom. You go when and where you want to go. You stop when you choose to do so. You don't have to worry about carrying your stuff or the size of it since you can just leave it in the car. I love it! By the time we reached Falmouth my friend mustered up enough courage to try driving. We pulled off the road by the beach and I gave him a brief lesson in Driving in Jamaica 101.
Left side is the right side, right side is suicide. You must drive as fast as possible at all times. The proper formula for reading the speed limit signs is (Speed limit) x (2.5) + (extra passing speed) You pass everyone in your way, even if they are going the same speed as you are, and even if it doesn't really help save any time. If there are multiple cars in front of you, you must drive in the right lane and pass as many of them at one time. Should oncoming traffic appear, continue passing until you can see the face of the oncoming driver. Honk your horn as you pass each car, and at any other time you feel so inclined to do. Should it become necessary to return to the left lane while passing multiple cars just honk your horn and pull into the lane and let other drivers make room for you. Remain clear of potholes, goats, cows, chickens, pedestrians, and oncoming traffic in your lane. Do not drive with your lights on. Doing so will make other drivers think you left them on by accident and it then becomes everyone's mission to help you realize your mistake. Do play your Irie FM loudly, doing so creates a cool surround sound effect as you pass cars and buildings that are doing same. Any questions?
Since my friend drives a stick at home, the manual transmission was not a problem for him. However keeping the car in the middle of our lane was. I had to tell him to drive 14 inches to the right of his current track as the left wheels kept on running into the dirt and the associated potholes. The highlight of his driving came in downtown Falmouth when he nearly drove over a foot a a guy that hollers "Watch yuh sef bwaaay!!"
All in all he did pretty good for the first time Jamaica driver. Anyone really can do it. Some people just choose not to. And they are missing out on a lot of fun. Driving is entertainment in itself. Everytime my friend would get overconfident behind the wheel I'd say "Watch yuh sef bway!" and we'd bust out laughing.
By Runaway Bay he was done and I took over. The vegetation started getting more lush, and the hills on the right side begun to increase in size. The sun getting lower behind us have an orange glow to the cumulus scattered clouds above us. Through a break in the bush on the left side I saw a glimpse of the turquoise blue water as we drove into Ochi.
(To Be Continued...)