Re: Negril - I'm Back... Here's the runnings. NEW PICS Added
Originally posted by Marilyn:
[qb] God's cathedral [/qb]
can i please thief this one...lovely
for real resort seems for real....finally a hotel in negril with views from the room now that's a novel idea
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
Partner, you are on a roll with this picture posting. I'm loving coming home each night and having something pretty to look at. You know how I love pretty things [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Magic: Coming from you...well let's just say I am blusing. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] To be honest though, that is just about how I felt most of the time. I felt that I was alone in this fantasy to do what I felt at any time. I really did indulge myself quite a bit this time. And I am PROUD TO SAY IT! Do you hear me Sistacaf and Marilyn......PROUD I TELL YOU....PROUD!
Marilyn, can I be your agent, cause we're taking this to the publisher, and putting it down in a book!
Originally posted by Marilyn:
[qb]Well I am not going to do a "trip report". I really just have some disjointed observances to share, not a real trip report.[/qb]
Please DO NOT do any more "trip reports"!
And ONLY jut down some "disjointed observances" to share from now on!
[qb]As I rose above the water I saw Norman Manley Blvd. and the strip of hotels that most of us call Negril. Then right behind it is a vast flat plain that gradually melts into a huge moutain range. Then you bring your eyes back and look at endless sea that meets a perfect horizon. Sounds don't reach you much up there ,and so I sat in my new panoramic arm chair and gently hummed "Three Little Birds". Then I had a special talk with a special friend since I was as close to him as I would possibly ever be. I thanked God for that day. For the fact that I woke up, and contrary to popular opinion,was clothed in my right mind. I thanked him for this beautiful country and for helping me find it. I thanked him for trip #11, and somehow being able to get the money together to do it. I thanked him for good friends, like Angie, who was responsible for me getting this parasail experience.
Somehow, from up there, I think he heard me better.[/qb]
Wow. Speachless. Did Toni Morrison write this, or was it our own Marilyn.
Now you know why why I fly for a living.
Every know and then I gotta break out from the rat race and get on that level. And to be able to do it in JA! That makes it that much more special.
[qb]"A long time ago when I first went to Negril at Queen's invitation"[/qb]
Now this sounds like it could bethe begining of every fairytale everyone's mother used to read when we were little!
[qb]In the center of the action are some drummers, with a few other percussion sounds added in. Around them ,in a pack ,is about 50 people, bodies pressed together so tightly that they are one. No one is concerned about their "personal space", tonight they are drumming his soul to heaven, celebrating a life well lived and long lived, tonight we are in Africa.
[...]I never got the man's name. The man who's homegoing I had just been a part of. I remember thinking if heaven can be much better than the country he just left. I remember thinking that I hope we would not treat his nine night as a "tourist event". I want to be part of his family. I want him to know that I am glad he lived 93 years in Jamaica. Glad that he built such a lovely home, and had a family that did his nine night up right.
I hope he looked down on two little ladies that night who felt humbled to be a Jamaican family member if only for one night.
I have charged Classy with seeing that the spirit is like that when I go. I told her that if she did not see to it, I would come back and haunt her. I prefer this way....celebrate.[/qb]
What a touching story! And what a description of ninenite! Your writing transported us all there, and we could feed the beat of the drums resonate through your words. It's such a nice tradition. I hope it's not for a very long time, but when I go, that's how I'd want people to remember me. By celebrating the life I lived, and not mourning with no hope.
[qb]I get an error message that says Jamaica not found.
[/qb]
DWL [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] I get the same error message in my head every morning when I wake up, and realize where I am!
[qb]She was breathless on the other end as I let her listen to the waves on the shore. That was the last time I spoke to her. Thank you Jamaica.
[/qb]
[qb]My mother is having put in her Eulogy that her spirit rode that Jamaican wave to heaven today.
[/qb]
God works in mysterious ways sometimes.
That is so thoughtfull of your mother to do that.
And of you to think of calling your cousin at that time.
I know this must feel bittersweet to you, but you couldn't have preparred a better send off for your cousin. I'm sure she appreciated that a lot.
[qb]I leave my heart at Sangster airport, check it in as surely as I check in my luggage. I pick it up right where I see the singers the next time.
[/qb]
Gwaan get yuh heart back girl!!
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Magic
Coming from you, I consider this a real compliment. Thank you for taking me back through the story again.
The wake and the funeral for my cousin/auntie are over. The way I kept from screaming was to either hear Bob Marley in my head or those drums and whistles of Nine night.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.