i need some info from the boardites. i need cheap secure hotel for the summer and found a deal for samsara and legends. they both received mixed reviews on tripadvisors and i was hoping some boardies could give me their opinions about these and any other properties in negril. a balcony and kitchenette/fridge a must. either side of the beach or cliff with shuttle service a plus. i know the ja community will come through as usual.... thanxs belle
samsara resort
Re: samsara resort
well Belle, I'm going to check it out for myself in November...
there was a sweet deal out there on Expedia and I booked it for 5 nights in November.Now this means I am officially over the edge...realizing that JA just once a year was just not going to cut it...We've decided to adjust our lodging needs in favor of "cheaper and more often"...thus begins that quest!
We're bringing Queen Deda of La la land and the princess (her cousin)....two of our favorite people to hang with. Love having another trip to look forward to!
I stayed at Samsara on my first trip, I remember it was $225.00 with airfare for 2 nights, so we went there on our way home. It wasn't bad, nothing fancy but I liked the privacy on the grounds. That was before Legends time, which now, they will shuttle you back and forth to the beach...
My husband and I stayed there - we loved Samsara!
We were supposed to split the trip - 1st Samsara, then Legends. After packing and moving, we ended up back at Samsara, due to the privacy and quiet (yes, we are old fogies sp?)
The grounds are lovely, the staff super (once they realized we were not going to treat them as our slaves). The bath was a little old, but that is very low in my priorities! Each room has a little balcony - lovely. The only drawback to the room was the bed - fine for me, but silly husband has a habit of jumping backwards onto a bed - the base of it is concrete, so that didn't go so well for him [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Anyway, we loved it, and I would definitely stay there again - have a blast [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
We stayed at Samsara for two weeks on our first trip. It was great. No complaints whatsoever. In fact, we had told them it was our honeymoon, and when we arrived there was a heart made of rolled towels and flowers on the bed and a bottle of wine chilling.
Their snorkel equipment is really cheesey, so if you plan to snorkel you may want to bring your own gear. Breakfasts are good. Drinks are good. The pool is nice. The grounds are pleasant. Staff is friendly. Security seems pretty tight. There's a tiny little store just up the road and around the corner where you can buy inexpensive Red Stripe. It's nice to have the beach shuttle option, so you can go play on the beach but not have to stay there.
We're not staying there this go-round because we wanted even cheaper. But, the place we've chosen for this next visit doesn't have all of the amenities of Samsara.
Originally posted by Marilyn:
[qb] Read your PM my friend. I can know someplace that can beat the cheap out of cheap. [/qb]
good evening.. thank you for your candid responses. while i await miss m's pm i appreciate any advice. the property sounds great but the thought of concrete beds turns me off. i sleep on a semi wave waterbed and just sleeping on regular mattresses takes a little getting used to..definitely don't relish something harder. i will definitly visit this resort if i can squeeze a likkle visit in. thanks al.